OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Broken T-sinus Pad :(, how to repair it?
volender
post Jun 16 2007, 10:23 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16-June 07
From: United Europe
Member No.: 17,209



Hi.
Some time ago I bought The palm and tried to put different systems on it.
So I was changing it between Win Ce 3.0, Ce.net 4.1, Gpe & Opie few times.
And in one moment I changed bootloader (from linux's to standard or vice versa) and did something wrong and after it I couldn't turn The palm on.

So I used Jtag and loaded bootloader back.
So bootloader works well, but when I'm trying to boot system, windows doesn't give any signal, any reaction after bootloader ends its work, nor on lcd nor through serial port.
Linux sends some informations like in normal situation, but after a while sends information about crc error.

With windows:
QUOTE
PBL V1.4 20.07.2001                  
Booting.      
================================================                                                
Siemens Switzerland Bootloader V2.5.3 10.06.2003                                                
Running @206Mhz Processor ID 0x6901b118                                      
Press ESC for monitor                    
Occupied Memory: [0x00004000-0x00008000],[0x00008014-0x0007500c]                                                                
Flash Id 0x00000018 at virt adr 0x05000000 Size 0x01000000                                                          
No 32Bit Flash detected 0x30003000                                  
FlashImage Checksum 0x05040014-0x05059f11=0x8912ac03 Bootloader Image OK                                                                        
Fabdata Flash @0x05059f18 Ram @0x00021f18 FABDATA:                                                  
MQ200 - Revision ID=2 ...                        
Initialise PCMCIA Interface... done.                                    
Codec UCB1200 ID:0x1005 Ver.5 Dev.0 Suppl.1 IO 0x00000000                                                        
No PCMCIA Card Attached                      
NO PCMCIA CARD!  -- Use serial IO                                
Sysinit done            
No serial download request                          
Boothdr at 0x05080000 -> 0x31415926                                  
Loading executable with header 0x0000                                    
[*********************|] 0kB/sec                                
Done


With linux:
QUOTE
............
:30:51.624> NO PCMCIA CARD!  -- Use serial IO
1:30:51.624> Sysinit done
1:30:52.749> No serial download request
1:30:52.749>
1:30:52.749> Boothdr at 0x05080000 -> 0x31415926
1:30:52.749>
1:30:52.749> Loading executable with header 0xe1a00000
1:30:52.749>
1:30:52.827> [***************\     ]
1:30:52.874> [*********************|]
1:30:52.874> [*********************/] 17724kB/sec
1:30:52.874>
1:30:52.874> Done
1:30:52.874>
1:30:54.374> Uncompressing Linux................................................................
1:30:54.374>
1:30:54.374> crc error
1:30:54.374>
-- System halted


Lcd shows only it's checker, 'cause bootloader initializes graphic driver.

I checked rom memory by loading 16MB of 'FF' and later '00' and checking readed back data and didn't find any bad byte, nor one bit.

So processor schould run properly, rom is ok.
What could happend to my T-Sinus pad?
Is it hardware or software problem?
Did I destroy RAM memory, or changed something in CPU configuration?

Please help me!


Charles.

-------
I tried to load wince 3 again, but without any result.
Whats interesting that bootloader sends information about loading executable, but with speed 0 kB/sec :|

QUOTE
Loading executable with header 0x0000
[*********************|][*********************/] 0kB/sec
Done     


I remember when I made this mistake that killed my simpad there was run out of memory in it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
volender
post Sep 4 2007, 02:09 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 16-June 07
From: United Europe
Member No.: 17,209



I can not believe, but I have found mainboard for my simpad !!
But its the weakest one, from CL4.
So I wonder about moving ram from working CL4 to broken T-Sinus 'cause I suppose the problem is about the ram (or pcb - but I wish not unsure.gif ).
However I am affraid of destroing it while (de)soldering chips ( I can get hot air fortunately).
On the other hand I can move needed chips from T-sinus to cl4 to support PCMCIA.

Which way would You suggest to chose?


It's important for me, so please help me rolleyes.gif .
Regards. Charles.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scholbert
post Sep 11 2007, 02:51 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 48
Joined: 21-November 05
Member No.: 8,576



Hi Charles,

QUOTE(volender @ Sep 4 2007, 11:09 PM)
I can not believe, but I have found mainboard for my simpad !!
But its the weakest one, from CL4.
So I wonder about moving ram from working CL4 to broken T-Sinus 'cause I suppose the problem is about the ram (or pcb - but I wish not unsure.gif ).
However I am affraid of destroing it while (de)soldering chips ( I can get hot air fortunately).
On the other hand I can move needed chips from T-sinus to cl4 to support PCMCIA.

Which way would You suggest to chose?


It's important for me, so please help me rolleyes.gif .
Regards. Charles.
*


i hope you did not destroy your hardware already. Desolder components is not trivial, but of course i'm not aware of your skills tongue.gif .
Perhaps there's another way to rescue your old pad, because i not sure if your hardware is really broken.
I once did a lot of investigation on the pad.
At this time i had some long JTAG sessions to read the complete content out of the flash ROMs of my pad cool.gif .

So i don't know what really happened to your pad, but i think some parts of your flash got corupted during reprogramming. I know that there's a tricky mechanism on these pads to restore the orignal bootloader. See opensimpad.org for details.
Try this first.

There's also some part of flash that is used for serial number, image version etc. (not sure if someone really found out how this section looks like).
My suggestion will be to flash the hole image again, using JTAG. So this will be 16MByte raw bin file and it will take long time, but maybe the original settings could be restored this way. If you like to check this i may give one of these files to you rolleyes.gif .

Regards,

scholbert
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th May 2015 - 11:09 PM