OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  < 1 2  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Angstrom Hangs With Soft Lockup
mr_nice
post Mar 24 2008, 12:46 AM
Post #16





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 21-September 05
Member No.: 8,161



QUOTE
We need to hunt on ...


well ok,
a new day new image [1] to test smile.gif

1 http://opensimpad.org/images/1/1f/Simpad-2...image-r12.jffs2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mainframe-junkie
post Mar 24 2008, 01:59 AM
Post #17





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 9-March 08
From: Ebbelwoi-Town
Member No.: 21,482



Hello mr nice,

i think you pinned the bug :

CODE
.-------.
|       |                  .-.
|   |   |-----.-----.-----.| |   .----..-----.-----.
|       |     | __  |  ---'| '--.|  .-'|     |     |
|   |   |  |  |     |---  ||  --'|  |  |  '  | | | |
'---'---'--'--'--.  |-----''----''--'  '-----'-'-'-'
                -'  |
                '---'

The Angstrom Distribution simpad ttySA0

Angstrom 2007.12-r12 simpad ttySA0

simpad login:


I can't login to show the interrupts and the content of /dev/rtc ....

What userid and password is valid to login ??

Best regards

Oliver

Attached File  Simpad_03.24.103707.txt ( 29.78K ) Number of downloads: 2


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mr_nice
post Mar 24 2008, 03:14 AM
Post #18





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 21-September 05
Member No.: 8,161



Fine smile.gif.
The bug fix is not only my work, most of it was done by mister_data.

For the password you have to follow the instructions on your simpad screen. You will have to calibrate the screen after this you will be able to give a password for root. With this password you will be able to log in via serial connection.
But be aware the image I created was mainly for debugging the rtc stuff. It is a rebuilt image so there could be some side effects the normal image does not have. I will hand the patch in and ask for a new official autobuilder image.
In the meanwhile feel free to have some fun with this image smile.gif

Thank you for continuous testing!

mr nice
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mainframe-junkie
post Mar 24 2008, 04:04 AM
Post #19





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 9-March 08
From: Ebbelwoi-Town
Member No.: 21,482



Hello mr nice,

first of all thanks to all contributors (you, mr data, florian, woglinde .....)
I didn't look to the screen, only watched the console (Simpad layed on floor face down).... rolleyes.gif
Here is the output :

CODE
root@simpad:~$ cat /dev/rtc & cat /proc/interrupts
RTSR in rtc_open: 0
OIER in rtc_open: 1
OSSR in rtc_open: 0
           CPU0
  0:          0      GPIO-l  power button
17:        486          SC  sa11x0-uart
26:       8778          SC  SA11xx Timer Tick
27:          0          SC  rtc timer
30:          0          SC  rtc 1Hz
31:          0          SC  rtc Alrm
43:          0      GPIO-h  UCB1x00
45:          0      GPIO-h  CF_CD
Err:          0


after suspend/resume it was "dead" ... sad.gif

CODE
root@simpad:~$ Syncing filesystems ... done.
Freezing user space processes ... (elapsed 0.02 seconds) done.
Freezing remaining freezable tasks ... (elapsed 0.00 seconds) done.
Suspending console(s)
U3WKUP


So we need to track down the resume process ....

Thanks and best regards

Oliver

Attached File  Simpad_03.24.125552.txt ( 8.82K ) Number of downloads: 1
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mr_nice
post Mar 24 2008, 06:46 AM
Post #20





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 21-September 05
Member No.: 8,161



Ok, with this image [1] suspend/resume should work. Can you please test it?

thanks
mr nice

1 http://opensimpad.org/images/f/f5/Simpad-2...image-r12.jffs2
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mainframe-junkie
post Mar 24 2008, 08:15 AM
Post #21





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 9-March 08
From: Ebbelwoi-Town
Member No.: 21,482



Hello mr nice,

just tried the image and suspend/resume was working smile.gif

Thanks and have a nice day

Oliver

Attached File  Simpad_03.24.165117.txt ( 32.39K ) Number of downloads: 1


P.S.:
Now i can continue on to get WPA running ....
Are the scripts in the image from OE, /etc/network/if-pre-up.d/wpasupplicant doesn't look like the samples on http://opensimpad.org/index.php/HowToUseWPA and raise an error from busybox/sed.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mr_nice
post Mar 24 2008, 08:57 AM
Post #22





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 21-September 05
Member No.: 8,161



Fine, so we can hand in the patches :).

I have to split the knowledge base better. I will do that now.
The WPA howto was written for Familiar 0.8.4. We will collect everything which is device-dependening on opensimpad.org and everything which is independent and related to angstrom will be add on distribution.org . This is not really angstrom-alike because most other devices are documented there as well.

