OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Where Does The Cacko Pim Data Reside?
PaulBx1
post Mar 4 2006, 11:51 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 41
Joined: 26-February 06
Member No.: 9,234



C1000 running Cacko 1.23

Since I can't get sync working, I'm laboriously beaming Address Book categories over from my Palm. They end up as files on my SD card in a folder "Obex_Inbox". When I click them, they get dumped into my Address Book with category "Unfiled". So, for each address I have to reset its category to what it really is.

Now, as I'm doing this, I'm wondering, whenever I change and close an address, is it doing a write to internal flash (thus using up that flash life)? Or are all these changes going on in RAM, and the only time flash gets written is when I exit the program?

I don't see the regular data files for the Address Book application on the Zaurus. I wonder if they can be put on the SD card too?

Also, if anyone knows a way to do this change en masse rather than one at a time, I'd appreciate knowing about it.

Finaqlly, somewhat off this topic, I'm thinking of the possibility of bypassing my PC altogether in syncing, and simply using my Zaurus as the place where the "Palm Desktop" resides (or course, I mean an application that emulates Palm Desktop). For example, this page lists Unix applications that act as the "Palm Desktop" on a Unix box, for a Palm handheld. Has anyone ported something like this to the Zaurus? If so, then I could bypass the Intellisync/PalmDesktop/Outlook mess altogether.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
madfitz
post Oct 7 2006, 08:58 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 25-January 05
Member No.: 6,309



I’d been having problems with the ‘a’ key not working in Kconsole, Qconsole and ssh (it did work in sftp) for some time now and had started a thread with this.
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=20140&hl=
The only solution seemed to be to re-flash my Z. I did a backup first and installed the latest CACkO, (There had been some application execution/installation problems I’d hoped flashing the Z would solve as well.)
Qtopia 1.5.4
Kernel 2.4.2
CACkO Zaurus Qtopia ROM 1.23
On my SL-C3200

After flashing and before I restored my backup the ‘a’ key worked in the terminal again w/o any problems. However after I restored my backup to get all my PIM data back, I didn’t realize it had saved all the installed applications and configurations. So now the ‘a’ key doesn’t work again.

I’m certain this problem is some kind of keyboard mapping issue, (though I haven’t found the config file for that yet).

The short of it. I need/want a way to backup all my PIM data ONLY. So I can re-install the applications I want from scratch. I’ve checked in the /home/zaurus/Applications/dtm directory and all these files do appear to be related to PIM data, however they are not flat files and are not humanly readable. Are these truly the data files? And is there a way to extract the data into flat files. That would make it easier to sync the data with scripts or something.

So how do I backup ALL my PIM data and only my PIM data? Just copy the files in the dtm to backup, flash and restore the dtm files?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ldrolez
post Oct 8 2006, 04:39 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 16-May 06
From: France, Metz
Member No.: 9,882



QUOTE(madfitz @ Oct 7 2006, 06:58 PM)
I’ve checked in the /home/zaurus/Applications/dtm directory and all these files do appear to be related to PIM data, however they are not flat files and are not humanly readable. Are these truly the data files? And is there a way to extract the data into flat files. That would make it easier to sync the data with scripts or something.

Yes, backup /home/zaurus/Applications/dtm, and try zdbat (links above) to play with the contents.

Cheers,

Ludo.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
madfitz
post Oct 9 2006, 07:42 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 25-January 05
Member No.: 6,309



Thanks for the tip ldrolez,


I think I found a link to that app:
http://ldrolez.free.fr/software/zaurus/

If nothing else at lest now I should be able to flash my Z and restore my PIM data and re-install ONLY the programs I want.

Thanks all
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
madfitz
post Oct 11 2006, 08:59 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 25-January 05
Member No.: 6,309



Well that didn't work.

I zipped the entire /home/zaurus/Applications directory, first I tried to only restore the dtm/ files. None of my PIM data was restored. No contacts, no calender information no todo list. So I tried to restore the entire /home/zaurus/Applications directory and files. I still had no contacts, no calender information no todo list.

I had to restore a previous full backup via the zaurus backup/restore. So now I'm stuck with a broken ROM with no 'a' key in the console, but I have my PIM data.

What did I do wrong and how do I REALLY backup/restore just my PIM data?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ldrolez
post Oct 12 2006, 10:23 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 69
Joined: 16-May 06
From: France, Metz
Member No.: 9,882



Make sure your datebook or your addressbook is not preloaded in memory before restoring (check with a 'ps aux'). If not, kill them.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
madfitz
post Oct 16 2006, 09:00 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 25-January 05
Member No.: 6,309



Awesome. Thanks Idrolez. That was part of the problem. The other part was apparently when I used zip to archive the /home/zaurus/Applications directory it converted all the file names to lowercase. So when I ‘restored’ they were the wrong case files.
Now my ‘a’ key works and all my PIM data is back.


Maybe the wrong thread for this question but...
Does anyone know if there’s an application to assist in either parsing the resulting flat files from ‘zdbat’ and syncing them either with Windows/Linux Calendar/Contact programs, or perhaps a direct synchronization program?

I even tried the old sync program on Sharps website with no success.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th July 2014 - 02:31 AM