OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> X/qt Rootless Mode
ShiroiKuma
post Apr 27 2006, 12:17 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



On the X/Qt site you can see this screenshot of running in rootless mode.

This might be a solution to running individual X apps in Qtopia, i.e. being able to switch just to the app, not to the whole X/Qt desktop.

Does anyone have any experience with this? How do you start an app in X/Qt in rootless mode?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
bam
post Apr 30 2006, 06:51 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



how soon? /me is impatient...this is cool.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 1 2006, 07:36 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(bam @ May 1 2006, 12:51 PM)
how soon? /me is impatient...this is cool.
*


very soon. i was almost done today, but then decided to recompile gtk2 so abiword would have nice window sizes that fit the screen and then I am also compiling some plugins for abiword too which hopefully will allow pdf and openoffice document support in abiword.
got screen rotation working too and fixed the window sizes for 6000 models as well.
a day or two and it should be ready unless i find something else to add smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 3 2006, 04:15 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



From the other post, I tried your new version...

It seems that only one app can be run in rootless mode. When I start a second one it says one is already running. Can this be gotten around?

Also running rootless firefox-embedded doesn't seem to work on my 3200, it just starts the X, you see the icon, and then exits. From a command prompt though it gives no error...

How can I debug the start to see what's failing?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 3 2006, 07:44 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 3 2006, 10:15 PM)
From the other post, I tried your new version...

It seems that only one app can be run in rootless mode. When I start a second one it says one is already running. Can this be gotten around?

Also running rootless firefox-embedded doesn't seem to work on my 3200, it just starts the X, you see the icon, and then exits. From a command prompt though it gives no error...

How can I debug the start to see what's failing?
*


xlauncher -debug -embed firefox-embedded
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 3 2006, 10:51 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 4 2006, 04:44 AM)
xlauncher -debug -embed firefox-embedded
*

OK will do. And what about the one-app limit in rootless? Is there no way to run more apps in rootless mode?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 3 2006, 11:00 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 4 2006, 04:51 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 4 2006, 04:44 AM)
xlauncher -debug -embed firefox-embedded
*

OK will do. And what about the one-app limit in rootless? Is there no way to run more apps in rootless mode?
*



well you could open a terminal and

export DISPLAY=:0.0
appname

note that this rootless mode is experimental and has many limitations. it is also only available in xqt server 0.8 it was removed in 0.9
i might have a look into it further and recompile xqt server but no time for it right now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 5 2006, 06:59 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 4 2006, 08:00 AM)
well you could open a terminal and

export DISPLAY=:0.0
appname

I did this and it works, the only problem is it launches the second app in the first apps window - obviously. But the second one is on top and there is no way to switch them.

I'd like to just run two rootless instances of X/Qt to open two apps individually. When I just try runx then the X/Qt server gives an error. That's probably why you put it in the launch script to not allow running a second app rootless.

But surely there must be a way to launch a second instance of any program under Linux independently. How can I do this with X/Qt.

QUOTE
note that this rootless mode is experimental and has many limitations. it is also only available in xqt server 0.8 it was removed in 0.9
i might have a look into it further and recompile xqt server but no time for it right now.
*

Yeah, that's what it says on the X/Qt site about it being experimental etc. I like it though. The way it runs the apps as you have done it in your image is really good.

That's why I want to run more than one app in the rootless mode.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 5 2006, 08:32 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 6 2006, 12:59 AM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 4 2006, 08:00 AM)
well you could open a terminal and

export DISPLAY=:0.0
appname

I did this and it works, the only problem is it launches the second app in the first apps window - obviously. But the second one is on top and there is no way to switch them.

I'd like to just run two rootless instances of X/Qt to open two apps individually. When I just try runx then the X/Qt server gives an error. That's probably why you put it in the launch script to not allow running a second app rootless.

But surely there must be a way to launch a second instance of any program under Linux independently. How can I do this with X/Qt.

QUOTE
note that this rootless mode is experimental and has many limitations. it is also only available in xqt server 0.8 it was removed in 0.9
i might have a look into it further and recompile xqt server but no time for it right now.
*

Yeah, that's what it says on the X/Qt site about it being experimental etc. I like it though. The way it runs the apps as you have done it in your image is really good.

