OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Simpad Slc Out Of Order?
Silvester
post May 3 2008, 10:17 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 3-May 08
Member No.: 21,728



Hi,
yesterday i bought a used simpad slc and spend nearly all free time with it. Unfortunately its out of order from the beginning.

After connecting the power supply, there are coloured lines all over the display and after some seconds one can see a bluescreen and nothing else happens, no sound or anything else...

I am not shure what this means. Is the mainboard death? Is it a bootloader or anything else problem, that can be fixed by spending time on it?

Please help me out...

Thx in advance, Silvester
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tml
post May 3 2008, 11:00 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 3-August 05
Member No.: 7,766



QUOTE(Silvester @ May 4 2008, 07:17 AM) *
After connecting the power supply, there are coloured lines all over the display and after some seconds one can see a bluescreen and nothing else happens, no sound or anything else...


The lines are normal on reboot. The blue screen is too but then something should happen after a while -- and you should be able to hear it :-). How long do you wait?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Silvester
post May 4 2008, 08:19 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 3-May 08
Member No.: 21,728



hear, that the coloured lines and the blue screen are ok. Ive waited several minutes. But i try again right now and report.

Thanks for your fast answer!

Greetings

Silvester
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Silvester
post May 4 2008, 08:45 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 3-May 08
Member No.: 21,728



ok, I tried again. First coloured lines, after a few seconds bluescreen. After 15 Minutes I pushed the battery switch. same effect, first lines, then blue screen. nothing else. :-(

But if its normal for the simpad to boot this way, its perhaps a problem while booting. How can I find out? Should I try to solder a serial Adapter? If so, which one? The one with the lundberg Adaptor or direct connection between parport and Simpad?

Greetings Silvester
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mister_data
post May 4 2008, 11:39 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 06
From: Leipzig, Germany
Member No.: 9,257



QUOTE(Silvester @ May 4 2008, 05:45 PM) *
ok, I tried again. First coloured lines, after a few seconds bluescreen. After 15 Minutes I pushed the battery switch. same effect, first lines, then blue screen. nothing else. :-(

But if its normal for the simpad to boot this way, its perhaps a problem while booting. How can I find out? Should I try to solder a serial Adapter? If so, which one? The one with the lundberg Adaptor or direct connection between parport and Simpad?

Greetings Silvester


Hi Silvester,

you need a serial cable -> http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?s=&...st&p=174015.

If your pc run windows (98SE, 2k, XP...), try hyperterminal 38400 baud 8N1 and look
for messages from siemens bootloader.

If bootloader is okay and only your hpc2000/wince image is broken then reflash should help.
But for this you need the serial cable first.

Regards,
mrdata

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Silvester
post May 6 2008, 11:12 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 3-May 08
Member No.: 21,728



Hello mister_data & tml,

I just want to let you know, that ive bought an original Siemens datawire(?) for cellphones via ebay. After "remodding" it and trying out what happens, Ill be back...

Thanks for your help so far...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Silvester
post May 13 2008, 11:32 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 3-May 08
Member No.: 21,728



QUOTE(mister_data @ May 4 2008, 11:39 AM) *
QUOTE(Silvester @ May 4 2008, 05:45 PM) *
ok, I tried again. First coloured lines, after a few seconds bluescreen. After 15 Minutes I pushed the battery switch. same effect, first lines, then blue screen. nothing else. :-(

But if its normal for the simpad to boot this way, its perhaps a problem while booting. How can I find out? Should I try to solder a serial Adapter? If so, which one? The one with the lundberg Adaptor or direct connection between parport and Simpad?

Greetings Silvester


Hi Silvester,

you need a serial cable -> http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?s=&...st&p=174015.

If your pc run windows (98SE, 2k, XP...), try hyperterminal 38400 baud 8N1 and look
for messages from siemens bootloader.

If bootloader is okay and only your hpc2000/wince image is broken then reflash should help.
But for this you need the serial cable first.

Regards,
mrdata


Finally the Siemens Data cable arrived... resolderd it, trying to avoid hurting myself too much and:

Booting...
================================================
Siemens Switzerland Bootloader V2.4 20.07.2001
Running @206Mhz Processor ID 0x6901b119
Press ESC for monitor
Occupied Memory: [0x00004000-0x00008000],[0x00008014-0x0007cb9c]
Flash Id 0x00000018 at virt adr 0x05000000 Size 0x01000000
No 32Bit Flash detected 0x00000000
FlashImage Checksum 0x05040014-0x05061ab0=0xcd105fd8 Bootloader Image OK
Fabdata Flash @0x05061ab4 Ram @0x00029ab4 FABDATA: S843-KKUNN
MSC2=0x211954e0 :: MQ200 - Revision ID=2 ...
Initialise PCMCIA Interface... done.
Codec UCB1200 ID:0x1005 Ver.5 Dev.0 Suppl.1 IO 0x00000000
Erasing memory after power loss

ERASE SDRAM FROM 0x80000 to 0x1f00000
No PCMCIA Card Attached
No serial download request
Boothdr at 0x05080000 -> 0x31415926
Loading executable with header 0x0000
[*********************/] 0kB/sec
Done

whatever this means. I am pretty sure its a good sign!

