OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Zaurus C1000 Will Not Charge, I can't get my Z to charge a battery or boot.
speculatrix
post Apr 16 2008, 12:37 PM
Post #16





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



if you think the internal charge circuitry is b0rked, maybe an external charger would be the way forward? Or, to find a nearby owner and see if a fully charged battery will work?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
garmiste
post Apr 16 2008, 12:54 PM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 3-December 06
From: Raliegh, NC
Member No.: 13,079



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Apr 16 2008, 03:37 PM) *
if you think the internal charge circuitry is b0rked, maybe an external charger would be the way forward?


I'd be glad to go with an external charger, but it doesn't appear that the Zaurus will even work with a charged battery. I mentioned in an earlier post that I took the battery to a battery shop. They charged it for me and said it should at least have enough power to turn the Z on. They thought the battery was fine. Unfortunately the Z doesn't seem to think the battery is strong enough. This is all really strange.

1) A charged battery alone will not power up the unit.
2) Plugging in the charger will only get me to the Zaurus shell and the service menu. The "OK menu" (can't remember what it's called) will not work.
3) I can only get the unit to boot by typing "reboot" in the shell. As soon as power is removed or it's turned off I can't turn it on again.
4) If I boot the unit from the shell it works fine as long as I don't unplug it. I suppose I could get a long extension cord to reach around town.
5) I can't get any of my information out of it. I went back to the original Japanese NAND and I don't know how to load the old Cacko OS I was using without getting to the 'OK' menu.

AAARGH!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Apr 16 2008, 02:09 PM
Post #18





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



when you say you restored the original NAND, do you mean one you downloaded, or a previous backup?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
garmiste
post Apr 16 2008, 06:20 PM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 3-December 06
From: Raliegh, NC
Member No.: 13,079



QUOTE(speculatrix @ Apr 16 2008, 05:09 PM) *
when you say you restored the original NAND, do you mean one you downloaded, or a previous backup?


I actually downloaded the Japanese NAND from trisoft. From what I understand this is the one installed at the factory.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Apr 16 2008, 07:04 PM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



I vaguely recall someone saying that there is another battery besides the primary one we think of, that at some point would also need replacing. That's on an sl5500, but I wonder if there's something like that in your model.

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Apr 17 2008, 04:22 AM
Post #21





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(sdjf @ Apr 17 2008, 04:04 AM) *
I vaguely recall someone saying that there is another battery besides the primary one we think of, that at some point would also need replacing. That's on an sl5500, but I wonder if there's something like that in your model.

sdjf


no, I don't think the 7xx, 8xx, 1000 or 3xxx clamshells ever had a backup battery. I know the 6000 does.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Jun 23 2008, 05:46 PM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



I am surprised no one has asked if you have ever dropped or hit your C1000, although I also didn't think of it before. If any of the sottering points have come loose, that could cause problems.

I'm also surprised no one suggested using the "apm" command to check status. I have been using it and the results have been totally whacky, but you are using a newer kernel.

Another way to get information is to do "cat /proc/apm".

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
HRH_H_Crab
post Jul 9 2008, 11:32 PM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 36
Joined: 29-August 06
Member No.: 11,035



Don't really have much to add to the thread except to say it looks like I am in the same boat.
I have a c3200 but I cannot get it to charge.
I have messed around with all kinds of stuff including the voltage settings, but it wasnt working before I did that so I doubt I have made it worse.
I may have applied a charger with the incorrect polarity too! tongue.gif
My initial advice to other owners is to be very very careful what you plug in to it! ;P

No real idea where to go from here I guess.
I suppose my first step may be to buy an external charger and a new battery. I have a funny hunch that that would get it working as it was working while the "final" battery charge ran out.

Anyway, gl to other sufferers, I shall keep an eye on this thread to see if any other useful info appears.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th November 2014 - 06:01 AM