OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Touch Screen Problem
dfisher
post May 11 2006, 07:53 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 30-May 03
From: Toronto,Ontario
Member No.: 66



Folks,

For some reason, the screen on my SL-6000 is not responding to input. I baby this thing, using both a screen protector & Piel Frama case. Any suggestions? Am I cooked?

Thanks,
Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
undrwater
post May 11 2006, 08:32 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



When you say not responding, I'm assuming you mean: Tap | nothing, Tap| nothing...

Have you tried a reset? And barring that, have you tried to reformat? Instructions are in the wiki on oesf.org.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dfisher
post May 11 2006, 08:34 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 30-May 03
From: Toronto,Ontario
Member No.: 66



QUOTE(undrwater @ May 11 2006, 08:32 AM)
When you say not responding, I'm assuming you mean: Tap | nothing, Tap| nothing...

Have you tried a reset? And barring that, have you tried to reformat?  Instructions are in the wiki on oesf.org.
*


Yep, your description of the problem is correct. I've tried both hard and soft resets with same result. Checked dmesg and there don't appear to be any drive load errors.

I'll have a look at the reformat instructions. Sounds extreme.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dfisher
post May 11 2006, 07:53 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 51
Joined: 30-May 03
From: Toronto,Ontario
Member No.: 66



QUOTE(dfisher @ May 11 2006, 08:34 AM)
QUOTE(undrwater @ May 11 2006, 08:32 AM)
When you say not responding, I'm assuming you mean: Tap | nothing, Tap| nothing...

Have you tried a reset? And barring that, have you tried to reformat?  Instructions are in the wiki on oesf.org.
*


Yep, your description of the problem is correct. I've tried both hard and soft resets with same result. Checked dmesg and there don't appear to be any drive load errors.

I'll have a look at the reformat instructions. Sounds extreme.
*



I believe the problem has been solved. I un-installed the most recently added software (VNC Server). Performed hard reset and screen is responding now.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Apr 5 2007, 12:22 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(dfisher @ May 12 2006, 04:53 AM)
I un-installed the most recently added software (VNC Server).  Performed hard reset and screen is responding now.
*

That is a *** very *** common problem with VNC server on Sharp ROM. There should be a large warning somewhere that VNC server tweaks the touch driver.

I had the same after doing my FOSDEM presentation using VNC to forward the screen content on a Mac and a beamer smile.gif

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st July 2014 - 07:45 PM