OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Coming Back To Cacko From Oz/opie
Matthewmongan
post Feb 24 2007, 05:13 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 11-January 07
Member No.: 13,863



alright, i put OZ on my z and now I'm stuck with it. i want cacko back but i don't know how to restore the hd partition table in OZ. i have downloaded the trisoft hd images but I'm still in the dark, i try to re-flash cacko but when the sd/cf card menu is supposed to load after the Japanese menu, oz boots.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Feb 24 2007, 07:03 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(Matthewmongan @ Feb 25 2007, 01:13 AM)
alright, i put OZ on my z and now I'm stuck with it. i want cacko back but i don't know how to restore the hd partition table in OZ. i have downloaded the trisoft hd images but I'm still in the dark, i try to re-flash cacko but when the sd/cf card menu is supposed to load after the Japanese menu, oz boots.
*

Trisoft has pretty good instructions on his site, and 2 methods, i think

Follow the directions there?--and don't forget to re-image your HD

I have done exactly this using exactly those images (think I had to resort to the emergency method, though).

You will have (probably) to do a nand restore from the trisoft image, and an hd restore--then flash
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matthewmongan
post Feb 25 2007, 02:38 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 11-January 07
Member No.: 13,863



QUOTE(adf @ Feb 24 2007, 11:03 PM)
QUOTE(Matthewmongan @ Feb 25 2007, 01:13 AM)
alright, i put OZ on my z and now I'm stuck with it. i want cacko back but i don't know how to restore the hd partition table in OZ. i have downloaded the trisoft hd images but I'm still in the dark, i try to re-flash cacko but when the sd/cf card menu is supposed to load after the Japanese menu, oz boots.
*

Trisoft has pretty good instructions on his site, and 2 methods, i think

Follow the directions there?--and don't forget to re-image your HD

I have done exactly this using exactly those images (think I had to resort to the emergency method, though).

You will have (probably) to do a nand restore from the trisoft image, and an hd restore--then flash
*



when i do a nand restore in the D+M menu i get a format error. what am i doing wrong?

im sorry for being a noob. but i need a serious step by step guide to get out of this muck.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 25 2007, 02:46 PM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



format error? this is a well-known problem (seach forum for flash memory partition)... briefly
1) check the card has a partition
2) check its fat16 formatted - a fresh format is a good idea to prevent fragmentation
3) check the md5 of the files (for windows, get this program http://www.whitsoftdev.com/md5/)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matthewmongan
post Feb 25 2007, 04:07 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 11-January 07
Member No.: 13,863



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Feb 25 2007, 06:46 PM)
format error?  this is a well-known problem (seach forum for flash memory partition)... briefly
1) check the card has a partition
2) check its fat16 formatted - a fresh format is a good idea to prevent fragmentation
3) check the md5 of the files (for windows, get this program http://www.whitsoftdev.com/md5/)
*



alright, thank you. i have cacko flashed on my system. all i have to do now is restore the hdd partitions. to my understanding the pdaxromii3 updater.sh has a nice feature that restores the hd partitions. im going to give that a try. im not to good with fdisk.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matthewmongan
post Feb 25 2007, 04:19 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 11-January 07
Member No.: 13,863



ok, so i repartitioned the drive with the updater.sh utility but im still getting

"Error!! HDD is not initialized!"

i think this has something to do with the files from trisoft that i am supposed to place in the individual partitions. the only problem is that i dont know how to do that.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matthewmongan
post Feb 25 2007, 06:04 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 11-January 07
Member No.: 13,863



ok, im trying to cp the hdd1sys and hdd2sys files in their respected partitions but i havent had any luck. im using a sd card, i am assuming the address of the card is /dev/sdc so in command i should be able to write

cp dev/sdc/hdd1sys dev/hda1

but that doesn't work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Feb 25 2007, 06:32 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



If I recall correctly, you have to put the disk image files on cf and use the D+M menu--find a hrd disk restore option in there somewhere and restore from cf.

