OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Help: Oz Doesn't See Internal Wifi, Sl-6000L
vorondil28
post Mar 4 2006, 02:39 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 20-January 06
Member No.: 8,963



Hi all, I'm a new SL-6000L user. I flashed my unit to OZ/GPE last night and it doesn't seem to "see" the internal WiFi adapter. sleep.gif It worked fine under the Sharp ROM. Am I correct in assuming I don't have the proper kernel module installed for it? If so, I've no clue where to find a package for it.

Can anyone lend a hand?
Thanks in advance. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post Mar 4 2006, 03:59 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



You need to usbctl on 1 (or vice versa) to power on the internal us bus. this is (again) some proprietary 2.4-crappix thing - kernel 2.6 will make this easier and more standard.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vorondil28
post Mar 4 2006, 07:46 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 20-January 06
Member No.: 8,963



QUOTE(Mickeyl @ Mar 4 2006, 06:59 PM)
You need to usbctl on 1 (or vice versa) to power on the internal us bus. this is (again) some proprietary 2.4-crappix thing - kernel 2.6 will make this easier and more standard.
*


"sh: usbctl: not found" dry.gif
...until I found it's in /sbin/, which wasn't in my $PATH. (?!?)

Anyway, wlan0 shows up after running "/sbin/usbctl on 1". biggrin.gif Thanks!
I take it that to use any USB device (internal or exteral via the host port), I'll need to do the same thing? Also, after a suspend/resume, it seems I have to do it again. Is there any way around that?

Thanks in advance. smile.gif


***Edit: I found that if I shut the interface down with "/sbin/ifdown wlan0" before suspending, it will come back up with "ifup wlan0" after resume. So I suppose the question is: Is there a way to automatically bring down the interface before suspending? It would also be nice to have it come back up if it was up before suspend (and leave it down if it was down before suspend).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
vorondil28
post Mar 5 2006, 08:10 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 20-January 06
Member No.: 8,963



Figured I'd fork this to a new topic.

http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=18064
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 28 2006, 04:03 AM
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



go to vorondil28's cross thread to see my comment about suspend/resume usbnet too
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th October 2014 - 01:31 AM