OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Opera9 On Oz?
speculatrix
post Jan 20 2007, 04:16 PM
Post #1





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



http://www.opera.com/products/devices/evalkit/

has anyone tried downloading the opera9-for-devices dev kit with an eval license just to see whether it's actually possible to run in on OZ?

then, if there was enough interest, we could see whether there's enough support to consider buying licenses?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jan 20 2007, 06:43 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



that'd make opie more appealing on the 6k, certainly
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zmiq2
post Jan 21 2007, 03:26 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 385
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,038



I also miss a decent browser in OZ:

gpe-mini-browser doesn't even render html-only sites
dillo renders but without keeping page layout

I also miss sharp's rom netfront, which does a good job. I tried installing firefox, but my sd card run-out-of-space. I have to buy a new SD, and try firefox again though ...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Jan 21 2007, 04:12 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



Cacko's Opera & Netfront is doing just fine for me. Usually either one of them will render the page correctly.

pdaXqtrom's dillo and firefox works as well, but is slower on startup. Dillo renders pretty quick though.

You can also try pdaXii13 ... heard good things about it. I'm trying it on and off.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Jan 21 2007, 06:37 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



I would like to see a newer version of Opera, especially since ver 9 has been available for awhile now.
Netfront 3.2, 3.3 have been available to windows handhelds and Netfront 3.4 is coming.
http://www.access-company.com/products/net...r/34_wm_tp.html

How come the phones, set top devices, and windows handhelds always get the new software and the Zaurus has to put up with old software?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zmiq2
post Jan 31 2007, 05:14 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 385
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,038



yesterday I bought a new 2GB Sd, and reinstalled OZ 3.5.4.1, and installed firefox.

I'm very surprised it works at a decent speed. No flash, but the rest is OK.

This time I'm keeping OZ!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Jan 31 2007, 06:00 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Jan 22 2007, 10:37 AM)
I would like to see a newer version of Opera, especially since ver 9 has been available for awhile now.
Netfront 3.2, 3.3 have been available to windows handhelds and Netfront 3.4 is coming.
http://www.access-company.com/products/net...r/34_wm_tp.html

How come the phones, set top devices, and windows handhelds always get the new software and the Zaurus has to put up with old software?
*


erm ... because it was never quite supported by SHARP and they just axed the whole product line! wink.gif

Nevertheless, I am proud to have gotten myself Zs and become a part of this wonderful community of Zaurus users! biggrin.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antikx
post Jan 31 2007, 07:16 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,156
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Member No.: 6,127



QUOTE(Snappy @ Jan 31 2007, 08:00 AM)
erm ... because it was never quite supported by SHARP and they just axed the whole product line! wink.gif
*

I guess I'm going OT here, but my impression is that SHARP saw Linux as a tool for getting a dictionary on their device. Everything else was kinda gravy and was less priority. Just my opinion.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Jan 31 2007, 08:35 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



QUOTE(Antikx @ Jan 31 2007, 11:16 PM)
QUOTE(Snappy @ Jan 31 2007, 08:00 AM)
erm ... because it was never quite supported by SHARP and they just axed the whole product line! wink.gif
*

I guess I'm going OT here, but my impression is that SHARP saw Linux as a tool for getting a dictionary on their device. Everything else was kinda gravy and was less priority. Just my opinion.
*



I think you are probably correct on both counts!

Further, most companies are opportunistic at best. While SHARP was one of the pioneer in the pda with their wizard series, their main stay was more in dictonaries etc. When they perceive the pda segment to be shrinking ordying off, they simply drop it like a hot potato.

Let's see, they dropped the Mobilon Handheld series in the past and now the Zaurus series.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Storm
post Feb 6 2007, 04:36 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Virginia
Member No.: 6,736



QUOTE(Snappy @ Jan 21 2007, 08:12 PM)
Cacko's Opera & Netfront is doing just fine for me. Usually either one of them will render the page correctly.

pdaXqtrom's dillo and firefox works as well, but is slower on startup. Dillo renders pretty quick though.

You can also try pdaXii13 ... heard good things about it. I'm trying it on and off.
*


Where can you find Netfront or Cacko's Opera? I went looking for both and came up empty.

I've never had much luck with Opera, and Netfront seems to only have whitepapers and WinCE trials on their site...

--Storm
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Feb 6 2007, 05:29 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE
Where can you find Netfront or Cacko's Opera? I went looking for both and came up empty.



Here:
http://web.mol.ru/~zaurus/feed/

You can ignore the "lite-2" designation
lite = not included in cacko lite, and is included in cacko full
-2 = second build (I think)

Package: opera
Version: 7.25-lite-2
Section: qpe/network
Architecture: arm
Maintainer: Anton Maslovsky <my-zaurus@narod.ru>
MD5Sum: 2460f0e2a8744b8e5d6bbae94f082ff6
Size: 1885748
Filename: opera_7.25-lite-2_arm.ipk
Description: Opera Web Browser

Package: netfront
Version: 3.1-lite-2
Section: qpe/network
Architecture: arm
Maintainer: Anton Maslovsky <my-zaurus@narod.ru>
MD5Sum: 3f0836e0a7ee6f6af5a7a91feefc5e27
Size: 1125942
Filename: netfront_3.1-lite-2_arm.ipk
Description: NetFront Web Browser

EDIT:
Also there is an Opera version, I think on meanie's page or in the C1000/3x00 General discussions forums that is optimized for the later clamshells. I think it is Opera 7.55
Look for "Opera, how to install" in the C1000/3x00 General discussions forums.

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Feb 6 2007, 05:53 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Storm
post Feb 6 2007, 07:11 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Virginia
Member No.: 6,736



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Feb 6 2007, 09:29 PM)
EDIT:
Also there is an Opera version, I think on meanie's page or in the C1000/3x00 General discussions forums that is optimized for the later clamshells. I think it is Opera 7.55
Look for "Opera, how to install" in the C1000/3x00 General discussions forums.
*


Thanks Jon,

I have an SL-5500, so this should hopefully work...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Storm
post Feb 7 2007, 07:42 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Virginia
Member No.: 6,736



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Feb 6 2007, 09:29 PM)
QUOTE
Where can you find Netfront or Cacko's Opera? I went looking for both and came up empty.



Here:
http://web.mol.ru/~zaurus/feed/

Package: opera
Version: 7.25-lite-2


This one segfaults immediately after it comes up. Which is a problem I have had with Opera throughout. I think the only time I have ever had it working was with Hentges 3.5.3...

QUOTE
Package: netfront
Version: 3.1-lite-2


This is looking for libsl.so.1, which I haven't found yet. I think it was needed for geode back in the day?

--Storm
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ofels
post Feb 7 2007, 08:32 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 142
Joined: 4-December 06
From: Lake Constance, Germany
Member No.: 13,087



QUOTE(Storm @ Feb 7 2007, 05:42 PM)
This is looking for libsl.so.1, which I haven't found yet. I think it was needed for geode back in the day?

--Storm
*


libsl is a proprietary library (I believe from TrollTech) for the Sharp devices providing things like file selectors, et.al.

No source available therefore it will not work with OZ.

Oliver
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th August 2014 - 10:29 PM