OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mounting w/ smbmount
binaryx
post Mar 1 2004, 04:12 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 30-December 03
Member No.: 1,310



Hello!
I'm just curious about how I'd go about mounting on a OS X system w/ my SL-5500. I'm aware that OSX runs unix in the background, so I'm assuming it's rather similar to mounting onto a linux machine. Anyhow, has anyone done this and possibly give me some direction?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Mar 2 2004, 03:02 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE
Hello! 
  I'm just curious about how I'd go about mounting on a OS X system w/ my SL-5500.  I'm aware that OSX runs unix in the background, so I'm assuming it's rather similar to mounting onto a linux machine.  Anyhow, has anyone done this and possibly give me some direction?


I have not tried to mount an OS X drive on the Zaurus - but the other way works pretty well as there is an integrated SMB server in the Zaurus in ROM 3.10. So you need at least that Sharp ROM (ROM 2.36 or 2.38 won't work).

To mount:
1. install the USB driver on the Mac (look at ZUG HowTos)
2. in Finder select "Open Sever"
3. type "smb://zaurus" (this is valid for the SL-5500)
4. select any user name and leave password open
5. after confiming some other windows, MacOS X will mount the Zaurus - but it is NOT the root directory of the Zaurus but you can add a symbolic link to the directory that is mounted (I think it is /home/samba)

But be aware about some issues: if either the Zaurus or a Powerbook goes to sleep mode - the connection will be lost and Finder does not properly unmount.

You can not copy/create links/symblic links on the mounted device through the Finder.

I have experienced an error message that there is not enough room on a mounted SD flash card - but only for one specific file! Other files, I could easily copy to the SD. And through FTP I also could copy that file.

-- hns
http://www.dsitri.de/wiki.php?page=DigitalCompanion
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TJRCHKA
post Apr 8 2004, 01:28 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 3-April 04
Member No.: 2,640



I have OS X 10.3.3 and I installed the driver, I put my SL-5600 in the cradle go to "Connect to Server" I put in smb://zaurus...and I get back

..."The finder cannot complete the operatin because some data in "smb://zaurus" could not be read or written. (Error code -36)."...

I just got the 5600, I tried it with the original ROM and the same thing happened.
Any ideas on what's up, or what to do?
I would appreciate it, thanks smile.gif





SL-5600 (PXA250) Zaurus ROM 1.32 w/ Special Kernel v 1.3
iBook 600mhz G3
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
twocargar
post Apr 8 2004, 06:33 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 14-August 03
From: Manchester, NH
Member No.: 169



I've actually had better luck using the USB connection to mount my SD card on the desktop. See if this helps: http://zaurususergroup.com/index.php?name=...iewtopic&t=2238

TCG
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
g00gander
post Apr 8 2004, 08:12 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,561



I get the same error with my 5600 and my PowerBook. Try this. On your Zaurus go to Settings>PC Link>now change the connection type to USB - TCP/IP (advanced). Click OK. Now when you try to mount the Zaurus use it's IP instead. It should mount without a problem.

I am having trouble using Zaurus Mac Sync. It will not connect to my Z. I have installed the USB driver and followed the directions. Is it because I am running ROM Version 1.0? I am thinking about changing the Version. Any suggestions on what ROM I should use for a stock SL-5600 w/ PXA250?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ganoe
post Apr 8 2004, 10:46 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 31-January 04
Member No.: 1,607



I've never been able to use smb://zaurus/ and have always needed to use the Zaurus' IP (smb://192.168.129.201/ by default) instead. Just use the USB driver from here:
http://www.lucid-cake.net/osx_zaurus_usb/index_en.html
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Apr 8 2004, 02:13 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE
I've never been able to use smb://zaurus/ and have always needed to use the Zaurus' IP (smb://192.168.129.201/ by default) instead.

The name to use in smb:// might be different for different Zaurus models. Just try:

CODE
$ findsmb



IP ADDR         NETBIOS NAME   WORKGROUP/OS/VERSION

---------------------------------------------------------------------

192.168.129.201 ZAURUS         [WORKGROUP] [Unix] [Samba 2.0.7-ja-2.2]


That's what I get on a SL-5500G with ROM 3.10. The NETBIOS name is the one to be used after the smb://

We might collect a table and put that to the Zaurus HowTos (Mac Connectivity).

And something to note. I think the (old) Sharp ROM 2.x series does have a FTP server instead of a Samba server in ROM 3.x.

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dzins
post Apr 12 2004, 11:39 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,590



QUOTE
I get the same error with my 5600 and my PowerBook. Try this. On your Zaurus go to Settings>PC Link>now change the connection type to USB - TCP/IP (advanced). Click OK. Now when you try to mount the Zaurus use it's IP instead. It should mount without a problem. 

I am having trouble using Zaurus Mac Sync. It will not connect to my Z. I have installed the USB driver and followed the directions. Is it because I am running ROM Version 1.0? I am thinking about changing the Version. Any suggestions on what ROM I should use for a stock SL-5600 w/ PXA250?


Zaurus Mac Sync relies on ftp to connect to the zaurus. I don't know anything about the SL-5600, but if it is the same has the 3.x roms, it does not run an ftp server. The way I made this work for me was to download and run an ftp server on the zaurus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dzins
post Apr 12 2004, 11:44 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,590



QUOTE
QUOTE
I get the same error with my 5600 and my PowerBook. Try this. On your Zaurus go to Settings>PC Link>now change the connection type to USB - TCP/IP (advanced). Click OK. Now when you try to mount the Zaurus use it's IP instead. It should mount without a problem. 

I am having trouble using Zaurus Mac Sync. It will not connect to my Z. I have installed the USB driver and followed the directions. Is it because I am running ROM Version 1.0? I am thinking about changing the Version. Any suggestions on what ROM I should use for a stock SL-5600 w/ PXA250?


Zaurus Mac Sync relies on ftp to connect to the zaurus. I don't know anything about the SL-5600, but if it is the same has the 3.x roms, it does not run an ftp server. The way I made this work for me was to download and run an ftp server on the zaurus.


Something else to note, if the 5600 uses the new address book format, Zaurus Mac Sync will not work. I am using theKompany address book on a 5500 with theKompany ROM.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
freizugheit
post Apr 12 2004, 07:05 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 7-November 03
Member No.: 811



ganoe,

Please check /etc/hosts whether zaurus hostname and IP is listed there if you want to smb with the name.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 11:46 PM