OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Google Maps For Qpegps, Web aplication to download maps
ztep
post Aug 24 2006, 12:29 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 30-March 05
Member No.: 6,751



Hi,
I have created a web page that allows the generation of a set a of images covering a wide map area:

http://gtm.tel.uva.es/villa/maps/dmap.htm

After setting the map limits, zoom and images properties, the page generates a set of images for their manual download (links) or for automatic download with wget.
The page also generate de map description lines to add to maps.tx file.

Now, I'm analyzing qpeGPS code in order to modify it to:
- First: use maps made up of a set of images.
- Second: import and show routes in GPS mode
- Third (in a far future): use vector maps for automatic route generation.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post Aug 24 2006, 07:37 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



Thats very cool! (but I cant get qpegps run on my GPE/oz)
Can you make a script for gpsdrive also?

Thnx
Tasos
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bolbit
post Aug 24 2006, 02:54 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 6-September 05
From: Aix en Provence/Paris
Member No.: 8,048



Hi, your script/webpage is realy great. I was dreaming of it and you done it. i have just used the maps for a trip today. everything worked great.
just an info : if you put a none square image (ie 1200x960), you will get a square image (1200x1200) with maps.txt data with the first data (1200x960) . so it is needed to use same y and x for the images.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Aug 24 2006, 04:19 PM
Post #4





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



ohh my fucken......not gona say it.

that is so fucken awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SHIT! gona bookmark it in my zaurus so i can use my bluetooth phone to zaurus to view the stuff.


-------------------------------------

on another note....what happened to the cencorship?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
matthis
post Aug 24 2006, 10:25 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 12-February 06
From: Tokyo
Member No.: 9,124



This is really awesome, thank you so much!! I would need some help for settings:
I am using sl-c1000, so the screen reso is 640x480.
With 1000x1000 images and 5% overlap, I get black borders (non-continuous map), and moving is quite slow... Could you tell me what are the best size/overlap settings?
Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ztep
post Aug 25 2006, 02:13 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 30-March 05
Member No.: 6,751



Thanks to all for your encouraging words.
To be honest I must said tha this page is based on a previous work. You can go to qpeGPS maps forum (https://sourceforge.net/forum/forum.php?thr...forum_id=206322) to read about this previous work.

I have changed the url (sorry for the inconvenience), the new url is:

http://gtm.tel.uva.es/ztep/maps/dmap.htm

Now the replies:
QUOTE(DaemonsGR @ Aug 24 2006, 05:37 PM)
Thats very cool! (but I cant get qpegps run on my GPE/oz)
Can you make a script for gpsdrive also?


Added support for GpsDrive output. I don't know if it will works properly because GpsDrive seems to use linear projection and Google Maps uses mercator projection.
Test it and tell me how it works.

QUOTE(bolbit @ Aug 25 2006, 12:54 AM)
just an info : if you put a none square image (ie 1200x960), you will get a square image (1200x1200) with maps.txt data with the first data (1200x960) . so it is needed  to use same y and x for the images.


Thanks, it was a little bug corrected in the new version.

QUOTE(matthis @ Aug 25 2006, 08:25 AM)
With 1000x1000 images and 5% overlap, I get black borders (non-continuous map), and moving is quite slow... Could you tell me what are the best size/overlap settings?


This is a problem with gpeGPS. It doesn't support maps that are composed on a set several images, so it treat each image as a single map and when you go out of a map it swith o another map/image.
I have used a 25 % overlap to avoid this black borders.

As I said in the first message of this topic, I will try to modify qpeGPS to support composed maps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post Aug 25 2006, 07:50 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



Firstly, thanks for the "gpsdrive" option.
But, did anyone managed to you the maps from the script to gpsdrive?
I made a map on west greece(20 gifs in .gpsdrive dir) and fix the map_koord.txt but it keeps posting the low-res world map even in MAX zoom!

Map names are map_att-pel-00xx.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ztep
post Aug 29 2006, 12:23 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 30-March 05
Member No.: 6,751



QUOTE(DaemonsGR @ Aug 25 2006, 05:50 PM)
Firstly, thanks for the "gpsdrive" option.
But, did anyone managed to you the maps from the script to gpsdrive?
I made a map on west greece(20 gifs in .gpsdrive dir) and fix the map_koord.txt but it keeps posting the low-res world map even in MAX zoom!

Map names are map_att-pel-00xx.gif


I don't know what could be the problem. I have downloaded maps with 2 detail levels and I have used them with the gpsDrive version that cames with khoppix 5.0 live DVD (on a desktop).
gpsDrive recognized the maps and I could swith from a detail level to other with the slider at the bottom of gpsdrive screen.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bolbit
post Aug 29 2006, 02:26 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 111
Joined: 6-September 05
From: Aix en Provence/Paris
Member No.: 8,048



Thanks for your works !
About the overlap, i think that you need 640 pixel horizontal and 480 pixel vertical overlap in each direction.
For example, it does :
1260*960 with 50% overlap
2000*1500 with 32% overlap
i will try these setting and confirm later.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post Aug 29 2006, 11:20 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



1000 thnx. I had done a spelling error tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ztep
post Aug 30 2006, 08:43 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 80
Joined: 30-March 05
Member No.: 6,751



QUOTE(bolbit @ Aug 29 2006, 12:26 PM)
Thanks for your works !
About the overlap, i think that you need 640 pixel horizontal and 480 pixel vertical overlap in each direction.
For example, it does :
1260*960 with 50% overlap
2000*1500 with 32% overlap
i will try these setting and confirm later.


The algoritm used by qpeGPS to search maps limits the search to 20 file each screen update. So, you can see black borders although you use a big overlap, especially with high detail maps, high speed (car) and if there is a lot of maps.

Now I'm working with the map management to solve this problem using composed maps.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
DaemonsGR
post Dec 1 2006, 06:34 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 237
Joined: 28-December 05
Member No.: 8,801



Hello,
Can you add Hybrid google maps on the script?

BTW maps worked perfect for me (OZ/gpe and gpsdrive)

Thnx
Tasos
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bam
post Dec 4 2006, 07:03 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 1,213
Joined: 9-June 05
From: Gobi Desert, Mongolia
Member No.: 7,306



this is nice where do I donate? has anyone gotten a gps enabled phone to send the data to a z or get the z to "get' the gps data from an enabled phone?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bane
post Dec 8 2006, 11:29 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 3-July 04
From: Portland, Oregon
Member No.: 3,903



Hi,

Are there any pre-generated map packages available out there?

Or perhaps the option to set a single central point and designate a radius around that point to capture map data. I hate the hassle involved in aquiring maps. I would honestly buy maps if there were some available.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 29th July 2014 - 12:57 PM