OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sl4 Serial Cable Question, Can't seem to be able to buy the RIGHT one.
Jaruzel
post Jan 26 2008, 10:00 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-January 08
Member No.: 21,232



Hi all,

I've had my SL4 for a while now, it's running the web front end for my custom music player box.

However, I've decided to take the plunge and try and upgrade it to Windows CE.NET 4.1, from the original Windows CE 4.0 (I'm a .NET developer so this would be a big boon for me).

I've done all the reading required, and looked at the pinout for the serial cable, and thought, no sweat, I can solder that up from a cable I can buy on ebay...

However, the cable I did buy on ebay fits in the slot in the SL4, but it's only got pins 1, 4 & 5 (out of the 12) that actually have 'metal' in them (if that makes sense) meaning soldering up the missing wires is gonna be impossible because the pins physically aren't there in the connector.

Now, did I buy the wrong cable? If so, how can I be sure that I cable I buy has all 12 (or at least the first 6) pins physically in the connector ?

Can someone point me in the right direction here?

Thanks,

-Jaruzel
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mister_data
post Jan 26 2008, 11:12 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 06
From: Leipzig, Germany
Member No.: 9,257



QUOTE(Jaruzel @ Jan 26 2008, 07:00 PM) *
Hi all,

I've had my SL4 for a while now, it's running the web front end for my custom music player box.

However, I've decided to take the plunge and try and upgrade it to Windows CE.NET 4.1, from the original Windows CE 4.0 (I'm a .NET developer so this would be a big boon for me).

I've done all the reading required, and looked at the pinout for the serial cable, and thought, no sweat, I can solder that up from a cable I can buy on ebay...

However, the cable I did buy on ebay fits in the slot in the SL4, but it's only got pins 1, 4 & 5 (out of the 12) that actually have 'metal' in them (if that makes sense) meaning soldering up the missing wires is gonna be impossible because the pins physically aren't there in the connector.

Now, did I buy the wrong cable? If so, how can I be sure that I cable I buy has all 12 (or at least the first 6) pins physically in the connector ?

Can someone point me in the right direction here?

Thanks,

-Jaruzel


Hi,

the original serial cable for SIMpad has the same connector like Mobile Phones from Siemens (S25, C35i/M35i/S35i, S45/S45i , SL45 ...).
This special connector comes from Lumberg.

The best way should be to buy a serial-cable that is compatible to this Phones.
This Lumberg should have all 12 metal pins.

Then you must remove the whole SUB-D plug (9 pol.) with case.
Inside there is the voltage-change-circuit from RS232 (-12V/+12V) PC to "TTL" (3,3V/0V) for Phones.

After this you take a normal SUB-D (9 pol) connector and must solder the right pins.
-> http://opensimpad.org/index.php/Hardware_Details#Pinout

Thats all.

Regards,

mrdata
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jaruzel
post Feb 26 2008, 12:55 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 21-January 08
Member No.: 21,232



Ok... sorted.

Ordered another one from the US via ebay. This cable had ALL the metal pins in the lumberg. Used a spare 9pin d-sub connector and a length of Cat 5 network cable (the only thing I had to hand that was multi-core), and 2 hours later, my Simpad is now running Win CE .NET 4.1 (shhhh, I know this is a Linux forum, but i'm a .NET developer...)

So I'm happy. smile.gif

-Jar
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th November 2014 - 04:21 AM