OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Socket Go Wi-fi! P500
charlesa
post Aug 2 2006, 01:54 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 89
Joined: 23-April 04
From: Thailand
Member No.: 2,967



Hi all -

I'm in the market for a new CF WiFi card. Does anyone have any experience with the Socket Go Wi-Fi! P500? Will it work in a Zaurus? I'm using Cacko 1.22 & 1.23.

http://www.socketstore.com/product.asp?sku=2850722
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Aug 2 2006, 04:28 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



if its 802.11b then there is a good chance it will work

check here to see if it works or update the entry if its not there http://www.oesf.org/index.php?title=Wireless_Card_Support
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
charlesa
post Aug 3 2006, 12:55 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 89
Joined: 23-April 04
From: Thailand
Member No.: 2,967



Thx. I'll give ot a go. Socket even provide a table of supported products for the Zaurii; always a good sign.

http://www.socketcom.com/ZaurusSharp.asp
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Aug 5 2006, 02:48 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



they forget to mention that if it works with one Z then it can be made to work with all the Z's
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jackburton
post Aug 23 2006, 10:08 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 23-March 04
From: Virginia
Member No.: 2,464



I tried it out on my C-3200 and it does not work. I'm not sure what driver it would use, either.

Any idea on how to determine the chipset?


QUOTE(Da_Blitz @ Aug 5 2006, 05:48 AM)
they forget to mention that if it works with one Z then it can be made to work with all the Z's
*
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnla
post Sep 15 2006, 08:32 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 15-August 06
From: NYC
Member No.: 10,804



I just got my Zaurus C1000 this week. And I love it. A big part of that was this forum providing a lot of answers and tips. Appreciation!

I'm also interested in gettin this card to work. Anyone on here able to?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Sep 16 2006, 11:53 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



have you done a search on the othero fourms, i remeber this card bieng mentioned
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnla
post Sep 18 2006, 06:28 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 15-August 06
From: NYC
Member No.: 10,804



Yea, I did a search and this is the thread I found! I have a sinking feeling that it's not supported which sucks being that I just paid $60 for it..
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Sep 18 2006, 08:31 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



well time to debug the problem:

type dmesg > temp_file
then plug the card in
then dmesg > temp_file2

copy those to your pc and post the bit that differs
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
johnla
post Sep 19 2006, 07:54 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 29
Joined: 15-August 06
From: NYC
Member No.: 10,804



Thanks for taking the time!

I attached the temp files and the 'diff temp_file1 temp_file2' results in the diff_res.txt file.

The file is kind of long so i won't paste the whole thing. But here are the highlights:

