OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Root
lemur
post Mar 10 2006, 08:54 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 28-October 05
From: Atlanta
Member No.: 8,417



Has anyone done this? Is it safe to do? From this article http://maemo.org/maemowiki/HowDoiBe...ight=%28root%29 it sounds like there is a good chance that you will brick your 770. What is up with that? I don't understand why Nokia didn't give root access to the 770? So who all has root on their 770?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mars
post Mar 10 2006, 09:36 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 146
Joined: 5-October 04
Member No.: 4,881



If you have access to a windows PC, read this thread (internettablettalk):

http://www.internettablettalk.com/forums/s...hlight=gainroot

You will need the windows flasher application and a downloaded ROM. You apply a patch and then flash for root access.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Mar 11 2006, 12:26 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



Just set the device to R&D mode (you need the Linux flasher tool, but no flash image) and then you can use 'sudo gainroot' to open a root console.

I wouldn't bother with the patching or the old (left for academic interest) methods, R&D mode works fine.


Si

This post has been edited by lardman: Mar 11 2006, 12:27 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lemur
post Mar 11 2006, 05:13 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 28-October 05
From: Atlanta
Member No.: 8,417



I was reading up on one way to do it and you needed either a linux box or a mac os x boc, neither of which i have. I think that is the method you are referring to lardman. As for mars, I do have a windows based pc so i think i will try that method. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Mar 14 2006, 10:11 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
I was reading up on one way to do it and you needed either a linux box or a mac os x boc, neither of which i have.


Yes, that's right.

You could use a boot CD or something similar I suppose?


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th July 2014 - 09:07 PM