OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 8 Gb Sd, im taking the chance
geeko
post Jan 19 2008, 12:06 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 8-November 07
Member No.: 20,914



Hey guys, i just found a 8 (!) gb SD card for a decent price and i bought it.

Its called Memory Card Elite pro (lol...)
I will let you know if it works smile.gif

In this thread u can also post ur experiences with SD card so others don't buy incompatible cards.
This is what i know so far:

DaneElec 1 gb microsd + adapter - WORKS
Kingston 2 gb microsd + adapter - WORKS
Transcend 4 gb SLOW speed - DOESNT WORK
Transcend 4 gb HIGH speed - WORKS
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
deluxe
post Jan 19 2008, 01:48 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 184
Joined: 24-December 05
Member No.: 8,780



I had corruption with two different transcend 4 giggers though, high speed. They got returned.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
geeko
post Jan 23 2008, 07:39 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 8-November 07
Member No.: 20,914



Don't buy this card.
Its not that it doesn't work with the zaurus.
As far as i can tell it doesn't work PERIOD.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 25 2008, 04:40 PM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(geeko @ Jan 23 2008, 03:39 PM) *
Don't buy this card.
Its not that it doesn't work with the zaurus.
As far as i can tell it doesn't work PERIOD.


I am not surprised SDHC card doesn't work with Cacko (if your sig is correct). try Angstrom, it should work, but that probably doesn't help you.

A non-HC sd card of 4Gb should work on cacko with the new kernel memory driver module from the 3200.

Or, use USB host and an external card reader.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
geeko
post Jan 25 2008, 09:18 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 8-November 07
Member No.: 20,914



its not a SDHC card. Its a SD card. But it doesn't work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pelrun
post Jan 25 2008, 09:37 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 369
Joined: 6-September 04
From: Brisbane, Australia
Member No.: 4,488



If it's 8GB then it can't be an SD card, it has to be SDHC or fake.

SD can only physically support 4GB, and even that needs a non-standard driver. Which is why sharprom/cacko/pdaxrom etc only supported up to 1GB until the hacked drivers were released recently.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Jan 26 2008, 08:53 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



Yeap. 4gb is only supported in cacko via the tetsu kernel patch. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
geeko
post Jan 26 2008, 11:54 AM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 8-November 07
Member No.: 20,914



i actualy got it working on my computer now via a card reader.

Seems it really is a SD card, very non standard however :/ So i gues i just bought a very expensive memory stick T_T

Unles somehow i can format it as a 4 gb card.. someone know software that can do this?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 26 2008, 02:09 PM
Post #9





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(geeko @ Jan 26 2008, 07:54 PM) *
i actualy got it working on my computer now via a card reader.

Seems it really is a SD card, very non standard however :/ So i gues i just bought a very expensive memory stick T_T

Unles somehow i can format it as a 4 gb card.. someone know software that can do this?


can you repartition it into a 4GB chunk?

the problem is that some device drivers will barf on reading the number of sectors!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
deluxe
post Jan 27 2008, 09:22 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 184
Joined: 24-December 05
Member No.: 8,780



When you insert it into the reader, then into the PC, it does come up as SD card, even though it's really SDHC. To prove this I just did this with a SDHC card in my Vista laptop.
Don't be fooled.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
geeko
post Jan 28 2008, 12:10 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 27
Joined: 8-November 07
Member No.: 20,914



hm.. it seems like i have been ripped of then :/ at this point im glad it has 8 gb of anything
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 28 2008, 12:27 AM
Post #12





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(geeko @ Jan 28 2008, 08:10 AM) *
hm.. it seems like i have been ripped of then :/ at this point im glad it has 8 gb of anything


sadly, you may still be wrong. plug it into your linux desktop and do the following

* unmount the flash card, something like
umount /dev/sdd1
* determine how many blocks of storage the card says it has
fdisk -l /dev/sdd
* create a file that many blocks of random data where NNNN is the block count
dd if=/dev/urandom of=/tmp/bigrandomfile bs=512 count=NNNN
* fill the card with that data
cat /tmp/bigrandomfile > /dev/sdd
* then verify the card hasn't lost/corrupted the data using md5
md5sum /tmp/bigrandomfile /dev/sdd

when you've finished, use "fdisk /dev/sdd" to put a new partition on the card, be sure to set the partition type to LBA FAT32, then "mkfs.vfat /dev/sdd1".

Hope this yields good news results!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th August 2014 - 02:27 PM