OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Startxfce4 Script With Xdm
ins0mniaque
post Apr 12 2006, 01:02 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 18-May 05
Member No.: 7,162



Hi,

I configured xdm for use with X-Deep32, and with no .xsession, it loads fvwm as expected and everything is ok. So I linked (ln) my .xinitrc to .xsession and expected to have a nice xfce4 loading in X-Deep32, but lo and behold, it doesn't start.

Here's the content of my .xsession :

export TERMCMD=aterm
exec /usr/local/bin/startxfce4 || exec xterm

and here's the content of the .xsession-errors :

/usr/local/bin/startxfce4: X server already running on display 192.168.0.2:0
Agent pid 121
/etc/xdg/xfce4/xinitrc[69]: dbus-launch:: not found
/etc/xdg/xfce4/xinitrc[84]: xfce4-session:: not found
Agent pid 121 killed


It seems there is already a X server running (which I think is normal with xdm) and I checked out the pid, it's a ssh-agent. I'm not quite sure why it's not starting right now, but I'm hoping one of you already had this problem. The startxfce4 script does work when I'm not running xdm. I googled my .xsession-errors and found out that I'm not alone, but I haven't found any answer.

The problem is probably the "xfce4-session:: not found" but "which xfce4-session" (/etc/xdg/xfce4/xinitrc[72]) correctly returns "/usr/local/bin/xfce4-session".

I'll look into it tonight, but any help is welcomed, as my experience with any *nix/bsd other than simple shell commands and vi is near zero. (Yes I'm using vi (gvim) on Windows... Notepad is for n00bs... lol)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
iamasmith
post Apr 13 2006, 09:35 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



ok, it should work - however, there is a little 'telltale' in what you mentioned above..

You had to put /usr/local/bin/startxfce4 in the script because /usr/local/bin isn't in the path??

This kinda indicates that you are logging in as root... I haven't tried xfce4 from xdm as root.

All 'normal' users get /usr/local/bin in their path, its a sort of safeguard that root only has paths to default system stuff... avoid using root wherever possible, su when needed (your user must be in the wheel group to do this) or even better use sudo for admin type commands.

Give it a try with a regular user account. (that's if I'm right about what you are doing of course tongue.gif)

-Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ins0mniaque
post Apr 13 2006, 11:51 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 18-May 05
Member No.: 7,162



QUOTE(iamasmith @ Apr 13 2006, 01:35 PM)
This kinda indicates that you are logging in as root... I haven't tried xfce4 from xdm as root.



Of course, you were right. From a normal account it works flawlessly (well except the speed when I'm compiling abiword at the same time, but oh well... wink.gif)

Thank you.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 02:15 PM