OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> What's The Differences Between C3100 & C3000
jazzaddict
post Jan 29 2006, 04:10 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 26-January 06
Member No.: 9,006



Hi guys,

I've read everywhere, only seems that C3100 have a slight bigger ROM onboard, that's all right? both having the same amount of ram @ 64mb
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jazzaddict
post Jan 29 2006, 04:12 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 26-January 06
Member No.: 9,006



C3000 only have 16MB FLASH onboard, which i've just bought one recently from dynamism. Is it possible to upgrade the onboard flash?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Jan 29 2006, 02:59 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



i suppose it is posible, i have thoight about ripping the falsh chips out of a ipod nano and using them as they are just a higher capacity chip (pin compatible)

the only thing you would need to do is flash the new chip with the image of the c3000, linux should detect the full sized chip so that once you boot into linux you can use the mtd chips to repartion the last partion to fill up the remaining flash

flashing the chip would be the hard part, however if you are intrested you could probelly by a faster flash chip (about twice the speed) and give that ago
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jan 29 2006, 06:18 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(jazzaddict @ Jan 29 2006, 10:10 PM)
Hi guys,

I've read everywhere, only seems that C3100 have a slight bigger ROM onboard, that's all right? both having the same amount of ram @ 64mb
*


but you forgot the biggest difference, the COLOUR smile.gif

if you are inclined, you can buy spare C3000 casing parts and replace the C3100 casing to make it white smile.gif

people always mistaken the C3000 as an ipod ohmy.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jazzaddict
post Jan 29 2006, 08:39 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 26-January 06
Member No.: 9,006



QUOTE(Da_Blitz @ Jan 29 2006, 02:59 PM)
i suppose it is posible, i have thoight about ripping the falsh chips out of a ipod nano and using them as they are just a higher capacity chip (pin compatible)

the only thing you would need to do is flash the new chip with the image of the c3000, linux should detect the full sized chip so that once you boot into linux you can use the mtd chips to repartion the last partion to fill up the remaining flash

flashing the chip would be the hard part, however if you are intrested you could probelly by a faster flash chip (about twice the speed) and give that ago
*


Has anyone actually done it? I suppose i can just ignroe the onboard flash and have everything on the microdrive right?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jazzaddict
post Jan 29 2006, 08:50 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 26-January 06
Member No.: 9,006



QUOTE(Meanie @ Jan 29 2006, 06:18 PM)
QUOTE(jazzaddict @ Jan 29 2006, 10:10 PM)
Hi guys,

I've read everywhere, only seems that C3100 have a slight bigger ROM onboard, that's all right? both having the same amount of ram @ 64mb
*


but you forgot the biggest difference, the COLOUR smile.gif

if you are inclined, you can buy spare C3000 casing parts and replace the C3100 casing to make it white smile.gif

people always mistaken the C3000 as an ipod ohmy.gif
*



erm...the color is a obvious thing biggrin.gif Saw your pictures posted @ slackware gallery wink.gif Nice!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post Jan 30 2006, 01:00 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



If you flashed a 128M with the image from a 16M would the partitioning not be such that the Z sees it as 16. Would it not be more sensible to write the image off a 3100 onto the Flash before you install it?

Would it be necessary to write anything to the Flash at all? It it a fact that the basic menus are written in the Flash?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 1st September 2014 - 08:16 PM