OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Connecting My 3200 To Pc As Mass Storage Device?
RLamb
post May 19 2007, 11:12 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 16,419



Hi all,

Sorry yet another question. I'm using a mini-B USB cable to try to transfer files to my Zaurus from my laptop, and my PC detects it (as an SL-1000 strangely), however when I click on the 'removable disk' in my computer it just says to "please insert a disk into drive E:".

Am I missing something or is there an issue with PC transfer using 3200/pdxii3?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post May 19 2007, 11:46 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Open system tools > USB
At the bottom, select Storage.
Then select one of these 3 selections, depending which media (on your Zaurus) you want to copy files from.
1. Secure Digital (SD)
2. Compact Flash (CF)
3. Internal Storage
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RLamb
post May 19 2007, 12:55 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 16,419



OK thats worked great thanks. Little confused though I can't see anything on the drive except a single shortcut with title 'data', but I can't click on it. Says there is only 8kb used on the drive, and 3.42gb free.

How does it work then if I copy from my laptop to Zaurus where will the files go? What about if I wanted to do it the other way round and copy from Zaurus to laptop?

Thanks again mate, you've been so helpful these last few days!!

edit: Just remembered that the install process created several partitions so I'm assuming all the actual OS/application data is on another partition that isn't visible and this that I see now is a FAT32 partition viewable in both Zaurus and Windows?

I still don't quite get how the pdaXi33 is setup partition wise, but I'l try copying it over to the Zaurus drive I see, and then finding it on my Zaarus.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RLamb
post May 19 2007, 01:15 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 16,419



I've copied it over but I can't seem to find it unsure.gif

How can I access the partition from my Zaurus?

edit: Also if anyone could give me a quick rundown of how the filesystem is laid out in pdaXii3 or link to me where I can find out that would be glorious smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post May 19 2007, 01:15 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



QUOTE(RLamb @ May 19 2007, 03:55 PM)
OK thats worked great thanks. Little confused though I can't see anything on the drive except a single shortcut with title 'data', but I can't click on it. Says there is only 8kb used on the drive, and 3.42gb free.

How does it work then if I copy from my laptop to Zaurus where will the files go? What about if I wanted to do it the other way round and copy from Zaurus to laptop?

Thanks again mate, you've been so helpful these last few days!!
*

You are looking at your FAT partition. It is mounted as /data
If you do a df -h in a console, you'll see it as
/dev/hda3 and mounted on /data
It is empty because you haven't copied anything to it yet.
I'm not sure what the "data" shortcut is for, meanie will have to answer this. I have tried to delete it, but it always comes back.
When using storage mode, you can NOT view or work with your linux partitions, you'll only be able to access SD, CF, or your FAT formatted /hda3 (/data)

The above is mainly referring to people that use windows on their PC/Laptops
There are exceptions to being able to access your linux partitions when using USB storage mode, but that is better left to someone with more linux knowledge than me.
One instance would be someone that uses linux only on their PC/Laptops, (and there are a large number of people here that use linux on their other machines)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RLamb
post May 19 2007, 01:19 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 16,419



OK thanks mate I've found it. I actually did try plugging it into my ubuntu OS on main PC but it didn't see it from what I could gather. However when I unplugged it my USB modem stopped working so I'm not sure what happened I haven't done anything to my Zaurus by pulling it out without unmounting it or anything have I? unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RLamb
post May 19 2007, 01:20 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 16,419



Also, I don't really understand the root and fakeroot folders, and how everything ties in. If an application says to extract to /opt for example, where about do I put it in the filesystem?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post May 19 2007, 01:21 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



on a fresh install on a C3200, pdaxii13 will show this.
CODE
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/root               121.0M     57.7M     63.3M  48% /
none                     12.0M     12.0k     12.0M   0% /dev
/dev/hda1                 2.0G     32.3M      1.9G   2% /mnt/ide
/dev/hda3                 3.4G     65.3M      3.4G   2% /data
/dev/hdc1               989.3M    287.2M    702.1M  29% /mnt/cf
/dev/mmcda1               1.9G    417.4M      1.5G  22% /mnt/card


EDIT: the above is an install to NAND only without the full upgrade.

This post has been edited by Jon_J: May 19 2007, 01:23 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RLamb
post May 19 2007, 01:25 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 16,419



Yea it all seems to get changed quote a lot with the full upgrade, especially the root and fakeroot folders its all quite confusing. I'l have search round here and see if I can find a thread explaining it.

Thanks again for all your help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post May 19 2007, 01:26 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



You should always unmount drives or media after copying files. Most people unmount every time, but I am sure if you just "looked" at a drive, you could disconnect it without unmounting it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RLamb
post May 19 2007, 01:29 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 49
Joined: 13-May 07
Member No.: 16,419



I 'safely removed hardware' from windows after copying, but this was after plugging into ubuntu however it didn't show up at all in 'Computer', and therefore I don't think it was seen let alone mounted just got a bit worried after my USB modem stopped working until I replugged it in unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 23rd November 2014 - 05:21 AM