1,80c1,107
< get RID fd51 (len=6) - no PRI f/w
< wifi0: cannot get RID fd51 (len=6) - no PRI f/w
........ REPEATS ..........
< wifi0: cannot get RID fd51 (len=6) - no PRI f/w
---
> ODE_ACCESS failed (res=-110, rid=fd51, len=6)
> wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue: cmd reg was busy for 5000 usec
> wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue - timeout - reg=0x8888
> wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: entry still in list? (entry=c388e2e0, type=0, res=-1)
> wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: interrupted; err=-110
> wifi0: hfa384x_get_rid: CMDCODE_ACCESS failed (res=-110, rid=fd51, len=6)
> wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue: cmd reg was busy for 5000 usec
> wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue - timeout - reg=0x8888
> hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_CARD_REMOVAL
> wifi0: card already removed or not configured during shutdown
> pxa_pcmcia_init(0)
> hostap_crypt: unregistered algorithm 'WEP'
> hostap_cs: Driver unloaded
> hostap_crypt: unregistered algorithm 'NULL' (deinit)
97,102d123
< hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_PM_RESUME
< hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_CARD_RESET
< wifi0: __hfa384x_cmd_no_wait(6) - timeout - reg=0xf940
< hostap_cs: first command failed - assuming card does not have primary firmware
< new hp status=0
< hostap_cs: assuming no Primary image in flash - card initialization not completed
107c128
< wifi0: cannot get RID fd51 (len=6) - no PRI f/w
---
> new hp status=0
118,126d138
< wifi0: cannot get RID fd51 (len=6) - no PRI f/w
< hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_PM_SUSPEND
< hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_RESET_PHYSICAL
< wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue: cmd reg was busy for 5000 usec
< wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue - timeout - reg=0xf940
> wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: entry still in list? (entry=c388e2e0, type=0, res=-1)
> wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: interrupted; err=-110
> wifi0: hfa384x_get_rid: CMDCODE_ACCESS failed (res=-110, rid=fd51, len=6)
> wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue: cmd reg was busy for 5000 usec
> wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue - timeout - reg=0x8888
........ REPEATS ............
> wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: entry still in list? (entry=c388e2e0, type=0, res=-1)
> wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: interrupted; err=-110
> wifi0: hfa384x_get_rid: CMDCODE_ACCESS failed (res=-110, rid=fd51, len=6)
> hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_CARD_REMOVAL
> wifi0: card already removed or not configured during shutdown
> pxa_pcmcia_init(0)
> hostap_crypt: unregistered algorithm 'WEP'
> hostap_cs: Driver unloaded
> hostap_crypt: unregistered algorithm 'NULL' (deinit)
97,102d123
< hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_PM_RESUME
< hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_CARD_RESET
< wifi0: __hfa384x_cmd_no_wait(6) - timeout - reg=0xf940
< hostap_cs: first command failed - assuming card does not have primary firmware
< new hp status=0
< hostap_cs: assuming no Primary image in flash - card initialization not completed
107c128
< wifi0: cannot get RID fd51 (len=6) - no PRI f/w
---
> new hp status=0
118,126d138
< wifi0: cannot get RID fd51 (len=6) - no PRI f/w
< hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_PM_SUSPEND
< hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_RESET_PHYSICAL
< wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue: cmd reg was busy for 5000 usec
< wifi0: hfa384x_cmd_issue - timeout - reg=0xf940
< wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: entry still in list? (entry=c38ebf60, type=0, res=-1)
< wifi0: hfa384x_cmd: interrupted; err=-110
< hostap_cs: Shutdown failed
< pxa_pcmcia_suspend(0)
135,168d146
< wifi0: cannot get RID fd51 (len=6) - no PRI f/w
............ REPEATS ..............
< wifi0: cannot get RID fd51 (len=6) - no PRI f/w
< hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_CARD_REMOVAL
< wifi0: card already removed or not configured during shutdown
< pxa_pcmcia_init(0)
< wifi0: cannot get RID fd51 (len=6) - no PRI f/w
< hostap_crypt: unregistered algorithm 'WEP'
< hostap_cs: Driver unloaded
< hostap_crypt: unregistered algorithm 'NULL' (deinit)


I hope that's what you needed and I did that right. Let me know if there's anything else.

Thanks again!
Attached File(s)
Attached File  diff_res.txt ( 12.57K ) Number of downloads: 25
Attached File  temp_file1.txt ( 7.51K ) Number of downloads: 26
Attached File  temp_file2.txt ( 7.58K ) Number of downloads: 39
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Da_Blitz
post Sep 21 2006, 10:30 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,565
Joined: 7-April 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,806



< hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_PM_RESUME
< hostap_cs: CS_EVENT_CARD_RESET
< wifi0: __hfa384x_cmd_no_wait(6) - timeout - reg=0xf940
< hostap_cs: first command failed - assuming card does not have primary firmware
< new hp status=0
< hostap_cs: assuming no Primary image in flash - card initialization not completed
107c128
< wifi0: cannot get RID fd51 (len=6) - no PRI f/w

note how it mentions there is no primary firmware, ethire it has to be loaded or somthing else

if you can see if you can get it swapped as it sounds like writing a script to load the firmware is somthing you dont want to do
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th September 2014 - 05:30 PM