OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

20 Pages V  « < 16 17 18 19 20 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> A Clean, Fresh, Configured Eabi Rootfs Tarball, last updated 080416; see the first post
ArchiMark
post Mar 30 2008, 07:27 PM
Post #256





Group: Members
Posts: 1,010
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Mar 30 2008, 01:46 PM) *
You don't have to remove the older kernel modules. Just leave them there and extract the new one to the root of the root partition.


OK, ZDevil, I'VE GOT DEBIAN EABI ! ! ! ! !


So far, working great, IceWM, ethernet card, apt-get..........

laugh.gif


tongue.gif


Could not have done it without, ZDevil !!!!

T H A N K Y O U ! ! ! ! !


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Mar 30 2008, 07:45 PM
Post #257





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Mar 30 2008, 07:27 PM) *
QUOTE(ZDevil @ Mar 30 2008, 01:46 PM) *
You don't have to remove the older kernel modules. Just leave them there and extract the new one to the root of the root partition.


OK, ZDevil, I'VE GOT DEBIAN EABI ! ! ! ! !


So far, working great, IceWM, ethernet card, apt-get..........

laugh.gif


tongue.gif


Could not have done it without, ZDevil !!!!

T H A N K Y O U ! ! ! ! !


is blutooth/gprs working? tell us more smile.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Mar 30 2008, 08:07 PM
Post #258





Group: Members
Posts: 1,010
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(adf @ Mar 30 2008, 08:45 PM) *
QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Mar 30 2008, 07:27 PM) *


OK, ZDevil, I'VE GOT DEBIAN EABI ! ! ! ! !


So far, working great, IceWM, ethernet card, apt-get..........


is blutooth/gprs working? tell us more smile.gif


Dunno yet.... wink.gif

I have an old Belkin USB BT adaptor F8T001 that maybe I can try out....

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Mar 31 2008, 06:00 AM
Post #259





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Congrats.
Try this scriptpack here: http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=25644 , which gives a more user-friendly IceWM setting.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Mar 31 2008, 08:49 AM
Post #260





Group: Members
Posts: 1,010
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Mar 31 2008, 07:00 AM) *
Congrats.
Try this scriptpack here: http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=25644 , which gives a more user-friendly IceWM setting.



Thanks, ZDevil....will try that scriptpack...

Meanwhile, I installed something that said I should reboot....when I do that I get various error messages mainly about my HD; hda2.....

CODE
Checking root file system...fsck 1.40.8 (13-Mar-2008)
/dev/hda2 - contains a file system with errors. Check forced.
/dev/hda2: Inodes part of a corrupted orphan linked list found.
/dev/hda2: UNEXPECTED INCONSISTENCY: RUN fsck MANUALLY.
                  (ie. without -a or -p options)
fsck died with exit status 4
[color="#FF0000"]failed (code 4)[/color]
[color="#FF0000"]**[/color]An automatic file system check (fsck) of the root file system failed.
A manual fsck must be performed, then the system restarted.
The fsck should be performed in maintenance mode with the root filesystem mounted in read-only mode.
[color="#FF0000"]*[/color] The root filesystem is currently mounted in read-only mode.
A maintenance shell will now be started.
After performing system maintenance, press CONTROL-D
to terminate the maintenance shell and restart the system.
Give root password for maintenance (or type CONTROL-D to continue):
Zaurus: ~#


One other problem now is that I can't type a '/' character in this shell, when I press that key it gives a ',' or a '<' if I use the shift key...

What fsck command should I use or do something else ???

and how can I type a '/' so that I can type '/dev/hda2' ????

Funny thing is that debian/IceWM seemed to be working OK...

Thanks,

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Mar 31 2008, 10:13 AM
Post #261





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Easy:

In this case you SHOULD run a fsck to check and repair the filesystem.
To do so, reboot and you would get to that warning message again.
Just type your root password (default is "zaurus" if you haven't changed it).
Then run fsck .. [tab] dev/hda1 -- just run fsck without any option (as already suggested by the warning message -- a very cool and helpful feature in such a complete system)
(The [tab] after ".." does the trick to get you the "/" )
When prompted to repair something, just answer yes by "y" then [Enter].
This way fsck will get through and things will be fine again.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Mar 31 2008, 10:58 AM
Post #262





Group: Members
Posts: 1,010
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Mar 31 2008, 11:13 AM) *
Easy:

In this case you SHOULD run a fsck to check and repair the filesystem.
To do so, reboot and you would get to that warning message again.
Just type your root password (default is "zaurus" if you haven't changed it).
Then run fsck .. [tab] dev/hda1 -- just run fsck without any option (as already suggested by the warning message -- a very cool and helpful feature in such a complete system)
(The [tab] after ".." does the trick to get you the "/" )
When prompted to repair something, just answer yes by "y" then [Enter].
This way fsck will get through and things will be fine again.