That's why I want to run more than one app in the rootless mode.
*



its possible to have multiple apps in their own rootless window with their own icon by running multiple instances of xqt. each xqt instance needs to run on a different display. i havent written a script for it yet to allocate and deallocate the displays. the next version, 0.7.7 will have this smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 5 2006, 09:24 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 5 2006, 05:32 PM)
its possible to have multiple apps in their own rootless window with their own icon by running multiple instances of xqt. each xqt instance needs to run on a different display. i havent written a script for it yet to allocate and deallocate the displays.
*

I copied your xlauncher script to play with it and just see if it'd work, to xlauncher2.

In xlauncher2 I modified the part where when running an embedded app it checks if X="" and if it does it says that you're running an embedded app already.

Changed it to export the DISPLAY=:1.0 (also :0.1, tried two versions, since couldn't remember the right form).

Now, I run for instance dillo rootless first. Then when I try xlauncher2 -embed xmms, the X/Qt pops an X/Qt Server box, saying Fatal error.

What am I doing wrong?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 5 2006, 03:55 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 6 2006, 03:24 AM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 5 2006, 05:32 PM)
its possible to have multiple apps in their own rootless window with their own icon by running multiple instances of xqt. each xqt instance needs to run on a different display. i havent written a script for it yet to allocate and deallocate the displays.
*

I copied your xlauncher script to play with it and just see if it'd work, to xlauncher2.

In xlauncher2 I modified the part where when running an embedded app it checks if X="" and if it does it says that you're running an embedded app already.

Changed it to export the DISPLAY=:1.0 (also :0.1, tried two versions, since couldn't remember the right form).

Now, I run for instance dillo rootless first. Then when I try xlauncher2 -embed xmms, the X/Qt pops an X/Qt Server box, saying Fatal error.

What am I doing wrong?
*




in addition to setting the display for the client, the server needs to be started on a different display as well so you have matching pairs of client and servers on different displays. in addition, you also need to allocate xauthority cookies to each display
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 5 2006, 05:31 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 12:55 AM)
in addition to setting the display for the client, the server needs to be started on a different display as well so you have matching pairs of client and servers on different displays. in addition, you also need to allocate xauthority cookies to each display
*

Oh yeah, just realized it looking into your runx script.

Seems I'm getting entangled in trying to create a parallel script that would alloc individual displays...

So far haven't managed...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 6 2006, 01:22 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 6 2006, 11:31 AM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 12:55 AM)
in addition to setting the display for the client, the server needs to be started on a different display as well so you have matching pairs of client and servers on different displays. in addition, you also need to allocate xauthority cookies to each display
*

Oh yeah, just realized it looking into your runx script.

Seems I'm getting entangled in trying to create a parallel script that would alloc individual displays...

So far haven't managed...
*



I will make it work in the next update. promise smile.gif
can you test the other stuff, especially the keys? i want to make sure everything else works before adding more features and complexity.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ShiroiKuma
post May 9 2006, 06:20 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 902
Joined: 22-May 04
Member No.: 3,385



QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 10:22 AM)
I will make it work in the next update. promise smile.gif

Hey man, have you made progress on this?

I'm not bugging, just curious... smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post May 9 2006, 07:21 PM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 10 2006, 12:20 PM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 10:22 AM)
I will make it work in the next update. promise smile.gif

Hey man, have you made progress on this?

