OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Wpa With Linksys Wcf11 And Sharp Rom 3.13?, Anyone have hostap drivers for sl5500?
nax
post Mar 17 2006, 04:36 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 4-November 04
Member No.: 5,339



I'm trying to connect to wpa AP but having problem to get working copy of hostap drivers. 3.13 Sharp rom running kernel 2.4.18-rmk7-pxa3-embedix. I'll also need to flash my linksys wcf11 because
ident: nic h/w: id=0x800c 1.0.0
ident: pri f/w: id=0x15 1.0.4
ident: sta f/w: id=0x1f 1.0.3

I already have installed wpa_supplicant, hostapd and hostap-utils from this feed:
http://mail.pdaxrom.org/contrib/Zaurus-5000D-5500/
but installation of hostap-driver fails with unresolved symbols. So I understand that I need other copy of hostap drivers.

Is it possible with 3.13, sl5500 and linksys wcf11 connect to WPA network?

Thank you
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 4)
Hrw
post Mar 18 2006, 03:12 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,376
Joined: 11-January 04
From: Poznań, Poland
Member No.: 1,413



if you will update card firmware to 1.7.4, get working hostap drivers and wpa-supplicant then yes.

But I do not know does anyone prepared them for SharpROM. OpenZaurus 3.5.4 should work with WPA out-of-box.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nax
post Mar 18 2006, 07:14 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 4-November 04
Member No.: 5,339



I have tried Cacko 3.10 Rom with /home on SD card and Opera installed later. I also found hostap drivers compiled with firwmare upgrade support.

I have added to /etc/pcmcia/hostap_cs.conf this:
CODE
card "Linksys WCF12 11Mbps 802.11b WLAN Card"
  version "The Linksys Group, Inc.", "Wireless Network CF Card", "ISL37300P", "RevA"
  bind "hostap_cs"

(second line is grabed from output of 'cardctl ident'). Now I can see eth0 in ifconfig -a

But I still can't upgrade firmare, because strange errors:
CODE
# prism2_srec -v -f eth0 PK010101.HEX SF010802.HEX
... some outputs omitted ...

ioctl[PRISM2_IOCTL_HOSTAPD]: Operation not permitted
Missing wlan component info
Could not read wlan RIDs


Anyone had same problems?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nax
post Mar 19 2006, 07:57 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 4-November 04
Member No.: 5,339



I have upgraded firmware of CF card on my notebook, but I still can't make it working with this hostap. I thing 1.12 is too old for supporting wpa. With other (newer) hostap modules I'm getting unresolved symbols.

I have tried new OZ 3.5.4 but I'm feeling more comfortable with cacko 3.10 sl5500 rom. So it seems I'm going to rebuild cacko kernel after I find out kernel config.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nax
post Apr 1 2006, 12:18 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 4-November 04
Member No.: 5,339



Now I have OpenZaurus 3.5.4 OPIE installed on my SL5500, upgraded firmware to this:

CODE
wifi0: NIC: id=0x800c v1.0.0
wifi0: PRI: id=0x15 v1.1.1
wifi0: STA: id=0x1f v1.8.4


but I sthill having problem to make it working on my home AP. I'm using Asus WL500G hw AP with WPA-PSK and TKIP. Problem is that zaurus see my AP as it don't support WPA:
CODE
Received 144 bytes of scan results (1 BSSes)
Scan results: 1
Selecting BSS from priority group 5
0: 00:11:d8:32:68:c7 ssid='nax.home' wpa_ie_len=0 rsn_ie_len=0
  skip - no WPA/RSN IE
No suitable AP found.
Setting scan request: 5 sec 0 usec


If I try to connect by my notebook (ipw2200 card, driver wext) it works:
CODE
Received 616 bytes of scan results (3 BSSes)
Scan results: 3
Selecting BSS from priority group 4
0: 00:11:d8:32:68:c7 ssid='nax.home' wpa_ie_len=26 rsn_ie_len=22 caps=0x11
  selected based on WPA IE
Trying to associate with 00:11:d8:32:68:c7 (SSID='nax.home' freq=0 MHz)


wpa_supplicant.conf is exactly same:
CODE
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=0
eapol_version=1
ap_scan=1
network={
       ssid="nax.home"
       psk="89977...dd4"
       key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
       pairwise=TKIP
       priority=5
}


Anyone know what might be problem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2014 - 01:25 PM