Sorry not to be more specific--haven't done that in nearly a year
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Feb 25 2007, 07:04 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(Matthewmongan @ Feb 26 2007, 12:04 PM)
ok, im trying to cp the hdd1sys and hdd2sys files in their respected partitions but i havent had any luck. im using a sd card, i am assuming the address of the card is /dev/sdc so in command i should be able to write

cp dev/sdc/hdd1sys dev/hda1

but that doesn't work.
*


your mounted SD card would be /mnt/card and the respective hdd partitions, /hdd1 and /hdd2
you don't copy things to raw partitions...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matthewmongan
post Feb 25 2007, 08:01 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 11-January 07
Member No.: 13,863



QUOTE(Meanie @ Feb 25 2007, 11:04 PM)
QUOTE(Matthewmongan @ Feb 26 2007, 12:04 PM)
ok, im trying to cp the hdd1sys and hdd2sys files in their respected partitions but i havent had any luck. im using a sd card, i am assuming the address of the card is /dev/sdc so in command i should be able to write

cp dev/sdc/hdd1sys dev/hda1

but that doesn't work.
*


your mounted SD card would be /mnt/card and the respective hdd partitions, /hdd1 and /hdd2
you don't copy things to raw partitions...
*




alright, then i have a 750$ brick
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Feb 25 2007, 09:11 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(Matthewmongan @ Feb 26 2007, 04:01 AM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ Feb 25 2007, 11:04 PM)
QUOTE(Matthewmongan @ Feb 26 2007, 12:04 PM)
ok, im trying to cp the hdd1sys and hdd2sys files in their respected partitions but i havent had any luck. im using a sd card, i am assuming the address of the card is /dev/sdc so in command i should be able to write

cp dev/sdc/hdd1sys dev/hda1

but that doesn't work.
*


your mounted SD card would be /mnt/card and the respective hdd partitions, /hdd1 and /hdd2
you don't copy things to raw partitions...
*




alright, then i have a 750$ brick
*


probably not. but you likely do have a headache.

can you D+M?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stormer
post Feb 26 2007, 02:08 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 30-January 04
Member No.: 1,614



have you tried /dev/mmcda rather than /dev/sdc ?

I have previously moved from OE back to cacko and don't remember ever using
/dev/sdc for my SD cards (1G Danelec and 1G kingston)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 26 2007, 02:31 AM
Post #13





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE
QUOTE

your mounted SD card would be /mnt/card and the respective hdd partitions, /hdd1 and /hdd2
you don't copy things to raw partitions...
*

alright, then i have a 750$ brick
*



don't panic, it's pretty easy to restore your hard drive partitions... check out meanie's guide to it, and the data for the drive is on Trisoft's support website... just repartition /dev/hda as per the guide, making sure to set up each partition as the right type, format them, then copy on the data.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Matthewmongan
post Feb 26 2007, 07:07 AM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 11-January 07
Member No.: 13,863



QUOTE(adf @ Feb 26 2007, 01:11 AM)
QUOTE(Matthewmongan @ Feb 26 2007, 04:01 AM)
QUOTE(Meanie @ Feb 25 2007, 11:04 PM)
QUOTE(Matthewmongan @ Feb 26 2007, 12:04 PM)
ok, im trying to cp the hdd1sys and hdd2sys files in their respected partitions but i havent had any luck. im using a sd card, i am assuming the address of the card is /dev/sdc so in command i should be able to write

cp dev/sdc/hdd1sys dev/hda1

but that doesn't work.
*


your mounted SD card would be /mnt/card and the respective hdd partitions, /hdd1 and /hdd2
you don't copy things to raw partitions...
*




alright, then i have a 750$ brick
*


probably not. but you likely do have a headache.

can you D+M?
*



yes i can d+m. im not sure what to do with it tough

what i been trying to do in console is:

mount the partiton with

# mount /dev/hda1* /hdd1

and make the .sys file with

# mkdir .sys

i use

# cp mnt/card/hdd1sys/hdimage2.tgz* /hdd1/.sys

and

# cp mnt/card/hdd1sys/hdlist1.dat* /hdd1/.sys

to copy the files into the .sys file. unfortunately thats not working. so i dont know what to do at this point
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Feb 26 2007, 08:50 AM
Post #15





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(Matthewmongan @ Feb 26 2007, 04:07 PM)
what i been trying to do in console is:

mount the partiton with

# mount /dev/hda1* /hdd1

and make the .sys file with

# mkdir .sys

i use

# cp mnt/card/hdd1sys/hdimage2.tgz* /hdd1/.sys

and

# cp mnt/card/hdd1sys/hdlist1.dat* /hdd1/.sys

to copy the files into the .sys file. unfortunately thats not working.  so i dont know what to do at this point
*


you need to unpack the file rather than simply copying it in. change directory to /hdd2 (e.g.) and decompress and untar, thus

cd /hdd2
pwd
zcat /mnt/card/hdd1sys/hdimage2.tgz* | tar xf -
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2014 - 11:01 PM