Thanks, ZDevil !

Your suggestions worked and fsck is fscking away right now....says FIXED after each error found.....

tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rogalian
post Apr 1 2008, 01:38 AM
Post #263





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 30-January 08
Member No.: 21,303



Many thanks for this, all working (but needing a ton more tweaking) here. Took about an hour and a half to untar the root on the Zaurus smile.gif

My notes are here - http://rogalian.blogspot.com/2008/03/debia...s-sl-c3200.html

Out of interest, why the huge amount of (non-debian) sources list?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
axeTail
post Apr 7 2008, 06:26 AM
Post #264





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 14-December 07
Member No.: 21,073



Hi Guys,

Please help, I have 2 partitions, hda1 ext3 and hda2 swap. I untared the rootfs to hda1, flashed the kernel and get :

kernel panic, no init found.

Please help
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Apr 7 2008, 06:27 AM
Post #265





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



Which kernel are you using? Which model is your Z?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
axeTail
post Apr 7 2008, 06:32 AM
Post #266





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 14-December 07
Member No.: 21,073



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Apr 7 2008, 04:27 PM) *
Which kernel are you using? Which model is your Z?


Hi ZDevil, Thanks for the quick reply.

I have a 3200 and am using kernel 2.6.24.3, hda1, what does this error mean and how can I solve it? Thanks

Oh, the error message also say :

Try passing init= option to kernel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
rogalian
post Apr 7 2008, 07:26 AM
Post #267





Group: Members
Posts: 12
Joined: 30-January 08
Member No.: 21,303



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Mar 31 2008, 05:49 PM) *
CODE
Checking root file system...fsck 1.40.8 (13-Mar-2008)
/dev/hda2 - contains a file system with errors. Check forced.
/dev/hda2: Inodes part of a corrupted orphan linked list found.


I've been getting exactly the same inode errors quite regularly, even when shutting down the machine properly. Not sure what's causing them yet.

In other news, I've had some success with the rather more mature evtouch driver in Debian - http://rogalian.blogspot.com/2008/04/zauru...erver-xorg.html Rotating works with the touch screen driver, but sadly it breaks the framebuffer driver...

The same bug previously occured with a non-rotated screen and evtouch, so I'm hoping the fix is similar.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Apr 7 2008, 11:08 PM
Post #268





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



QUOTE(axeTail @ Apr 7 2008, 04:32 PM) *
QUOTE(ZDevil @ Apr 7 2008, 04:27 PM) *
Which kernel are you using? Which model is your Z?

Hi ZDevil, Thanks for the quick reply.
I have a 3200 and am using kernel 2.6.24.3, hda1, what does this error mean and how can I solve it? Thanks
Oh, the error message also say :
Try passing init= option to kernel

Can you check/try these:
-- Which brand/model is your internal disk?
-- The kernel download is intact.
-- The updater.sh is the correct one (use the one attached in the first post)
-- The root partition is ext3 formatted. (you have to do "mkfs.ext3 /dev/hda1" after using fdisk).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
axeTail
post Apr 7 2008, 11:21 PM
Post #269





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 14-December 07
Member No.: 21,073



QUOTE(ZDevil @ Apr 8 2008, 09:08 AM) *
QUOTE(axeTail @ Apr 7 2008, 04:32 PM) *
QUOTE(ZDevil @ Apr 7 2008, 04:27 PM) *
Which kernel are you using? Which model is your Z?

Hi ZDevil, Thanks for the quick reply.
I have a 3200 and am using kernel 2.6.24.3, hda1, what does this error mean and how can I solve it? Thanks
Oh, the error message also say :
Try passing init= option to kernel

Can you check/try these:
-- Which brand/model is your internal disk?
-- The kernel download is intact.
-- The updater.sh is the correct one (use the one attached in the first post)
-- The root partition is ext3 formatted. (you have to do "mkfs.ext3 /dev/hda1" after using fdisk).


Hi ZDevil,

-- Hitachi 6GB HD
-- The kernel is fine, downloaded from http://yonggun.tistory.com/68
-- update.sh comes from the 1st post
-- I did the following to the root partition : mke2fs -j /dev/hda1

I untared the rootfs on the SD then copied it across to the hda1.

Thanks for the support....
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ZDevil
post Apr 7 2008, 11:44 PM
Post #270





Group: Members
Posts: 2,003
Joined: 16-April 04
From: the Netherlands && /dev/null
Member No.: 2,882



How did you uncompress the rootfs tarball?
Can you find /etc/inittab in the rootfs (you can check in the linux emergency cnosole)?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

20 Pages V  « < 16 17 18 19 20 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 12:15 AM