OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Cacko Needs To Be Fixed!
xamindar
post Apr 21 2006, 06:23 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



There are a few problems with Cacko that have become a real annoyance. I hope by posting about them here, we all may be able to work together to solve them.

1) The boot up sequence seems to be really strange and contains things that are un-needed and/or mess up the Z under certain occasions. At one point it complains about not being able to mount /mnt/cf2 because it does not exist. If I create the mount point then it complains about invalid arguments and as a result my internal hard drive Documents folder will sometimes not mount at all forcing me to reboot until it does.
DO NOT create this mount point unless you want to have to constantly reset your zaurus until it is able to mount the Documents folder.

2a) The network script is a little broken. You are only able to connect once per insert of the card. If you disconnect from a network and want to connect to another one then you have to remove the card and re-insert it (or type "cardctl reset" in a console) to be able to connect.

2b) The network applet does not show the network connection info under "current". If I click on that tab my zaurus slows to a crawl until I move away from that tab. This may be related to 2a. It also might only be a c3100 problem.


3) Now it appears that the usb drive function in cacko is also messed up. It may stop working and require a reboot of the Z in order for it to work correctly again.

4) The home directory (internal flash) does not show up in the system info applet. This might also be a c3100 issue.

Please add any that you might have discovered so others can confirm them.

What happened to the guy who created Cacko? Did he give up on us? I know I have asked about a couple of these in the actual cacko thread and did not recieve any answers.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Apr 21 2006, 07:14 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



1) I usually ignore the boot sequence unless I'm having problems, (rarely).
/mnt/cf2 is the external CF slot isn't it?
When in Qtopia, I can insert/remove my CF memory cards with no problems. Mounting is done automatically.

2a) I don't know.
2b) I don't know.

3) USB drive has always worked for me with no problems.
Cacko lite needs one of these 3 installed for USB drives. I installed all 3 of them.
usb-network-modules-2.4.20_1.23--lite-1_arm.ipk
usb-serial-modules-2.4.20_1.23-lite-1_arm.ipk
usb-storage-modules-2.4.20_1.23--lite-1_arm.ipk

--------
EDIT: Reading your post in C1000/3x00, I realized you are talking about USB storage mode.
When I hook mine up to win-xp, I have to wait awhile before I can access the Zaurus. But I don't have problems there either.
This is how I copy IPKs to my /hdd3/Documents/Install_Files/ directory.
Make sure you select "Storage" mode in PC Link.
--------

4) same here. You mean the "Storage" tab in system info, don't you?


Haven't seen maslovsky here in quite awhile.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Apr 21 2006, 11:14 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



2a) use nethelper to do a cardctrl reset, or edit the network script, not a biggie, actually I have fixed that yet, maybe I should...

4) this app is 'almost' useless, you can get most of that data from console
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cmonex
post Apr 23 2006, 10:32 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 92
Joined: 4-March 06
Member No.: 9,288



xamindar, i don't know, but the cf cards i use (wifi, bt) are OK with cacko, i don't have to do the cardctl reset to reconnect. what card(s) are you using?

it is just annoying that i always have to wait for the automatic cardctl reset to finish at every power on (my cf bluetooth is permanently in the cf slot except if i use wifi). and it doesn't always work anyway and then i have to do it manually. this is bugging me yeah.

my other problem (unrelated to the above) with cacko is that it doesn't include a really decent filemanager (i need fast file renaming and the ability to open apps from within it).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tombraider
post Apr 23 2006, 02:00 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 23-November 04
From: Murphy, North Carolina USA
Member No.: 5,590



QUOTE
2a) The network script is a little broken. You are only able to connect once per insert of the card. If you disconnect from a network and want to connect to another one then you have to remove the card and re-insert it (or type "cardctl reset" in a console) to be able to connect.


I HATE this problem. I have this same problem with both of my network cards...see signature for card types.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Apr 8 2007, 07:11 AM
Post #6





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



i created an ipk that ejects and reinserts the card through icons in the multimedia tab. This removes the problem need to physically remove the cards.

It does the same thing as if you where to type into the console to eject the card and reinsert it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Apr 8 2007, 09:38 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE(tombraider @ Apr 23 2006, 05:00 PM)
QUOTE
2a) The network script is a little broken. You are only able to connect once per insert of the card. If you disconnect from a network and want to connect to another one then you have to remove the card and re-insert it (or type "cardctl reset" in a console) to be able to connect.


I HATE this problem. I have this same problem with both of my network cards...see signature for card types.
*


I created 2 *.sh files for my GPS to resume and to suspend it.
Maybe you can use this method and substitute (eject or reset), and insert.
"gps-resume.sh" and "gps-suspend.sh"
CODE
#! /bin/bash
cardctl resume
exit 0
CODE
#! /bin/bash
cardctl suspend
exit 0

Then I placed them in /home/QtPalmtop/bin and made them executable. Then I used the Tab Setting to create an icon for each one.
I also posted this here:
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...ndpost&p=158265

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Apr 8 2007, 09:40 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Apr 8 2007, 12:00 PM
Post #8





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



yeah, those commands crash my zaurus but here is the ipk.

this is my cf-refresh

This post has been edited by Cresho: Jun 9 2007, 03:43 PM
Attached File(s)
Attached File  cf_refresh_1.0_arm.zip ( 8.22K ) Number of downloads: 71
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 04:55 AM