I'm not bugging, just curious... smile.gif
*



yeah, progresing. just doing several things concurrently, ie I got abiword working now with OpenOffice and PDF import filters as well as printing to PDF and postscript. I think I fixed the Cacko problem too. so now I am compiling more apps, but the biggest thing for me is to get jamvm and scim compiled properly. got fluxbox config gui tools too. been working on gtk so the rootless apps won't be oversized and fit on the screen, otherwise there will be no way of resizing or moving them. got the firefox settings screen fitting too smile.gif compiled the latest vesion of grisbi and aspell. trying to write scripts to convert the qt launch scripts between rootless and normal mode so you can easily switch them around.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic
ShiroiKuma   X/qt Rootless Mode   Apr 27 2006, 12:17 PM
bam   this sounds interesting....I like the idea!   Apr 27 2006, 12:22 PM
Jon_J   That would be a great idea. 1. would occupy le...   Apr 27 2006, 12:32 PM
Meanie   QUOTE(Jon_J @ Apr 28 2006, 06:32 AM)That woul...   Apr 27 2006, 11:45 PM
bam   yes! killer!   Apr 28 2006, 01:02 AM
Meanie   QUOTE(bam @ Apr 28 2006, 07:02 PM)yes! ki...   Apr 30 2006, 09:09 AM
ShiroiKuma   QUOTE(Meanie @ Apr 30 2006, 06:09 PM)here...   Apr 30 2006, 02:59 PM
jfv   Please tell me that the internet exploder icon on ...   Apr 30 2006, 03:25 PM
Meanie   QUOTE(jfv @ May 1 2006, 09:25 AM)Please tell ...   Apr 30 2006, 06:20 PM
bam   how soon? /me is impatient...this is cool.   Apr 30 2006, 06:51 PM
Meanie   QUOTE(bam @ May 1 2006, 12:51 PM)how soon? /m...   May 1 2006, 07:36 AM
ShiroiKuma   From the other post, I tried your new version... ...   May 3 2006, 04:15 AM
Meanie   QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 3 2006, 10:15 PM)From ...   May 3 2006, 07:44 PM
ShiroiKuma   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 4 2006, 04:44 AM)xlauncher...   May 3 2006, 10:51 PM
Meanie   QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 4 2006, 04:51 PM)QUOTE...   May 3 2006, 11:00 PM
ShiroiKuma   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 4 2006, 08:00 AM)well you ...   May 5 2006, 06:59 AM
Meanie   QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 6 2006, 12:59 AM)QUOTE...   May 5 2006, 08:32 AM
ShiroiKuma   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 5 2006, 05:32 PM)its possi...   May 5 2006, 09:24 AM
Meanie   QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 6 2006, 03:24 AM)QUOTE...   May 5 2006, 03:55 PM
ShiroiKuma   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 12:55 AM)in additi...   May 5 2006, 05:31 PM
Meanie   QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 6 2006, 11:31 AM)QUOTE...   May 6 2006, 01:22 AM
ShiroiKuma   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 10:22 AM)I will ma...   May 6 2006, 01:41 AM
Meanie   QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 6 2006, 07:41 PM)QUOTE...   May 6 2006, 03:37 AM
ShiroiKuma   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 12:37 PM)can you g...   May 6 2006, 10:10 AM
Meanie   QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 7 2006, 04:10 AM)QUOTE...   May 7 2006, 04:43 AM
ShiroiKuma   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 7 2006, 01:43 PM)Thanks fo...   May 7 2006, 09:05 AM
Meanie   QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 8 2006, 03:05 AM)QUOTE...   May 7 2006, 04:51 PM
ShiroiKuma   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 10:22 AM)I will ma...   May 9 2006, 06:20 PM
Meanie   QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 10 2006, 12:20 PM)QUOT...   May 9 2006, 07:21 PM
ShiroiKuma   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 10 2006, 04:21 AM)yeah, pr...   May 10 2006, 02:26 AM
Meanie   QUOTE(ShiroiKuma @ May 10 2006, 08:26 PM)QUOT...   May 10 2006, 04:49 AM
freebird   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 10 2006, 03:21 AM)QUOTE(Sh...   May 18 2006, 08:24 PM
Meanie   QUOTE(freebird @ May 19 2006, 02:24 PM)QUOTE(...   May 20 2006, 11:06 PM
freebird   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 21 2006, 07:06 AM)QUOTE(fr...   May 21 2006, 07:53 AM
Meanie   QUOTE(freebird @ May 22 2006, 01:53 AM)QUOTE(...   May 21 2006, 05:13 PM
freebird   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 22 2006, 01:13 AM)QUOTE(fr...   May 21 2006, 11:22 PM
ShiroiKuma   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 6 2006, 12:55 AM)in additi...   May 6 2006, 01:18 AM
hello   Does this work on C1000 as well as C3x00?   May 5 2006, 10:52 AM
Meanie   QUOTE(hello @ May 6 2006, 04:52 AM)Does this ...   May 5 2006, 03:50 PM
Meanie   rename /opt/QtPalmtop/bin/Xqt-rootless1 to /opt/Qt...   May 22 2006, 04:29 AM
freebird   QUOTE(Meanie @ May 22 2006, 12:29 PM)rename /...   May 22 2006, 12:00 PM


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 10:09 PM