OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Archos Av700, movies and tv shows
wapp
post Jan 12 2006, 09:55 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 12-January 06
Member No.: 8,914



Just got my husband an Archos av700, what is the easiest way to load movies and tv shows onto the unit. I'm getting conflicting info from archos tech supprt. Set up shows on my yahoo, my calendar then tried moving files onto archos ( I have an Imac), archos said that yahoo feature no longer works. The long and short of this is that I'm having trouble getting video content onto unit. I'm not that tech advanced, Any help, advice would be greatly appreciated
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
quantum-theorist
post Jan 12 2006, 08:15 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 12-January 06
Member No.: 8,919



wapp

I'm no expert on Archos file formats so my response will be a bit limited
I have the PMA400 and I just direct record via the cradle from either
my DVD or cable box

If the Imac has conventional video and audio ports that the Archos cables can plug into (yellow-video and red/white-audio) you could
potentially play the video on the Imac and directly record it into
the Archos

I haven't attempted a transfer video onto my PC and then over to the Archos
unit. My guess is I'll need some form of "conversion" from PC recorded format to that of the Archos

regrads and good luck
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
juliascezer
post Jan 13 2006, 02:25 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 21-December 05
Member No.: 8,763



QUOTE(wapp @ Jan 12 2006, 10:55 AM)
Just got my husband an Archos av700, what is the easiest way to load movies and tv shows onto the unit. I'm getting conflicting info from archos tech supprt.  Set up shows on my yahoo, my calendar then tried moving files onto archos ( I have an Imac), archos said that yahoo feature no longer works.  The long and short of this is that I'm having trouble getting video content onto unit.  I'm not that tech advanced,  Any help, advice would be greatly appreciated
*

Hi I bought an Archos 700 just before Christmas and had problems getting movies onto the system. tech support was moderately helpful but this forum helped a lot. This may help you. If you have a microsoft media centre and want to transfer movies from there to your Archos, after downloading via the usb. you will find that archos does not recognise the file. In their blurb there is a veiled reference to Media player 9 and 10 but what they do not tell you ist that Archos must be in Windows Mode before it will accept the files. Solution if you want to download from Windows media centre 1. Transfer files of recorded movies/tv progs etc to your WMP 10 and this will convert the files to Archos acceptable. If you do not have WMP 10 download it earlier versions are not so easy. Now straightforward downloading from the TV I download via the Digi box by using the scart lead converter to av1 out to av in on the pod and then av out to scart on tv set in my case the bottom one. The picture should then show on your Archos screen. I have tried to be as simple as possible but experimentation is the thing. Good Luck jc.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th November 2014 - 01:38 PM