OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> What Usb Hub For C1000?
wrc4
post Jul 14 2006, 03:32 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 114
Joined: 12-May 06
Member No.: 9,848



I found that I can attach a lot of USB devices to my ( NEW:) ) C1000 through a USB A host cable: A 2G USB thumb drive, a USB Bluetooth 2.0 dongle, and etc.

I wonder what voltage can C1000 provide to the USB devices--5V, or 3.3V?

I also realized that I will need a Powered USB HUB. I've got a little one that I bought a year ago at a very low price. It has a 5V AC Adaptor. Can I use it with C1000?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cal
post Jul 14 2006, 03:50 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 112
Joined: 29-August 05
Member No.: 7,981



I use a hub with mine all the time. I have never found one that didn't work. BTW, for most simple devices like mice and keyboards, you don't need a hub. Unless, of cource, you want to use more then one at once. I would like to see a battery powered hub though.

QUOTE(wrc4 @ Jul 14 2006, 07:32 PM)
I found that I can attach a lot of USB devices to my ( NEW:) ) C1000 through a USB A host cable: A 2G USB thumb drive, a USB Bluetooth 2.0 dongle, and etc.

I wonder what voltage can C1000 provide to the USB devices--5V, or 3.3V?

I also realized that I will need a Powered USB HUB. I've got a little one that I bought a year ago at a very low price. It has a 5V AC Adaptor. Can I use it with C1000?
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Jul 14 2006, 11:59 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



Heres a cool trick

grab one of these: http://www.targus.com/us/product_details.asp?sku=ACH63US
One of these: http://www.mobileplanet.com/product.asp?code=111526 (or any tiny adaptor you can find)

and do this: http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=13562 (last 4 pages hold the info you need)

basically you can put the hub where the microdrive sits in the c3x00 and cut the rim of the Z to get 2 full usb ports above the CF socket, you will have to remove 2 usb ports from one side and put the bluetooth adaptor in that general area sitting over the top of the usb board but with a bit of soldering it could look quite cool (BTW any one want to swap a c3000 no microdrive for a c1000? slight case damadge and am willing to make the 2nd CF slot acsesible if you need it)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Jul 15 2006, 12:57 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



Are there any good battery powered hubs?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wrc4
post Jul 15 2006, 01:46 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 114
Joined: 12-May 06
Member No.: 9,848



QUOTE(Da_Blitz @ Jul 14 2006, 11:59 PM)
Heres a cool trick

grab one of these: http://www.targus.com/us/product_details.asp?sku=ACH63US
One of these: http://www.mobileplanet.com/product.asp?code=111526 (or any tiny adaptor you can find)

and do this: http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showtopic=13562 (last 4 pages hold the info you need)

basically you can put the hub where the microdrive sits in the c3x00 and cut the rim of the Z to get 2 full usb ports above the CF socket, you will have to remove 2 usb ports from one side and put the bluetooth adaptor in that general area sitting over the top of the  usb board but with a bit of soldering it could look quite cool (BTW any one want to swap a c3000 no microdrive for a c1000? slight case damadge and am willing to make the 2nd CF slot acsesible if you need it)
*


Wow! That's the kind of HACK I like! But let my C1000 wear out a little bit before I cut some holes on it.

My goal is to fit Bluetooth and Perhaps WiFi in the empty area inside C1000. Now I have more options!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Jul 15 2006, 04:38 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



you are best off with a external battery so that you can power the Z as well when needed, i havent seen a battery powered hub
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pepilo
post Jul 15 2006, 12:58 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 2-December 04
From: Berlin, Germany
Member No.: 5,703



QUOTE(xamindar @ Jul 15 2006, 09:57 AM)
Are there any good battery powered hubs?
*


Yes, this one:

http://www.cyberpowersystems.com/CPH420MP.asp

Works good with my Z.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rickh
post Jul 15 2006, 04:58 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 143
Joined: 19-August 04
Member No.: 4,336



QUOTE(pepilo @ Jul 15 2006, 08:58 PM)
QUOTE(xamindar @ Jul 15 2006, 09:57 AM)
Are there any good battery powered hubs?
*


Yes, this one:

http://www.cyberpowersystems.com/CPH420MP.asp

Works good with my Z.
*


I have this and use it all the time. Good, solid hub. Batteries last for quite a while too.

R.
==
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 11:33 PM