OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Opie2, Implementation
Ferret-Simpson
post Jan 6 2007, 06:39 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 573
Joined: 8-June 05
Member No.: 7,295



What's the plan, is there a plan?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post May 10 2007, 12:59 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



doesn't seem to be, no mention of opie on angstrom site.

can't see why they can't just build qtopia4. OK, so it's not totally open, but hey, it beats having to write it all yourself, huh?

if qt(opia)4 were available in a stable form on Zaurus, then maybe just maybe Opera people could be persuaded to do a port?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpotter
post Jun 2 2007, 12:34 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 451
Joined: 27-November 03
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 1,001



QUOTE(speculatrix @ May 11 2007, 06:59 AM)
doesn't seem to be, no mention of opie on angstrom site.

can't see why they can't just build qtopia4. OK, so it's not totally open, but hey, it beats having to write it all yourself, huh?

if qt(opia)4 were available in a stable form on Zaurus, then maybe just maybe Opera people could be persuaded to do a port?
*


Opera already runs in Qtopia 4, it's just not available.
smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jun 2 2007, 11:37 AM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(lpotter @ Jun 2 2007, 09:34 AM)
Opera already runs in Qtopia 4, it's just not available.
smile.gif
*


Hey, Mr Potter, hope you're well, long time no see.

How would we go about making Opera available then? Are you permitted to reveal who has it running? My guess is that it's Nokia, a version for the N800.

Any chance of a qtopia4 ROM based on Angstrom.. or an IPK to run on top of the base angstrom-console variant?

thanks
Paul
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpotter
post Jun 2 2007, 12:01 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 451
Joined: 27-November 03
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 1,001



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Jun 3 2007, 05:37 AM)
QUOTE(lpotter @ Jun 2 2007, 09:34 AM)
Opera already runs in Qtopia 4, it's just not available.
smile.gif
*


Hey, Mr Potter, hope you're well, long time no see.

How would we go about making Opera available then? Are you permitted to reveal who has it running? My guess is that it's Nokia, a version for the N800.

Greenphone smile.gif
Not sure if partner's stuff will get released.

QUOTE
Any chance of a qtopia4 ROM based on Angstrom.. or an IPK to run on top of the base angstrom-console variant?

thanks
Paul
*


I will work on getting qtopia 4 into oe. Right now it's just manually copying the Qtopia file system onto the machine.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jun 2 2007, 12:38 PM
Post #6





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(lpotter @ Jun 2 2007, 09:01 PM)
I will work on getting qtopia 4 into oe. Right now it's just manually copying the Qtopia file system onto the machine.
*


that'd be great!


now, if you want to be a real miracle worker, just persuade Sharp to build all their proprietary applications against qtopia4 and we're all very happy. blink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Jun 2 2007, 12:45 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



Hi, Potter. Since you are back, would you mind telling me how get a shell on a Mylo?
Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpotter
post Jun 2 2007, 11:54 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 451
Joined: 27-November 03
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 1,001



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Jun 3 2007, 06:38 AM)
QUOTE(lpotter @ Jun 2 2007, 09:01 PM)
I will work on getting qtopia 4 into oe. Right now it's just manually copying the Qtopia file system onto the machine.
*


that'd be great!


now, if you want to be a real miracle worker, just persuade Sharp to build all their proprietary applications against qtopia4 and we're all very happy. blink.gif
*




Unfortunately, Sharp has given up on Linux, Zaurus and Qtopia.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
lpotter
post Jun 2 2007, 11:55 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 451
Joined: 27-November 03
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 1,001



QUOTE(jfv @ Jun 3 2007, 06:45 AM)
Hi, Potter. Since you are back, would you mind telling me how get a shell on a Mylo?
Thanks
*


Not real sure, I don't have one to even try.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jun 3 2007, 12:06 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



lpotter! welcome back.
qtopia4 could be very interesting-- any hope for an updated opera? even one we have to pay for? the age of the browsers on the qt based roms is showing. ( I realize that Z is kinda inconsequential from a corporate perspective).

Drizzly and cool in Girdwood today, btw.

If sharp has quit, why doesn't TT get a partner, buy what needs to be bought and sell an updated version of the Z?-after checking the market. A better Z clamshell with phone/cell data capabilities and ongoing development might be marketable.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th September 2014 - 03:48 PM