OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Abandoned Fit Bluetooth To 6000 To Make 6000w, using WML-C09-AHR - WRONG MODULE
speculatrix
post May 15 2006, 02:04 AM
Post #1





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I have placed an order with Segor.de, who speak excellent English, to buy two modules for 6000. I shall fit one of them to my 6000, and if it goes well I shall offer to do someone else's... or sell the module on at cost. I shall photograph the process and post results. More to follow... wish me luck!

---- sales@segor.de said on 15th May 2006 ----

The WML-C09-AHR is available in our stock,
price is unchanged:

1-4: EUR 39,00 per piece (including german VAT)
5-9: EUR 37,00 per piece
10+: EUR 35,00 per piece

Freight charges to UK by "international letter" are EUR 7,00.

----
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mickeyl
post May 15 2006, 07:14 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,497
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Germany
Member No.: 907



It it wasn't the complicated retrofitting procedure, i'd be interested... :/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 15 2006, 07:18 AM
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



this module is the one "blessed" by Sharp, so it should literally be a 5 minute soldering job. I've now bought some high quality jeweller's tools so am ready to tackle dismantling the 6000 so I can also look at the flash and ram devices too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 19 2006, 02:51 AM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



the modules arrived yesterday, VERY well packed - box was 3"x3"x5" for two devices the size of my thumbnail and wafer thin! Segor are excellent sellers - respond "instantly" to email and goods arrived three working days after placing order!

I confirm that the devices do have integrated ceramic aerial (as ordered), and look just like the pix that Guylhem posted before.

Stay tuned for more updates, and I will posting pix on my website.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 29 2006, 02:01 AM
Post #5





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



sadly, it seems I was misled - after spending some time carefully dismantling my Tosa, and putting the module in place, it became apparent that the pitch spacing of the pads on the PCB doesn't match the spacing of the points on the module!

taking the Z apart wasn't too hard, but to get to the space for the bluetooth module means a total strip-down, there's practically nothing you don't take apart!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ken
post May 29 2006, 02:26 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 274
Joined: 17-October 04
Member No.: 5,063



QUOTE(speculatrix @ May 29 2006, 12:01 AM)
taking the Z apart wasn't too hard, but to get to the space for the bluetooth module means a total strip-down, there's practically nothing you don't take apart!
*


yes, these are the things that slow down my wanting to mod my Z! I applaud your courage and effort smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post May 29 2006, 04:48 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



If it's not C09, then what module is it? Somehow, I think I've heard about C19, would it be the one used in 6000 series?
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 29 2006, 10:24 AM
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



OMG! Disaster! I was taking more photos, to measure the pitch of the connectors and the bluetooth modules... when I was reassembling it and putting the wifi adaptor back in, I accidentally pressed down on the other side of the board and snapped the end of one of the Samsung K4S561633C devices, which is a BGA. I carried on putting it back together and prayed the damage was cosmetic but my 6000 is dead as a dodo... not even the OK memo will come up.

Looks like it's completely ruined. I could cry. If it were a TSOP or something replaceable, there'd be more hope. As it is, I think I've reduced my Tosa to a collection of scrap parts. I'm stunned. Can't believe I'm writing this.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post May 29 2006, 01:29 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



That is a real bummer.

Looking at the data sheet it is only 6 X 9 pins. It probably could be repared if you could get one but it won't be easy.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 29 2006, 02:03 PM
Post #10





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(albertr @ May 29 2006, 01:48 PM)
If it's not C09, then what module is it? Somehow, I think I've heard about C19, would it be the one used in 6000 series?
-albertr
*


I took close-up pix showing that the C09 is hard metric pitch, the PCB is definitely not. More at some point - I'm still working on fixing my file server whose hard drive died in the week meaning I'm rebuilding from scratch and restoring from backup!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
albertr
post May 30 2006, 08:15 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 535
Joined: 7-March 04
Member No.: 2,195



Ouch! Sorry to hear about your 6000 disaster... Hopefully, the damage is only the DRAM chip itself, and not the CPU's memory controller. If so, it can be repaired by replacing the BGA chip, just reseach the local shops to find one that does it affordably.
-albertr
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 30 2006, 08:44 AM
Post #12





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(albertr @ May 30 2006, 05:15 PM)
Ouch! Sorry to hear about your 6000 disaster... Hopefully, the damage is only the DRAM chip itself, and not the CPU's memory controller. If so, it can be repaired by replacing the BGA chip, just reseach the local shops to find one that does it affordably.
-albertr
*


It's definitely the dram chip - I can see a line across the surface denoting a hairline fracture.

Even so, I rebuilt it and hoped at least to get to OK prompt, meaning that the lower memory block is working, thus allowing me to do some sort of hack to get Z to boot with just half the memory - assuming that the PXA255 has a 16-bit memory bus. Sadly, no, no sign of life at all.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jun 1 2006, 02:26 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



|cries|

Bugger.

http://www.samsung.com/Products/Semiconduc...&cd1=&x=10&y=10

That's the samsung page on it, if that helps. I haven't been able to trace a distributor yet. . .

waaaaasait


Berkshire
Microtronica UK Ltd
+44(0)870 011 9000
Memory

Chessington
Dane-Elec UK
+44 (0) 208 391 6900
Memory

London
M2m Ltd.
+44(0) 208 676 3030
Memory

London
Just Rams Plc
+44(0)208/451 77 66
Memory

UK-Berkshire
Future Electronics Ltd.
+44(0)1753/76 30 00
Memory

UK-Middlesex
Assured Technologies
+44(0)208/758 0758
Memory

UK-Rochester
Display Technology Ltd.
+44(0)1634/29 55 55
TFT LCD

Try those places!

|hopeful smile|
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jun 5 2006, 05:05 AM
Post #14





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Ferret-Simpson @ Jun 1 2006, 11:26 PM)


very useful link, thanks - I've been reading it.

The original K4S561633C-RL75 has been replaced by equivalent K4S561633F device, which are 4 x 4M words by 16 bits (i.e. 16M x 16 = 32MBytes).

I am wondering whether I could use the K4S511633F which is 4 x 8M x 16, or 64MBytes.

On the other hand, there's space for FOUR devices in my Z:
6000 ram chips
so *IF* it'd take 64MB devices, I could have a total of 4*64 or 256MB ram in a 6000 - which would make it pretty l33t!

(pic taken before I snapped one ram in half).

This post has been edited by speculatrix: Jun 5 2006, 05:07 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jun 5 2006, 05:13 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



It would be good, and would also mean that your Z would work again.

Heh, I'm a fixer at heart, so no problem! Besides, i owe you for your pesistance in helping me with my N00bish inability to make a GPRS connection work.

You should call up those distributors and ask them about parts, anyway. Even if they ask for a minimum of 100 chips, or something, It'll still be cheaper that £400 for a new Zaurus, and you can flog off the spares to other people with problems.

OR make an Open Source PDA. . . . wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th November 2014 - 05:31 PM