OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Connect to internet with AirCable USB?
Prefect47
post Feb 18 2004, 01:38 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 8-December 03
From: Lund, Sweden
Member No.: 1,071



Got my AirCable USB yesterday (<1week delivery from the states to Sweden smile.gif ) and I've confirmed that I have some sort of serial communication going on. Nothing specific since HyperTerminal is a piece of crap...

To anyone who has one of these running against a Windows machine, like w2k, how do you set it up to connect to the internet through that machine? ALso, how do I get it to act like a USB cable and not a serial (/dev/ttyS0) connection?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
corky
post Feb 18 2004, 01:44 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 24-May 03
Member No.: 38



Try my howto http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules.php...0Serial%20Setup
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Prefect47
post Feb 18 2004, 02:50 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 8-December 03
From: Lund, Sweden
Member No.: 1,071



Quick reply smile.gif

I tried to follow the guides. I have a serial connection on w2k/COM3 that accepts 192.168.129.1-192.168.129.2 and the Z is set to 192.168.129.1 in "PC Link". However, I don't have a /etc/ppp/pcdial script... and ppp-on says "can't find ./SETVAR".

My Z is a C860 that runt TkROM and sukoshi kernel, BTW.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
corky
post Feb 18 2004, 04:13 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 24-May 03
Member No.: 38



thats for the sl5500, sl5600 I don't know if that would work with the C860 (should post what Z you have in your question). the script is cut and paste from the howto and ppp-on should be in /etc/ppp/. Sorry I can't help more.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Prefect47
post Feb 18 2004, 05:04 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 8-December 03
From: Lund, Sweden
Member No.: 1,071



OK, I've done the "Connecting to Win2K from the Z" HOWTO and now have the pcdial and dialpc files, and I have setup w2k with the address range 192.168.129.1-255. When I run "init 3" I see the aircable connecting and going to "blue" mode.

I then run /etc/ppp/pcdial and get a "Device ttyS0 is locked by pid N" where N is the pid of pppd. Absolutely nothing else happens, not on the Z and not on w2k.

(BTW, maybe unrelated but isn't there supposed to be an usbnet module loaded somewhere at this point? modprobe/insmod can't find that one on my Z. Or is that only on a Linux *host*?)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
corky
post Feb 18 2004, 05:34 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 24-May 03
Member No.: 38



The "init 3" is for the sl5500 because ppp does not start automatily. I have no idea about the c860 . try searching the forum.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Prefect47
post Feb 18 2004, 06:05 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 8-December 03
From: Lund, Sweden
Member No.: 1,071



Some progress: I noticed that I don't have an /etc/chatscripts folder, nor do I have an /etc/ppp/chatscripts/win2k file. Could you post your file here?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
corky
post Feb 18 2004, 06:30 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 24-May 03
Member No.: 38



Here it is I hope it helps

----------------------code----------------------
# TIMEOUT 360
"" "CLIENTCLIENTc"
"SERVER" "SERVERc"
------------------------end code------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Prefect47
post Feb 18 2004, 08:27 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 8-December 03
From: Lund, Sweden
Member No.: 1,071



Thanks for the file.

My problems seems to be that pppd is started by "init 3" and then runs all the time and has a lock on /dev/ttyS0, which prevents the "dialling".
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
corky
post Feb 18 2004, 09:28 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 24-May 03
Member No.: 38



Well then reboot and don't run init 3.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Prefect47
post Feb 19 2004, 12:14 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 8-December 03
From: Lund, Sweden
Member No.: 1,071



So init 3 was just for testing after the first set-up?

Now I've got the exact files and configs from the HOWTO, and pcdial starts ok. But after about a minute (or when I manually run ppp-off) it says "Connect script failed", probably because w2k doesn't respond.

I have the virtual COM3 port with a "cable between computers", 115200 with hardware flow control, 8/none/1.

I also have the Incoming Connections network entry on w2k, but I can't see if it's actually listening on COM3. Is there a way to do this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Prefect47
post Feb 19 2004, 12:43 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 61
Joined: 8-December 03
From: Lund, Sweden
Member No.: 1,071



Like most windows problems, this one was solved by UPDATING THE DRIVERS. Apparently, the drivers that were included on the CD were the 1.00.2115 ones from december 2002!

Now I have a working serial connection to w2k. Next step is to get w2k to let the Z out on the internet. 8)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
corky
post Feb 19 2004, 01:18 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 24-May 03
Member No.: 38



You are connecting to win2k from the Z, the init 3 is for connecting to the Z from win2k. I glad you got it working.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd December 2014 - 02:38 AM