OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Which Version X/qt Best For 3100 & Install Issue
ArchiMark
post Apr 7 2006, 10:12 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Could Meanie or anyone else comment on the pros and cons of using the various forms of Meanie's XQT-Jumbo packages:

1) non-cramfs

2) cramfs

3) squashfs

Not sure which one would be good for me to use on my C3100, now that I've restored my Z back to original state....

Also, besides the internal 4GB microdrive, I have a 1GB SD card that I usually leave in my 3100...(I try to avoid depending on use of CF card so that I can always use WiFi or Ethernet card).

Besides X/Qt, I'll probably install Debian too, so that's a consideration as well....

In the meantime, I went ahead now and tried installing 'xqt-gtk-jumbopack_0.4.3-0.7.1_arm.ipk' and got the following various error messages in qKonsole including these near the end:

CODE
tar: Bad tar heading, skipping
tar: Error exit delay from previous errors
ipkg_install_file: ERROR unpacking data.tar.gz from xqt-gtk-jumbopack_0.4.3-0.7.1_arm.ipk
#


Does mean that the ipk file is corrupted?

Appreciate all input!

Thanks,

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Apr 7 2006, 06:57 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Apr 8 2006, 04:12 AM)
Could Meanie or anyone else comment on the pros and cons of using the various forms of Meanie's XQT-Jumbo packages:

1) non-cramfs

2) cramfs

3) squashfs

Not sure which one would be good for me to use on my C3100, now that I've restored my Z back to original state.... 

Also, besides the internal 4GB microdrive, I have a 1GB SD card that I usually leave in my 3100...(I try to avoid depending on use of CF card so that I can always use WiFi or Ethernet card).

Besides X/Qt, I'll probably install Debian too, so that's a consideration as well....

In the meantime, I went ahead now and tried installing 'xqt-gtk-jumbopack_0.4.3-0.7.1_arm.ipk' and got the following various error messages in qKonsole including these near the end:

CODE
tar: Bad tar heading, skipping
tar: Error exit delay from previous errors
ipkg_install_file: ERROR unpacking data.tar.gz from xqt-gtk-jumbopack_0.4.3-0.7.1_arm.ipk
#


Does mean that the ipk file is corrupted?

Appreciate all input!

Thanks,

Mark
*


well, available space, io performance and file system type, will probably dictate which option you chose.
cramfs and squashfs are both very convennient since they will save you space and do not require you to reformat your partition to ext2/ext3
squashfs has better compression than cramfs so you gain extra space. cramfs is supported by default, you will need an additional squashfs module to use squashfs.
performance wise, the files on the squashfs/cramfs images do need to be decompressed during runtime which arguably could lead to some performance lost, however, reading from a compressed filesystem also means there is less disk IO since there is less bits to read but more CPU is used to do the decompression. the same effect would be observed with the jffs2 partition on the flash which is also compressed but also writable. In squashfs is amendable, you can add files to squashfs images whereas you would had to rebuild the whole cramfs image to add files which from a normal user's point of xqt jumbo is not important at all.
so the only question left is, whether you want/need to reformat your disk to ext2/ext3. for just the jumbo package, there would be little benefit, except maybe the performance which is not proven nor disproven. for debian, it definately is better to format your disk to ext2/ext3 so if you do that, and have plenty of space left, might as well extract xqt jumbo to the ext2/ext3 filesystem as well or leave it as a cramfs/squashfs if space is running low. I would place debian on a cf flash rather than a microdrive if you have that option.

the file may have been corrupted, try downloading it again.

also, i do not maintain the ipk version anymore. it has been abandoned in favour of the cramfs/squashfs images.

that said, the current cramfs/squashfs is going to be superseded by the new super jumbo pack, ie pdaXtrrom
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 7 2006, 07:38 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks as always, Meanie for all your great help and support!!!

Really appreciate your taking the time to explain things so clearly and detailed so that noobs like me can understand it and learn.

Will digest what you've said and make a decision.....

dry.gif

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 8 2006, 06:58 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Still having install problems....trying to install on my 3100...

Installed 'squashfs' and then downloaded the xqt-jumbo.squashfs file and then unzipped it and copied it over to my /hdd3 along with the 'xqt-install.sh' file.

Did as per instructions in Qkonsole:

CODE
$su
#./xqt-install.sh


I see script executing but at end, didn't get anything installed.

So tried again but left files zipped...as I saw that install script referred to unzipping files...

It found the zipped file but got error message:

CODE
....found xqt-gtk-jumbo.squashfs.zip
+ which unzip
+ [  = ]
+ echo error: unzip not found!
error: unzip not found!
+ exit 1
[1]+ Stopped


So what am I doing wrong install process???

