OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pdaxrom And Kernel Module
protechk
post Nov 17 2007, 03:10 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-November 07
Member No.: 20,910



Hi,

I make my own rom with pdaX86. It works like a charm whith a 2.6.16 kernel.
But now I would like to add a kernel module on my Z. I would like dm9601 so I download souce but own can I compile it for my Z whith pdaX86 ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Nov 17 2007, 09:37 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



It's already compiled. My post with it seems to have disappeared, though. Here's scrapheap's build, which ought to be just as good or better (even an IPK)

http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showto...0&hl=dm9601

If you're set on building modules, just copy the built kernel sources to your Z, and then point the module to them when you build it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
protechk
post Nov 17 2007, 12:19 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-November 07
Member No.: 20,910



Thanks !!

But would like to know how to compile a module with pdaXrom builder. If someone can explain to me or give me a tutorial !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
protechk
post Nov 18 2007, 05:49 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-November 07
Member No.: 20,910



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Nov 17 2007, 09:37 AM) *
It's already compiled. My post with it seems to have disappeared, though. Here's scrapheap's build, which ought to be just as good or better (even an IPK)

http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showto...0&hl=dm9601

If you're set on building modules, just copy the built kernel sources to your Z, and then point the module to them when you build it.



I try your ipk, I install it, I could modprobe it. when I do lsmod I can see dm9601 but when I plug my dongle I don't have any new device when I do ifconfig -a
My dongle works on pdaXii13 whith this pakage : http://www.tyrannozaurus.com/feed/beta3/cu...20_armv5tel.ipk

Have you got an idea?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
protechk
post Nov 18 2007, 08:34 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-November 07
Member No.: 20,910



In your pakage you use an old version of dm9601 that's why it doesn't work... I must compile the last...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Nov 18 2007, 08:56 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Try doing an "ifconfig eth0 up" and then see if you can see it. I know it didn't appear for me until I did that (mabe it was wth1).
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
protechk
post Nov 18 2007, 09:15 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-November 07
Member No.: 20,910



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Nov 18 2007, 08:56 AM) *
Try doing an "ifconfig eth0 up" and then see if you can see it. I know it didn't appear for me until I did that (mabe it was wth1).


I doesn't work...I compile the last version of dm9601 and it doesn't work too...
My dongle only work with 2.4 kernel :-/
I don't understand why !!!

When I do lsmod I have got that :
Module Size Used by
dm9601 15752 0

I think the module could be used no??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
protechk
post Nov 18 2007, 09:29 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 7-November 07
Member No.: 20,910



I found the solution !!!!!!!!

When I do lsusb I have got this line :
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0a46:6688 Davicom Semiconductor, Inc

So I look the dm9601.h file and I don't know why I don't find any DM9601_DEV entry with 0a46:6688 so I add this line at the end of the file :
DM9601_DEV( "USB Ethernet", 0x0a46, 0x6688, DEFAULT_GPIO_RESET )

After this modification It works !!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Nov 18 2007, 09:50 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



I will have to look into that. It has never really worked for me, so I'll see if I can get it to work now.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 06:18 AM