OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Using 4gb Sd-card, Special partition for swap?
Snake
post Mar 13 2007, 03:08 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 26-June 04
From: Stuttgart, Germany
Member No.: 3,836



Hi!

I have ordered a 4GB Transcend 150x SD-Card for my SL-C1000 with CackoROM 1.23 this morning. And now I want to know to use this card at best.

Make it a sense to create a special parition for swap on the sd-card?
I'd like to use the card for installing apps too, so is ext2 the right choice? Or can/should I use ext3 or others?
With dirs could/should I move (and symlink) to the card to save most space on internal flash?

Regards,
Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Antikx
post Mar 13 2007, 04:55 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,156
Joined: 5-January 05
From: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Member No.: 6,127



Are you planning to stick with Cacko?
if so I believe that cacko has an applet that will let you set up a swap file. I would recommend 128MB-256MB
I've asked about ext2 vs ext3 recently and people recommend ext2
I wold recommend a lean in stall of the ROM/Distro and install your apps that you don't mind waiting a bit longer to load, on the SD.
Please add your experience to the Wiki (or let me know and I would be happy to do it): http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/?q=wiki/SDCompatList
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
deluxe
post Mar 13 2007, 06:50 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 184
Joined: 24-December 05
Member No.: 8,780



Correct: Cacko 1.23 (Heavy, at least) has the swap-making applet built in.
On my c1000 with Heavy I found that if I even ejected the card, then reinserted it, that I had to "re-establish" the swap file.
Memory seems fuzzy, but I believe that a reboot made the same process necessary too.

BTW: I tried a Transcend 4GB card in mine too. Worked fine for 2 or 3 days then totally corrupted. The replacement card did the same, so I got a refund. The card I had was the regular speed though, not the 150X....which seems to work OK.
Meanwhile my PQI 2GB plugs along just fine. I just "bought" a Kingston 2GB to go with it for -$1.05 after rebates with free shipping (!!!) from Buy.com, offer now ended, so we'll see how that fares.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
grog
post Mar 13 2007, 07:01 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 692
Joined: 27-January 04
From: Canada
Member No.: 1,564



QUOTE(deluxe @ Mar 13 2007, 08:50 AM)
Correct: Cacko 1.23 (Heavy, at least) has the swap-making applet built in.
On my c1000 with Heavy I found that if I even ejected the card, then reinserted it, that I had to "re-establish" the swap file.
Memory seems fuzzy, but I believe that a reboot made the same process necessary too.
*

IIRC I had to re-enable my swap file when I ejected the card, but not when I rebooted. Anyway, a swap partition would be better, but I don't know if Cacko recognizes that 'out-of-the-box'. I didn't start using one 'til I switched back to pdaxrom.

FWIW, i have my 4bg card partitioned ~ 3gb fat (for easy windoze file transfers), ~ 1gb ext2 (for programs & stuff) & ~ 150mb swap.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Mar 13 2007, 07:29 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



meanie has an updated memory applet, I'll attach it here

QUOTE
Cacko already includes a memoryapplet for creating swap files.
I have packaged an improved version [qtopia-memoryapplet_1.0.4_arm.ipk] which allows C3x00 models to create the swapfile onto the internal MicroDrive on /hdd3 and also the creation of swapfiles up to 512MB.


As always, remember to rename it to "qtopia-memoryapplet_1.0.4_arm.ipk"
The forum substituted an underscore for the dash
Attached File(s)
Attached File  qtopia_memoryapplet_1.0.4_arm.ipk ( 52.16K ) Number of downloads: 34
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
harvell
post Mar 13 2007, 12:11 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 11-May 06
From: Silicon Valley, CA
Member No.: 9,831



Cacko Lite does have the memory applet however I think a swap partition would be best.

I setup a 512mb partition for my 4G card and it works great.

I don't think I ever use it to the full 512 extent however it feels good to know it's there. Especially when I learn how to compile.

The memory applet just creates a swap file not a partition. So to turn on the swap partition just issue a

swapon /dev/mmcda2 # That's for the second partition on the SD card.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Mar 13 2007, 03:11 PM
Post #7





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



problem with using swap on the card is that it will wear it out faster. thus I would recommend putting the swap partition right at the end of the card, so that if it does develop errors you can use the rest of the card.

if doing interesting/custom partitioning and adding entries to fstab, be sure to put "noatime" in the mount args, so that every time the card's contents are listed it won't update inode access times which wear card out faster. playing with async/sync might also be interesting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snake
post Mar 14 2007, 05:37 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 26-June 04
From: Stuttgart, Germany
Member No.: 3,836



Thx for all your answers. smile.gif

So if I'm right, there is no (easy) way to use a real swap partition on sd-card with Cacko. But it make sense to create a special partition to store the swap-file.

Well, if more than one partition on a sd-card, how they are mounted?

@Antikx: I will write my experiences, of course. smile.gif

Regards,
Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Meanie
post Mar 14 2007, 05:39 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,808
Joined: 21-March 05
From: Sydney, Australia
Member No.: 6,686



QUOTE(Snake @ Mar 14 2007, 11:37 PM)
Thx for all your answers.  smile.gif

So if I'm right, there is no (easy) way to use a real swap partition on sd-card with Cacko. But it make sense to create a special partition to store the swap-file.

Well, if more than one partition on a sd-card, how they are mounted?

@Antikx: I will write my experiences, of course.  smile.gif

Regards,
Frank
*


sdmgr calls /etc/sdcard/sd_mem_ctrl
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snake
post Mar 17 2007, 02:49 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 26-June 04
From: Stuttgart, Germany
Member No.: 3,836



Okay, with Cresho's SD-Driver the Transcend 4GB 150x SD-Card works out of the box. biggrin.gif

With the "Multiple partitions on a CF / SD card" HowTo I have created 2 partitions on the card. 1st 1GB ext2, 2nd 3GB FAT32.
Well, the 1st partition on mmcda1 works without problems except that mount says nothing about noatime (fstab has noatime and async for /dev/mmcda1).
2nd partition on mmcda2 works after manually mount. I have created sdcontrol2 like the HowTo says and fstab has an entry for mmcda2.

* Where is my noatime on mount for mmcda1? How can I check this?
* What I have to do for automount 2nd partition after reboot or reinsert SD-Card?

Thx and regards,
Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th October 2014 - 03:03 PM