OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pdaxqtrom 0.8.0, new stuff for this release
Meanie
post Jun 18 2006, 06:08 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



well, I am still working on the 0.8.0 and have decided to add a few more things before releasing it.

here's a list of stuff that is going to be added in this version:

updated gcc image (gcc 2.95.3, binutils 2.16, automake, autoconf, texinfo) which links against bundled glibc 2.2.2 (patched version for fegetenv/fesetenv)
added qt3 (3.3.6) libs and headers to zgcc image
new java image (already uploaded and can be used with current 0.7.9, includes both blackdown and jamvm/classpath as well as jedit)
new automounter-lite package (can be used with any version of pdaXqtrom and any Z model) - either install automounter-c3000 or automounter-lite, not both
updated pdaXqtrom-install.sh script so it can find java, openoffice and dictionaries images as well
added java plugin for firefox (won't work unless you install the java and gcc image as well of course smile.gif
added gftp 2.0.18
added leafpad 0.7.9
added putty 0.58 (that took some work to get the window sizes right)
added ImageMagick 6.2.5 with X GUI (5.4.1)
added gyach 0.9.4 (yahoo client)
added gtkyahoo 0.18.2 (another yahoo client)
added multi-aterm 0.2.1
added denemo 0.5.3 (without lilypond so maybe will be removed)
added mc 4.6.1
added epdfview 0.1.2
added gpaint2 0.4.3
added smsessy 0.1.1 (need more work, no bluetooth support yet...)
added gpsdrive 2.10 (seems to load and display maps correctly, but don't have a GPS unit to test with)
added gpe-gallery 0.97

apps added to the experimental feed (not part of the apps image, need to be installed manually):

gpe-edit 0.13
gpe-word 0.2
gpe-filemanager 0.23
gpe-soundbite 1.0.6
gnokii (compiled but not tested yet)

This post has been edited by Meanie: Jul 10 2006, 08:25 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daniel3000
post Jun 19 2006, 01:29 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



Hi Meanie,

is there a way to leave gaim out of the basic pdaxqtrom installation?
The last installation of pdaxqtrom prepared some links (/usr/lib/gaim IIRC) which prevented the QTopia-Gaim to be installed.
I could not delete these links. the cleanup script didn't delete them and root could not delete them either,
only a mv /usr/lib/gaim /usr/lib/gaimold
worked.

Thanks for all your work.
I'll soon get my second C3100 which I'll use as a testing platform fpr pdaxqtrom, maybe pdaxrom later, and other interesting but slightly dangerous software ;-)

daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jun 19 2006, 02:45 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(daniel3000 @ Jun 19 2006, 07:29 PM)
Hi Meanie,

is there a way to leave gaim out of the basic pdaxqtrom installation?
The last installation of pdaxqtrom prepared some links (/usr/lib/gaim IIRC) which prevented the QTopia-Gaim to be installed.
I could not delete these links. the cleanup script didn't delete them and root could not delete them either,
only a mv /usr/lib/gaim /usr/lib/gaimold
worked.

Thanks for all your work.
I'll soon get my second C3100 which I'll use as a testing platform fpr pdaxqtrom, maybe pdaxrom later, and other interesting but slightly dangerous software ;-)

daniel
*


problem is, a lot of people want gaim to be on the image. i personally dont use gaim so i wouldn't care either way.

btw, the xqtcleanup scripts only cleans up things from the base image, the apps image is a separate thing. you normally remove all the links by using the Package Manager and simply uninstalling the pdaxtrom packages.

root should have been able to remove the link unless gaim was maybe running and holding a lock to the directory.

and if you already have gaim installed before installing pdaxqtrom, it should leave your existing gaim files alone. that's why for some people gimp complained about freetype2 being too old because they had an older version of it already installed and the installer left it alone.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daniel3000
post Jun 19 2006, 04:07 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



QUOTE(Meanie @ Jun 19 2006, 12:45 PM)
problem is, a lot of people want gaim to be on the image.  i personally dont use gaim so i wouldn't care either way.

btw, the xqtcleanup scripts only cleans up things from the base image, the apps image is a separate thing. you normally remove all the links by using the Package Manager and simply uninstalling the pdaxtrom packages.

root should have been able to remove the link unless gaim was maybe running and holding a lock to the directory.

and if you already have gaim installed before installing pdaxqtrom, it should leave your existing gaim files alone. that's why for some people gimp complained about freetype2 being too old because they had an older version of it already installed and the installer left it alone.
*


Hi Meanie,
What about a seperate gaim image or an installable IPK?
I had deinstalled all packages using the package manager, but these gaim links (and gconv IIRC) still existed.

