OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problems With Te-cf100 Ethernet On Sharprom
tsm23
post Mar 1 2006, 01:05 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 1-March 06
Member No.: 9,259



I bought my C1000 shortly after they were released, thinking I'd install OpenZaurus, but I still haven't done so since the Cx000 support is weak. I recently got a TrendNet TE-CF100 wired ethernet card, but I can't seem to get it to work with the SharpROM even though I think it's compatible with OpenZaurus. When I use the built in network program, the card lights up and shows a link and some Rx activity before it shuts down a few seconds later. dmesg give the following output:

CODE
eth0: found link beat
eth0: autonegotiation complete: 100baseT-FD selected
pxa_pcmcia_suspend(0)

Also, if I try ifconfig eth0, the interface shows up, but if I try ifconfig eth0 up, I get "SIOCSIFFLAGS: No such device". Does anyone know how I can get the card to work? Perhaps there's some OpenZaurus driver that would be compatible with the SharpROM?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post Mar 1 2006, 02:40 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



Damn, I tried to get hold of one of these cards as one of the only stated supported 10/100 cards that is supported by OpenBSD... none of the Distributors import them to the UK though... WIFI mad over here and no time for wired connections.

In the end I ordered a Socket 10/100 card (arriving Friday I hope) which I'm hoping that I don't have to mod the driver too heavily for.

It's a shame since I would have made the effort to nail it if I had managed to get that same card.

Sorry,

-Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post Mar 1 2006, 03:03 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



Actually, just one thing to double check...

It does sound like Linux has got the right driver for the card, however, the latest Sharp ROMs have the annoying behaviour of immediately shutting down a network connection if it can't do it's basic comms check which seems to be pinging the default gateway specified.

And if you are currently using DHCP it may be worth trying everything with fixed settings.. again the latest Sharp ROMs seem a little flakey with some DHCP servers.

-Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd October 2014 - 06:28 AM