OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Anyone Know How To Mod A Ethernet Card For Wifi
sekade
post Jun 7 2006, 06:55 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-June 06
Member No.: 10,097



Im trying to modify a desktop ethernet card into a wifi transmitter so i can get on the net with my psp and well im kinda strapped for cash and i would like to do it with as little cost as possible
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mjolinor
post Jun 7 2006, 08:45 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 227
Joined: 26-October 05
Member No.: 8,405



You couldn't do it economically, it would take months to add wifi to an Ethernet card. Just buy a second hand AP. You should be able to get an 802.11b for $10 or less.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BarryW
post Jun 7 2006, 10:15 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 693
Joined: 4-June 04
From: Ohio
Member No.: 3,570



Are you trying to modify a wired ethernet card for wifi or do you want to share a internet connection from your desktop with a wifi card in it??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sekade
post Jun 8 2006, 12:36 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-June 06
Member No.: 10,097



QUOTE(Mjolinor @ Jun 7 2006, 11:45 AM)
You couldn't do it economically, it would take months to add wifi to an Ethernet card. Just buy a second hand AP. You should be able to get an 802.11b for $10 or less.
*
hmm well i would but im not sure where to get a second hand AP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sekade
post Jun 8 2006, 12:38 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-June 06
Member No.: 10,097



QUOTE(BarryW @ Jun 7 2006, 01:15 PM)
Are you trying to modify a wired ethernet card for wifi or do you want to share a internet connection from your desktop with a wifi card in it??
*
well i was wanting to mod a wired ethernet card for wifi broadcast cause i cant afford to buy a wifi router
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
iamasmith
post Jun 8 2006, 03:24 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,248
Joined: 6-July 04
Member No.: 3,928



This isn't going to work even if you do manage to get an rf transmission from the Ethernet card.. it isn't simply a matter of a change in the physical transmission medium (wired to wireless). Wired ethernet uses a thing called Manchester encoding which uses a 2 x clock state transition to represent a single binary digit.. for example..

100011000110

might be represented as

(HL)(LH)(LH)(LH)(HL)(HL)(LH)(LH)(LH)(HL)(HL)(LH)

where H = high signal and L = Low signal..

The reason this is done is to avoid sync drift on consecutive digits of the same value. I'm not sure what 802.11b uses but it may use something more efficient such as 4b5b encoding where 4 bits are represented with 5 bits etc...

Basically this is very unlikely to work.

-Andy
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zmiq2
post Jun 8 2006, 04:20 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 385
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,038



Take a look at ebay for unepensive wifi adapters.

I'm sure your time and resources in not only doing the hack (hardware and software driver reuired!) but also in getting the knowledge to do it are orders of magnitude more expensive than the effort to do some savings on a weekend going-out.

Don't even spend a single second on getting the hack done; just think about the way to save the money.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jun 8 2006, 11:18 PM
Post #8





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



Wifi is a totally different system to wired and quite a lot more complex - you might as well ask how you can convert a black and white TV into a colour one!

I've seen compact flash wifi adaptors for less than 15 quid on ebay, just be sure to get a prism chipset based one so WPA will work.
As for wifi access point, older ones which will only do 802.11b and not g or a go for less than 15 quid on ebay too.

Another cheap choice is to use bluetooth for the wireless link - I use it in preference to wifi as it also saves battery life!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Jun 8 2006, 11:41 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



Yeah wifis diffrent on several layers not just the pysical if i remeber corectly (i belive thats the reason they had to develop another standard for QOS on wifi)

best thing to do is get a card slap it in your pc and tell it to be an AP (you are renning linux on your PC right) otherwise its Ad-hoc for you
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sekade
post Jun 9 2006, 12:26 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 7-June 06
Member No.: 10,097



*sighs* i had a feeling this wouldnt work well i'll look on ebay and see what i can find thanks everyone for your help
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ferret-Simpson
post Jul 4 2006, 01:32 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



Heh, BW to colour?:

Nah, Black and white CRT to Full colour HDTV TFT with Blu-Ray drive.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2014 - 05:19 PM