Gaim was not running, so no lock on the file (except maybe an orphan lock, how to check for that and how to remove it?)

BTW: QT 3.3.5 under pdaxqtrom - do you mean a complete newer QTopia environment or only the QT libs, which make QT3-programs run?
Have you loooked into the libqt3 of Lutz in the KDEPIM/PI project on sourceforge?

daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Jun 19 2006, 05:28 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 682
Joined: 26-December 05
From: Rochdale, Lancashire
Member No.: 8,789



I'm quite interested in pdaxqtrom- few questions though

* Xqt was slug slow as I remember. Is pdaxqtrom any faster (without the embedded option)

* How well does Abiword work in the embedded mode? Is it fully useable without a window manager?

* Can I install the pdaxrom cups package and be able to print from my Z over the network?

* Reading the pdaxqtrom page I'm unsure as to whether I can install any unmodified pdaxrom package or if I will need to re-compile

* One of the best things about pdaxrom for me was being able to run SDL apps (like MAME and zpsx) under the console and having access to 320x240. Why is this not possible on Cacko or the Sharp ROM?

Thanks Meanie- you have been a HUGE help to the Z community!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jun 19 2006, 06:23 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(danboid @ Jun 19 2006, 11:28 PM)
I'm quite interested in pdaxqtrom- few questions though

* Xqt was slug slow as I remember. Is pdaxqtrom any faster (without the embedded option)

* How well does Abiword work in the embedded mode? Is it fully useable without a window manager?

* Can I install the pdaxrom cups package and be able to print from my Z over the network?

* Reading the pdaxqtrom page I'm unsure as to whether I can install any unmodified pdaxrom package or if I will need to re-compile

* One of the best things about pdaxrom for me was being able to run SDL apps (like MAME and zpsx) under the console and having access to 320x240. Why is this not possible on Cacko or the Sharp ROM?

Thanks Meanie- you have been a HUGE help to the Z community!
*


well if speed is the major concern for you then this is not for you. use pdaXrom natively if you want speed.
the main idea behind this is compatability with Sharp ROM (Cacko is more or less Sharp ROM in this regard).
i don't use embedded mode, it find it too restrictive because I use SCIM to input chinese and japanese so embedded mode is out for me. no window manager means no window resizing so if you get oversized dialog boxes, that's too bad. nothing I am gonna do about it. also, the keymapping will be wrong and no keyboard remapping in embedded mode either. any app that requires text input prolly isn't a good idea for embedded mode. xmms prolly is the only sensible app for embedded mode, but the Sharp MusicPlayer is good enuff for playing mp3s anyway.

you will need to recompile pdaXrom binaries unless they come from the special beta1 xqt feed or 1.0.x feeds, but you still might need to repackage the file structure...

and don't even try the SDL hell. there are many SDL libraries floating around for Sharp ROM and they all behave differently. pdaXrom uses a newer 1.2.9 SDL and is not compatible with the other Sharp SDLs which are mainly based on 1.2.5. So if you install the pdaXrom SDL, you might get the specially compiled pdaXrom apps working, but all your Sharp ROM apps depending on SDLs will be broken.

again, if you want speed and SDL stuff, run pdaXrom. Sharp ROM is not optimised for speed and anything running on Sharp ROM hence will suffer from that unless you compile the application statically with iwwmxt optimisation enabled (see mplayer, its been optimised and is fast but also look at its size and imagine all Z apps to be like that big or bigger) which you cannot do for applications that require dynamic library loading, ie anything that is not a single binary and uses libraries, eg. abiword, firefox, etc...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Jun 19 2006, 10:54 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



QUOTE(daniel3000 @ Jun 19 2006, 01:29 AM)
is there a way to leave gaim out of the basic pdaxqtrom installation?

How dare you, be considerate man. Some people use gaim.


Hey meanie, what about having Xqt unmount the swap on exit? What script can I add that to? My zaurus seems to get unstable when it uses swap for a long time.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Jun 19 2006, 10:59 PM
Post #8





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



QUOTE(xamindar @ Jun 19 2006, 10:54 PM)
QUOTE(daniel3000 @ Jun 19 2006, 01:29 AM)
is there a way to leave gaim out of the basic pdaxqtrom installation?