I don't like this approach for the SIMpad because of the following reasons:

a) Distributions become obsolete and unmaintained . Look at SIMpads history. Angstrom is now the third main distribution and I believe that SIMpad may live longer than Angstrom. Then you have to sort out all the device dependent stuff which changed there and recollect it somewhere else. Nobody knows about the recent state and a lot of effort is needed which could be better used to do other things.

b) SIMpad users are a very small community. It would be nice to have a home. Some people maybe don't like Angstrom and prefer something else. These people can still contribute on a site which is distribution-independent and profit from such a documentation.

c) Documentations will split in many different parts which will all get some changes. This is hard to track.


For WPA on Angstrom follow this discription:
http://linuxtogo.org/gowiki/AngstromManual...b15a8f220ba262f
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Mainframe-junkie
post Mar 24 2008, 09:56 AM
Post #23





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 9-March 08
From: Ebbelwoi-Town
Member No.: 21,482



Hello mr nice,

so the next autoimage will be ok ... smile.gif

Thanks for the link, i will read on ...

Thanks and nice evening

Oliver
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fredyd
post Mar 26 2008, 12:59 AM
Post #24





Group: Members
Posts: 38
Joined: 4-April 05
Member No.: 6,787



Simply amazing, it boots like a charm! Thanks a lot for the great work. Now I can at least experiment a bit with that Angstrom distribution and the 2.6 kernel.

I still have to test my various PCMCIA cards, but it looks like lots of strange boot messages have been fixed already.

So what's the next challenge? Getting the sound to work? Will we be able to use that old guy as a SIP phone some day?

fred
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mr_nice
post Mar 26 2008, 06:06 AM
Post #25





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 21-September 05
Member No.: 8,161



Nice to hear that you like it smile.gif.

QUOTE(fredyd @ Mar 26 2008, 12:59 AM) *
So what's the next challenge? Getting the sound to work? Will we be able to use that old guy as a SIP phone some day?


2.6.24 misses 4 things:
- sound
- usb
- smartcard
- DECT interface

There is a paper available for a similiar chip. I will try to use it as a base for an ALSA System on Chip (ASoC) driver. But I don't know if I will be able to do it.
There are two different patches available for usb net support one is the old driver ported to 2.6 (look at hh.org kernel tree) and the other is a driver written for balloon. Both are not working without changes on SIMpad. For me USB is not importent but maybe I will find some time...
The smartcard driver should not be that hart to develop but no one is really interested in having it except I.
I really have no clue about DECT.

A good challenge would be to clean up the patches and send them to lkml.

I am currently try to port u-boot to the pad, and I was able to boot Angstrom with it biggrin.gif.

What do you think about the current bootldr partions?
Should we switch with u-boot to one big ~31 MB partition and delete the 8MB home?
pro:
- More space for applications
con:
- You have to backup /home befor you flash a new image.
- If you download a to big file to /home you may not be able to boot your device.

I also try to get poky linux [1] build for SIMpad smile.gif.

mister_data what do you think we should do next?

1 http://www.pokylinux.org/
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Master One
post Mar 26 2008, 04:27 PM
Post #26





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-January 07
Member No.: 13,912



Well done, the latest test-image (Simpad-2.6.24.rtc-debug-4-image-r12) seems to be working so far, but there is not enough space left on the root partition to install minimo, and without it, it all makes no sense to me, because all I want to do with it, is surf the web.

I tried deleting as many packages, as I thought are not needed for my purpose (like all the bluetooth and irda stuff, GPE package manager, firmware-stuff, kernel-modules for cards not used), but still not enough space left:
CODE
$ df -h
Filesystem                Size      Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/mtdblock1           23.8M     23.5M    304.0k  99% /
tmpfs                    40.0k         0     40.0k   0% /mnt/.psplash
/dev/mtdblock1           23.8M     23.5M    304.0k  99% /dev/.static/dev
tmpfs                     2.0M     32.0k      2.0M   2% /dev
tmpfs                    30.1M         0     30.1M   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs                    30.1M    120.0k     29.9M   0% /var/volatile
tmpfs                    30.1M      4.0k     30.1M   0% /media/ram
/dev/mtdblock2            8.0M      5.8M      2.3M  72% /home

The minimo package itself has 4.7 MB (but it has two dependencies as well), the old familiar image (which allowed me to install minimo without problem) was 14.027 KB, this Angstrom image has 17.984 KB.

What can be done to make minimo fit in?
What else could I delete / remove?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mr_nice
post Mar 26 2008, 04:52 PM
Post #27





Group: Members
Posts: 156
Joined: 21-September 05
Member No.: 8,161



You have at least these options:
-use gpe-mini-browser
-delete your home partition

I wrote this [1] howto about removing your home partition. It requires to reflash the jffs2 image.

happy testing
mr nice

1 http://opensimpad.org/index.php/Get_rid_of..._home_partition

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Master One
post Mar 27 2008, 09:04 AM
Post #28





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-January 07
Member No.: 13,912



Thanks, mr_nice, that did the job. smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 09:57 AM