OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Driver Needed For Cell Phone Internet Setup, on SL-C1000
Da_Blitz
post Aug 2 2006, 12:21 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



QUOTE
Installing an incompatible module has possibly screwed the OS.


this isnt windows, incompatable modules arent loaded unless you spcifically force them, and i belive that dosent even work, all you would have to do is remove the offending file

as for the tar.gz, you could give 7-zip a try or do a (on gnu tar) "tar xfz <the file>" otherwise you will have to gunzip <the file> then tar xf <the tar file left behind>

if i remeber correctlly the cxx00 pcmcia stuff is set up slightly diffrent

looking at the files the aerlink.conf should go into the a pcmcia config file and the other i am not entirly sure where it should go, guess we will need the post-install and pre-install files from the ipkg
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Aug 2 2006, 03:45 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Thanks, I'll give 7-zip a try.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Aug 25 2006, 12:15 PM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



Why are you people messing with tar.gz files on windows, masochism? I was going to ask why windows at all, but never mind that. Remember the Zaurus is a linux box. You can gunzip and tar xvf right there on the Zaurus. To avoid making a mess, I'd suggest you create a separate directory to take apart the ipk, make a copy of the ipk in that directory, renaming it tar.gz and then go at it:

mkdir Test
cp blah.ipk Test/blah.tar.gz
cd Test
gunzip blah.tar.gz
tar xvf blah.tar

You get the idea.

Felipe
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Aug 27 2006, 04:12 PM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



Ok, problem solved.
The installation ipk installs a file /etc/pcmcia/aerlink-serial.opts.
This file contains the following:
CODE
#!/bin/sh
#
# Device-specific options for the SDG AerLink NPC
#

if grep "SDG Systems AerLink NPC" $STAB >/dev/null
then
   SERIAL_OPTS="baud_base 460800"
fi

All I had to do was change the baud_base to 230400 which matches the baud set in my cell phone.

I hope this info helps someone else out who has a similar setup.

Doug
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 27 2006, 05:28 PM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



any pointers avaialble to go getting my winmobile 'o3 VOQ working as a modem over IR
(It has usb as well, if that helps, but I don't really know what's going on in the phone end of the usb. Works for ms activesync, etc..)?

I searched for awhile on the forums, and nothing seemed quite the thing.

trying on pdaXrom beta btw
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dougeeebear
post Aug 28 2006, 03:13 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 551
Joined: 8-July 04
From: Mid-South, USA
Member No.: 3,959



QUOTE(adf @ Aug 27 2006, 08:28 PM)
any pointers avaialble to go getting my winmobile 'o3 VOQ working as a modem over IR
*
I don't know if this would help with IR or not... I'm using Dial-up - PPP in my network setup for mine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Aug 30 2006, 05:41 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



in the settings pannel (last of the 3 tabs) check if there is a way to set it as a modem, otherwise it should be a program (go to the progrom files launcher) if there is nothing there then you can rip apart the o2 rom for one of the XDA's, have a look over at xda developers

if you need help just repost, i use to blow my own custom roms for the xda 2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Aug 30 2006, 08:32 AM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(Da_Blitz @ Aug 30 2006, 01:41 PM)
in the settings pannel (last of the 3 tabs) check if there is a way to set it as a modem, otherwise it should be a program (go to the progrom files launcher) if there is nothing there then you can rip apart the o2 rom for one of the XDA's, have a look over at xda developers

if you need help just repost, i use to blow my own custom roms for the xda 2
*

You lost me. The thing runs windows mobile 2003 1st edition. I see no modem setup in settings, though there are some posts on google suggesting that there is a windows modem driver aavialble for it. I'll poke around for some software on the phone end, but at the moment I suspect it is a matter of setting the phone ir to receive and sending the right string for the modem...then again i know next to nothing on this topic.
There is a "data connections" setting..it give me the option to define :

Internet connection (gprs)

Work connection (automatic)

WAP connection (automatic)

Secure wap connection (automatic)

() contains the current setting.

This stuff seem more like it is defining the phone's connection to the outside world, though, more than giving me an option to pass dtata to the Z...or am i looking at it the wrong way?


wtf is "change pin2" in security??





I haven't even begin to explore what the usb connector really is on the phone side smile.gif


thanks, btw
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 26th December 2014 - 04:17 AM