How dare you, be considerate man. Some people use gaim.


Hey meanie, what about having Xqt unmount the swap on exit? What script can I add that to? My zaurus seems to get unstable when it uses swap for a long time.
*




use the memory monitor to unmount it. I use gaim as well. laugh.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Jun 19 2006, 11:10 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



QUOTE(Cresho @ Jun 19 2006, 10:59 PM)
QUOTE(xamindar @ Jun 19 2006, 10:54 PM)

Hey meanie, what about having Xqt unmount the swap on exit?  What script can I add that to?  My zaurus seems to get unstable when it uses swap for a long time.
*



use the memory monitor to unmount it.
*



That's a different problem. The memory monitor doesn't have an option for the internal hard drive.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Jun 20 2006, 12:00 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 682
Joined: 26-December 05
From: Rochdale, Lancashire
Member No.: 8,789



QUOTE(Meanie @ Jun 20 2006, 02:23 AM)
the keymapping will be wrong and no keyboard remapping in embedded mode either. any app that requires text input prolly isn't a good idea for embedded mode. xmms prolly is the only sensible app for embedded mode, but the Sharp MusicPlayer is good enuff for playing mp3s anyway.


Oh no!

I'd just come on to ask about the keyboard mapping. I've only installed pdaxqtrom for Abiword and I'm disappointed to hear that I can't use it in embedded mode properly sad.gif

What do I have to add to the end of /home/zaurus/.xmodmaprc to have Fn+P produce a UK pound sterling sign? (he he! I haven't even bothered setting up this keyboard yet, hence the longhand currency denotation ;p )

I could only ever recommend kino2 to Sharp and Cacko rom users for a music player but I use both kino2 and zplayer for movies.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
daniel3000
post Jun 20 2006, 12:47 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,002
Joined: 28-April 05
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,027



QUOTE(xamindar @ Jun 20 2006, 08:54 AM)
QUOTE(daniel3000 @ Jun 19 2006, 01:29 AM)
is there a way to leave gaim out of the basic pdaxqtrom installation?

How dare you, be considerate man. Some people use gaim.
*



Was that meant offensive?

I know it is used by some people, I didn't mean to remove it completely but make an option for adding it, e.g. by a seperate image file or IPK :-)

daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Jun 20 2006, 12:56 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



QUOTE(daniel3000 @ Jun 20 2006, 12:47 AM)
QUOTE(xamindar @ Jun 20 2006, 08:54 AM)
QUOTE(daniel3000 @ Jun 19 2006, 01:29 AM)
is there a way to leave gaim out of the basic pdaxqtrom installation?

How dare you, be considerate man. Some people use gaim.
*



Was that meant offensive?

I know it is used by some people, I didn't mean to remove it completely but make an option for adding it, e.g. by a seperate image file or IPK :-)

daniel
*



No, I was just expressing my care for having gaim. biggrin.gif I should have added a few tongue.gif to that post.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Jun 20 2006, 09:37 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



I am not going to create multiple app images with different apps, way too much work for me. it is going to stay as it is, one big image with all the apps. if you dont like all the apps, then install individual apps you like or build your own custom app image. the tools and packages are all available for you to do yourself. ipktools ipk has all the required tools and the apps feed has all the ipks for all the apps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dinorex
post Jun 20 2006, 11:25 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 88
Joined: 20-February 06
From: Sydney
Member No.: 9,186



QUOTE(Meanie @ Jun 21 2006, 01:37 PM)
I am not going to create multiple app images with different apps, way too much work for me. it is going to stay as it is, one big image with all the apps. if you dont like all the apps, then install individual apps you like or build your own custom app image. the tools and packages are all available for you to do yourself. ipktools ipk has all the required tools and the apps feed has all the ipks for all the apps.
*

I already rest these 2 loop devices peacefully inside my Z and found that v. useful indeed (esp. the Project Planner is my favorite)

Thanks Meanie.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
omro
post Jun 30 2006, 11:23 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 798
Joined: 28-May 04
Member No.: 3,474



Just curious

Does you openoffice build that you made for x/qt run with pdaxqtrom?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2014 - 01:44 PM