OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> No passwords required over USB?
w4lna
post Feb 26 2004, 06:42 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 24-January 04
Member No.: 1,527



Established a ssh connection with my SL-5600 over the USB interface,
but even though I have assigned passwords for root and zaurus, it didn't ask me for one.

Is this standard behavior and can it be corrected?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 26 2004, 06:55 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



No this is not standard. What are you running on and which version of ssh?

Perhaps you're using public key (without even knowing it? ;-))


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
w4lna
post Feb 26 2004, 12:55 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 24-January 04
Member No.: 1,527



QUOTE
No this is not standard. What are you running on and which version of ssh?

Perhaps you're using public key (without even knowing it? ;-))


Si


Have the USB driver loaded in Mac OS X, and the following for SSH on that system:

OpenSSH_3.6.1p1+CAN-2003-0693, SSH protocols 1.5/2.0, OpenSSL 0x0090702f

On the Zaurus, it is the standard Sharp 1.32 ROM and kernel.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 27 2004, 03:56 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



The standard Sharp ROM doesn't come with ssh afaik, not can a root telnet login be made without editing /etc/securetty. Are you getting a terminal screen or a file transfer screen. If it's the latter then it may be that sftp is switching to ftp (which doesn't require a password).


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
w4lna
post Feb 27 2004, 04:00 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 59
Joined: 24-January 04
Member No.: 1,527



QUOTE
The standard Sharp ROM doesn't come with ssh afaik, not can a root telnet login be made without editing /etc/securetty. Are you getting a terminal screen or a file transfer screen. If it's the latter then it may be that sftp is switching to ftp (which doesn't require a password).


I had to install SSH. I compared the config files to the Mac and didn't see any huge differences. There weren't any user keys, so I generated one, but it makes no difference. It's also wide open :shock: from the WiFi connection too.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 27 2004, 04:30 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



That's strange. I run ssh and have to provide a password everytime. I'd guess that there's a config file somewhere on your Z which is set to allow logins via ssh without a password.

Just checking - You said that you've set passwords for both root and zaurus, using passwd I presume?

Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tumnus
post Feb 27 2004, 04:32 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,176
Joined: 3-October 03
From: UK
Member No.: 547



Where did you get the ssh ipk from? I used this one: http://www.killefiz.de/zaurus/showdetail.php?app=1035 . I have to enter a password.

I have never had to edit /etc/securetty to get root telnet access though with the Sharp ROMs
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lardman
post Feb 27 2004, 04:41 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 4,515
Joined: 25-October 03
From: Bath, UK
Member No.: 464



QUOTE
I have never had to edit /etc/securetty to get root telnet access though with the Sharp ROMs


Really? What about with the 2.xx ROMs? I certainly had to edit it with the 2.35 ROM.


Si
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd October 2014 - 02:28 AM