What is the right way to get this installed???

Thanks,

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 9 2006, 09:30 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Latest attempt to install X/Qt....this time using 'xqt-gtk-jumbopack_0.4.3-0.7.1_arm.ipk'

I did the following:

Put file on SD card
In Qkonsole:
CODE
$su
#ipkg install xqt-gtk-jumbopack_0.4.3-0.7.1_arm.ipk
Unpacking xqt-gtk-jumbopack...Done.
Configuring xqt-gtk-jumbopack.......linking required X/Qt binaries
...linking required X/Qt libraries
...linking config files
...linking libraries
...generating pango.modules
...gererating gdk-pixbuf.loaders
X/Qt configured.
X/Qt installed successfully.
Done.


Then I rebooted and I now see the X/Qt tab. Tapped on the 'StartX' icon and I see the explosion graphic over the icon but X doesn't start up....

Any suggestions??

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stbrock
post Apr 9 2006, 09:47 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 149
Joined: 17-April 04
Member No.: 2,879



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Apr 9 2006, 01:30 PM)
Then I rebooted and I now see the X/Qt tab. Tapped on the 'StartX' icon and I see the explosion graphic over the icon but X doesn't start up....

Any suggestions??

Thanks
*


Do you get to the gray X background behind your original toolbar? If so you may be able to press "Menu" and select "Fullscreen" and be there after all. Sometimes the X/Qt window manager toolbar is hidden behind the original toolbar.

Otherwise, you might try the compressed images if you haven't already. I've found them very convenient.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 9 2006, 09:53 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks for your help, stbrock...

No, I didn't get the anything....check with 'menu' button....

Have had problems trying to install 'squashfs' version....maybe should try cramfs version????

FWIW, I was able to successfully install and run an older ipk version 'xqt-gtk-jumbopack_0.4.3-0.6_arm.ipk'.....

Wonder if there's much difference between this one and the newer versions.....

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 9 2006, 11:12 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Just tried to install the cramfs version of xqt-jumbo and xqt-apps on my /hdd3.....
In Qkonsole install said it went OK...

Rebooted and saw the X/Qt tab and all the icons including apps.

Clicked on startx icon and got the following error message:

"Error - Unable to find this application
'startx-wrapper' : Please confirm the installed media"


Any suggestions???

Not doing so well here.....

huh.gif

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Apr 10 2006, 07:13 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



ArchiMark,
I had X/QT running on my C3100, but it seemed to slow my machine down, even when using QTopia.
I used the Cramfs version on an ext2 formatted SD card.
(Meanie says you don't need to format as ext2 for the cramfs version, but I already did this anyway).
Read below thread thoroughly.
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=13011
Some points I gathered from that thread are:

1. Use Meanie's xqt-cleanup between installations/un-installations. This cleans up orphaned files/symlinks. (Attached below)

2. If using Sharp ROM, you'll need Meanie's automounter, and sudo.
Also re-read meanie's page about the automounter, he explains what it does and the mount points.
****WARNING****
Do not install Meanie's automounter, and sudo if you are running Cacko.
Cacko already includes an automounting system and it also includes it's own version of sudo.

3. Look in your system info and look at the mounts. Do you see "xqt-gtk-jumbo" mounted as cramfs?
(If it's not there, this is why you need the automounter)
(This would be squashfs in a squashfs install)

Jon
Attached File(s)
Attached File  xqt_cleanup.zip ( 1.1K ) Number of downloads: 60
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 10 2006, 08:34 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks for your helpful reply, Jon_J !!

Need all the help I can get right now.... rolleyes.gif

I have been using 'xqt-cleanup.....but haven't been able to locate the 'automounter' file....couldn't find link on Meanie's site or on mirror sites.....

Do you know where to get it???

Maybe I should install Cacko again..... tried using it a while back....

Thanks,

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Apr 10 2006, 08:40 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Here:
http://www.users.on.net/~hluc/myZaurus/stuff/
Get the 0.4.7 version
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 10 2006, 11:13 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks for the link, Jon_J !!!

Don't know how I missed it.... rolleyes.gif

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Apr 11 2006, 08:35 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 1,015
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



OK, finally S U C C E S S !!! .........more or less....

I still can't start up X with 'StartX' icon, just get the explosion image over the icon, hourglass shows up for a minute and then goes away...

However, I am able to start up X using the 'xlauncher' command in konsole.....so maybe it was working that way before and I didn't know it.... rolleyes.gif

Why doesn't X start with icon??? Anyway to fix that???

Also, I can open up the X apps installed such as firefox, xmms, etc in the 'rxvt' window, so that's good!!

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd July 2014 - 02:12 PM