OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> [done] Install Debian Eabi + Ångström + Sharp Bootloader, Super easy. No uboot nor altboot. Just flash it and run your Debian
ca1eb
post Jan 26 2008, 03:52 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 6-April 06
Member No.: 9,556



Whole new clean debootstrapped Debian EABI (armel) rootfs + Ångström kernel + Sharp bootloader
Everything works great!

However, I only tested it in my SL-C3200.

Step by step:
1. Download installkit
2. Extract the installkit. You will get four files: gnu-tar, hdimage1.tgz, updater.sh, and zImage.bin.
3. Go with Spitz Installation Instructions. NOTICE: my hdimage1.tgz only uses /dev/hda1, so you do not need hda2 and hda3.

During first booting, you may see many fails or errors, please ignore them. It is no harm to the system.
a. After booting, login with "root". No password needed. (NOTICE: Please use "Enter" key, not "OK" key here. We will fix it in next step.)
b. dpkg -i console-tools_0.2.3dbs-65_armel.deb
c. loadkeys keymap-2.6.map
d. dpkg -i device-static-angstrom_2.6.23-1_all.deb
e. dpkg -i etc-angstrom_2.6.23-1_all.deb
f. dpkg -i linux-modules-angstrom_2.6.23-1_armel.deb
g. Setting network. I suggest you use USB networking:modprobe g_ether ; ifup usb0
h. echo nameserver 999.999.999.999 > /etc/resolv.conf (Please use your REAL DNS address to substitute those 999 stuff.)
i. echo 'APT::Install-Recommends "0";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf.d/70debconf
j. apt-get update
k. apt-get install libts-bin x11-xserver-utils xfonts-base rxvt
l. dpkg -i xserver-kdrive-fbdev_1.3.0.0-r23_armel.deb
m. ts_calibrate (Calibrate your touchscreen)
n. ln -sf /usr/bin/Xfbdev /etc/X11/X
o. X & sleep 5 ; DISPLAY=:0 rxvt &
p. Touch your rxvt and execute: xrandr -o right
q. apt-get install alsa-utils
UPDATE: before alsactl you should do: modprobe snd-soc-spitz
Thanks to kkazakov13.
r. Setting your sound: alsactl -f ./asound.state restore
s. Test the sound: cat /dev/urandom > /dev/dsp (You may press Ctrl+C to stop it.)
t. OK. Everything is finished.
u. Additional settings please see yonggun's masterpiece.

FAQ:
UPDATE:
Q: How to use pcmcia network?
A: modprobe pcnet_cs (Thanks to kkazakov13).

Q: How to make the hdimage1.tgz?
A: Please see here. I use the debootstrap package in my i386 machine.

Q: Why you do not use official Debian Xorg packages?
A: Official Debian Xorg is VERY HARD to configure to use the touchscreen. I use the Debian official tslib but not the Xorg.

Q: Why you do not configure everything and put the final rootfs to the installkit?
A: I think it is good for newbies to try making their own Debian rootfs. You can install an Debian or an Ubuntu in QEMU, VirtualBox, or VMware, and make your own rootfs. I have record almost every step here.

Q: What is device-udev-angstrom_2.6.23-1_all.deb?
A: It is for udev users only. You can safely ignore it. If you want to use it, please remove device-static-angstrom first and then install device-udev-angstrom_2.6.23-1_all.deb.

Q: What is device-static-angstrom_2.6.23-1_all.deb?
A: a clean debootstrapped rootfs does not have so many /dev devices. I have to put them in hdimage1.tgz for first booting.
If you want to rollback to the original debootstrapped status, install device-static-angstrom and then remove it. You may see the /dev become VERY clean.

Troubleshooting:
Q: I can not calibrate the touchscreen.
A: It happens if you enable udev in the wrong way. Make sure you have /dev/touchscreen/ucb1x00 and /dev/touchscreen/0, both should point to /dev/input/event1. You may try install device-static-angstrom_2.6.23-1_all.deb again to fix this problem.

Q: My sound sometimes do not working.
A: I tried the sound in scummvm. It plays music and sound effects correctly in most time. However, it become mute sometimes. I do not know why.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
kkazakov13
post Jan 31 2008, 11:12 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 409
Joined: 3-December 06
Member No.: 13,063



For the sound I had to do modprobe snd-soc-spitz

For the pcmcia network i had to modprobe pcnet_cs
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ca1eb
post Jan 31 2008, 11:41 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 6-April 06
Member No.: 9,556



QUOTE(kkazakov13 @ Feb 1 2008, 03:12 PM) *
For the sound I had to do modprobe snd-soc-spitz
For the pcmcia network i had to modprobe pcnet_cs

Ah! Thank you!
Apparently my "step by step" lost a step to modprobe snd-soc-spitz. tongue.gif
I have updated it with red strings.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th December 2014 - 05:42 AM