OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Psx4zaurus Now Supports Cacko! :), Playstation emulator for Cacko inside...
zodttd
post Oct 11 2006, 07:44 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 14-January 06
Member No.: 8,925



A new build of psx4zaurus has been made:

For downloads and discussion, please use:
http://www.psx4all.net/

New in build 4:
- Improved performance for games such as Tekken.
- Now includes both a CACKO build and a PDAXROM build.

pdaXrom blits to the screen much faster than Cacko 1.23 with BVDD SDL. And with pdaXrom's overclocking ability it outpaces Cacko. But Cacko is faster clock-for-clock.

Cacko users now have psx4zaurus though! Try it out and let me know how it goes. smile.gif

I'd really appreciate at least a "hello" in the psx4all Zaurus forums. It will give me a feel for whether Cacko users really want this project.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
6 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 14)
Jon_J
post Oct 11 2006, 09:56 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I don't have any games yet, can I just test the interface before I find some games to load?

Where do I find "scph1001.bin BIOS file"?

Thank you,
Jon
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
desertrat
post Oct 11 2006, 10:20 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 742
Joined: 15-October 05
From: Gulag, Siberia
Member No.: 8,322



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Oct 12 2006, 05:56 AM)
I don't have any games yet, can I just test the interface before I find some games to load?

Yes, just remember that the 'x' key is for "action", ie move the pointer to your required option then press 'x'. That had me stumped for a while, I tried the obvious keys - enter, space, ok, then I went back to an older version of psx4zaurus and it still "didn't work", then I systematically tried every key on the keyboard rolleyes.gif


QUOTE
Where do I find "scph1001.bin BIOS file"?

google!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Oct 11 2006, 10:25 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



testing the interface, running psx4all, just froze up.
I ran it in the console
removing battery now..
placed scph1001.bin in proper dir, and it still locks up my Z.
Does this have to be installed to an ext2 volume?
I placed the directory of files on my FAT formatted /hdd3, and symlinked psx4all to my /bin directory.
What are the library requirements?
I have these libs installed from Chesho's neogeoturbogrfx-genesis-nes-snes emulator.

libmad_0.15.0b-zports-0_arm.ipk
libSDL_1.2.6-zports-5_arm.ipk
libSDL-mixer_1.2.6-zports-0_arm.ipk
libpng12_1.2.8-0_arm.ipk (actually i have libpng3_1.2.4-1)
libSDL-image_1.2.5cvs-1_arm.ipk

Running it from Qtopia. (I made a desktop icon for it) It locked up this time also.
Running from the console gives no error messages.
Does it need an actual game iso in it to prevent it from locking up?

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Oct 11 2006, 11:06 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zodttd
post Oct 12 2006, 05:05 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 14-January 06
Member No.: 8,925



The interface is pretty much a black background / white text menu. The only things that can be done within the interface is set some graphic settings and turn the sound option on or off. smile.gif

The reason it could be locking up for you is that the Cacko build of psx4zaurus was built with a SDL version of 1.2.5. You might need to install libSDL-1.2.5 bvdd from the official Cacko feed to get things working right.

The BIOS is loaded when a game is selected.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Oct 12 2006, 11:18 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I already have libSDL-1.2.5 bvdd installed (libsdl_1.2.5-bvdd-07-2_arm.ipk)
I didn't see it last night, but it IS installed.
When it locks up in the console, it says:
Display size = 480x640

Then a 1/8 inch horizontal band of "snow" (like on a television) appears in the upper third of the screen.
It is now locked up and the touchscreen doesn't respond.
None of the keyboard buttons respond, and the cancel button doesn't respond.
I either have to remove the battery and reboot, or open the battery compartment and click the reset switch, then reboot.

I can try to debug this, but I'm not sure if I want to do a "Fresh" re-flash of Cacko as I have about 6 months of configuring and tweaking on my Cacko Lite setup.
I do have current backups though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Oct 12 2006, 05:51 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Has anyone been able to use the link zodttd posted in first post, today?
Seems it's been dead all day
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zodttd
post Oct 12 2006, 08:50 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 188
Joined: 14-January 06
Member No.: 8,925



Ouch, site went down. It should be back up shortly.
I never encountered that error you're having. I've only been able to test the Cacko build on a Zaurus C1000 using Cacko 1.23 Full. It should be compatible though...odd! Let me know if you made any progress getting it to work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Oct 12 2006, 09:29 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I'm posting here cause I cannot access the above site.
I get a variation of the above "snow" or "noise" when launching various turbo-nes-snes-genesis-neogeo games in that emulator, but it usually does that for a second or two, then the game comes up. The video noise I see in these instances is much wider and is in color.
The video noise I get when trying to launch psx4all is black & white.
Zodttd, can you give a detailed step by step instruction as to how you have installed it onto your C1000?
I mentioned I placed the folder with all it's contents on my FAT /hdd3 and symlinked psx4all_cacko to my /home/QtPalmtop/bin/ folder.
When I run it from the console or from an Icon in Qtopia, I get the lockup.
I tried something else last night also.
I CD'd to /hdd3/Documents/application/psx4all_build4/psx4zaurus/psx4zaurus/
Then I tried to run psx4all_cacko from there, and I get "command not found"
Do I need the pdaxrom files and folder in there?
I was thinking I would reduce the length of the path by just putting /psx4zaurus/ in my Documents folder,
and making a new symlink of psx4all_cacko to ~/bin/
EDIT: I reduced the path to /hdd3/Documents/psx4zaurus/ and made a new symlink.
It still has the same lockup.
I tried to get a picture of the error with my lousy Palm camera, but it was unreadable sad.gif
EDIT2: After reducing the path length, I CD'd to /hdd3/Documents/psx4zaurus/ and tried to launch psx4all_cacko. This time something happened, I didn't get the "command not found" as I did with the longer path, but psx4all_cacko tried to launch, but locked up again with the same video noise as described in my above post.

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Oct 12 2006, 09:49 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Oct 12 2006, 09:56 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



It Works!!
WOW! something so simple prevented it from working.
I put a checkmark in "Display with magnified screen" in the icon's properties and it launched into the settings screen. smile.gif
So don't launch this from the console, make an icon in Qtopia and launch it with magnified screen. biggrin.gif
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MY MODIFIED INSTALL INSTRUCTIONS
On a C3100 in Cacko follow instructions in readme, but with below modifications.
1. Place /psx4zaurus/ folder (with necessory contents) in /hdd3/Documents/
(This allows a short path to executable)
I just modified step one, I forgot to mention that it goes on /hdd3 (updated 10-15-06)
2. Symlink "psx4all_cacko" to /home/QtPalmtop/bin/
3. Create an icon in Qtopia for the symlink.
4. Once icon is created, tap & hold icon and make sure "Display with magnified screen" is checkmarked.
5. Do not run the emulator from the console, unless you know a command to "Display with magnified screen" when launched.
Updated install:
The emulator cannot find the BIOS file if it is on the FAT formatted /hdd3
I placed a copy of scph1001.bin in /home/zaurus
The emulator now runs and opens games with "Load Success"

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Oct 15 2006, 08:34 AM
Attached File(s)
Attached File  scrn001.jpg ( 9.84K ) Number of downloads: 157
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Cresho
post Oct 12 2006, 10:31 PM
Post #11





Group: Moderators
Posts: 1,619
Joined: 29-October 03
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 809



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Oct 12 2006, 09:56 PM)
It Works!!
WOW! something so simple prevented it from working.
I put a checkmark in "Display with magnified screen" in the icon's properties and it launched into the settings screen. smile.gif
So don't launch this from the console, make an icon in Qtopia and launch it with magnified screen. biggrin.gif
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
MY MODIFIED INSTALL INSTRUCTIONS
On a C3100 in Cacko follow instructions in readme, but with below modifications.
1. Place /psx4zaurus/ folder (with necessory contents) in Documents folder. (This allows a short path to executable)
2. Symlink "psx4all_cacko" to /home/QtPalmtop/bin/
3. Create an icon in Qtopia for the symlink.
4. Once icon is created, tap & hold icon and make sure "Display with magnified screen" is checkmarked.
5. Do not run the emulator from the console, unless you know a command to "Display with magnified screen" when launched.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
*



what the fak is a psx?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
law
post Oct 12 2006, 10:34 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 23-June 04
Member No.: 3,796



PlayStation, known early in development as the PlayStation EXperimental

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStation

smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Oct 13 2006, 12:50 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Having probs navagating the menu.
I only find "Load game" > "Load selected game"
Is this the right selection? I don't have a game selected yet. I do have ffvi in the games_psx folder.
Anyway, when I use that selection, it starts in /home/zaurus/
I navagate to /hdd3/ and it drops me to the desktop.
Sometimes it will let me navagate to /hdd3/Documents/psx4zaurus/games_psx/
But it doesn't show any files in there.
I have ffvi.mdf in there, but it doesnt show up.
I renamed it to ffvi.iso and it won't show up.
The only option in THAT folder is two periods (..)
I read in the pdaxrom thread that I should rename scph1001.bin to all caps.
http://www.oesf.org/forums/index.php?showt...ndpost&p=115653
I tried that in my filemanager and in the console, but that file cannot be renamed.
I renamed it in Windows, but it turns to lowercase on my Zaurus.
I'm going to try rebooting and see if this clears up..

EDIT: I read at another board that the emulator only recognizes these extensions.
Z, .ZNX, and .BIN files.
http://www.gp32x.com/board/index.php?showtopic=22737&st=0
I got it to the point where it tries to load my game now.
It gives an error just before droping to the desktop, it's hard to read as it skips off fast.
Error is: Handling HLS BIOS enbios /home/zaurus/scph1001.bin Enab
The error message runs off the screen on both left and right sides

I may have a problem with the actual game file.
Gotta do more research, it may have been converted to the wrong format before it was converted to RAW..

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Oct 13 2006, 02:58 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
danboid
post Oct 13 2006, 02:32 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 682
Joined: 26-December 05
From: Rochdale, Lancashire
Member No.: 8,789



Jon_J:

Use the cdrdao command I posted earlier. You can use it under Linux and Windows and I know for a fact that it produces working images. Whether or not your game will actually run is another question.

ZodTTD:

The psx4all site is still down unfortunately, these are the big unanswered questions about psx4all_cacko:

1- When ZodTTD made this first cacko build, he didn't know about the 'raw console' you can access under Cacko by pushing the '/' key when it says 'Waiting' on boot up. Running zpsx under the raw console, in QVGA mode, should give identical performance under cacko as compared to running it under pdaX b3 console, if it is possible to do this. Surely it is? It might require the Tetsu kernel.

2- Are USB joypads supported?

Can't wait to try it out myself! blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Oct 13 2006, 03:00 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



danboid, the file is a *.mdf file. I got it off a ng
I used isobuster to try to convert it.
Does cdrdao work with files/images?

I extracted xduplicator.exe into the cdrdao directory as the readme says.
Clicking it brings up windows error dialog, then it needs to close.

Cacko has the Tetsu kernel.

My gravis gamepad is recognized in devices, but it is a gameport type plugged into a gameport to USB switch.

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Oct 13 2006, 03:11 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

6 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd October 2014 - 05:49 AM