I ve tried the thing with the escape button, but no more things.

Hope you can help me out another time...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Silvester
post May 13 2008, 09:39 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 3-May 08
Member No.: 21,728



I followed this instructions:

http://www.silentservices.de/simpad/simpad-install-howto.txt

and this is the result:

Siemens Switzerland Bootloader V2.5.3 10.06.2003
Running @206Mhz Processor ID 0x6901b119
Press ESC for monitor
Occupied Memory: [0x00004000-0x00008000],[0x00008014-0x0007500c]
Flash Id 0x00000018 at virt adr 0x05000000 Size 0x01000000
No 32Bit Flash detected 0x00000000
FlashImage Checksum 0x05040014-0x05059f11=0x8912ac03 Bootloader Image OK
Fabdata Flash @0x05059f18 Ram @0x00021f18 FABDATA: S843-KKUNN
MQ200 - Revision ID=2 ...
Initialise PCMCIA Interface... done.
Codec UCB1200 ID:0x1005 Ver.5 Dev.0 Suppl.1 IO 0x00000000
Erasing memory after power loss

ERASE SDRAM FROM 0x80000 to 0x1f00000
No PCMCIA Card Attached
NO PCMCIA CARD! -- Use serial IO
Sysinit done
No serial download request
Boothdr at 0x05080000 -> 0x31415926
Loading executable with header 0x0000
[*********************|] 0kB/sec
Done

I then tired to install the german ce4.0 image, following this instructions again:

http://www.silentservices.de/simpad/simpad-install-howto.txt

everything seems fine until the last reset. I get coloured lines and after a few seconds a blue screen.

Any ideas? Perhaps the bootloader is damaged?

xxx

Silvester
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Silvester
post May 14 2008, 12:53 AM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 3-May 08
Member No.: 21,728



update:

Ive tried this image: S843-SI-GER-104 SLC, Image Rel. 104 languague: German, CE .net 4.0

with

serload

from this page:

http://opensimpad.org/index.php/Windows#SLC

first time it said that there are more than 5 Mio long words different,

second time i tried there where still about 200.000 longwords different.

I renamed the image just for easier handling. Is this perhaps a problem?

Greetings

Silvester
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tml
post May 14 2008, 01:35 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 105
Joined: 3-August 05
Member No.: 7,766



Doesn't serload provide some kind of monitor?

I think there is a chance that the people who could definitely answer your question no longer read this forum but have moved to the zaurus community.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Silvester
post May 14 2008, 01:55 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 3-May 08
Member No.: 21,728



QUOTE(tml @ May 14 2008, 01:35 AM) *
Doesn't serload provide some kind of monitor?

I think there is a chance that the people who could definitely answer your question no longer read this forum but have moved to the zaurus community.


Serload provides a monitor and everything is like it is described in the tutorials.

the only thing i havent changed right now ist the bootloader "angel" because I cant get the file called "armboot_pbl" wich is used in this tutorial:

http://www.mce-community.de/forum/index.php?showtopic=7574

can anyone help me out and email me this?

another question is how i can download the images from the polish site: http://simpad.pdaclub.pl/linki.htm because when i right click on it, it trys to save it as a *.htm file. Is it possible to change this to *.img?

thx in advance...

Silvester...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Silvester
post May 16 2008, 12:14 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 9
Joined: 3-May 08
Member No.: 21,728



still getting worse...

Using serload, ive installed the blupdater.img

After reset first everything looks fine. The linux penguin showed up! But after a while, it told me to connect the AC-Power to continue. I was a little bit confused, because it is and has been connected...

So I used hyperterminal with 38400 8N1 and was very asthonised to see, that whatever happens seems to be a mix of linux and the original bl? First the normal bl shows up. Then linux starts to unpack. But this part of the output is also mixed with parts of the output from the original BL??? there are also parts of the menu where you can erase the flash... ??? the programm stops with the message "unknown command"

By the way: using Hyperterminal whit 115200 8N1 doesnt work, btw. shows only nonsens when i hit the keyboard...

Im a little bit frustrated. It would be very nice, if anyone has any idea whats the problem with this unit...

Next step will be soldering the parallel adapter and trying to reflash the original quiet old siemens boot loader...

Greetings

Silvester
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mister_data
post May 16 2008, 03:59 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 06
From: Leipzig, Germany
Member No.: 9,257



QUOTE(Silvester @ May 16 2008, 09:14 AM) *
still getting worse...

Using serload, ive installed the blupdater.img

After reset first everything looks fine. The linux penguin showed up! But after a while, it told me to connect the AC-Power to continue. I was a little bit confused, because it is and has been connected...

So I used hyperterminal with 38400 8N1 and was very asthonised to see, that whatever happens seems to be a mix of linux and the original bl? First the normal bl shows up. Then linux starts to unpack. But this part of the output is also mixed with parts of the output from the original BL??? there are also parts of the menu where you can erase the flash... ??? the programm stops with the message "unknown command"

By the way: using Hyperterminal whit 115200 8N1 doesnt work, btw. shows only nonsens when i hit the keyboard...

Im a little bit frustrated. It would be very nice, if anyone has any idea whats the problem with this unit...

Next step will be soldering the parallel adapter and trying to reflash the original quiet old siemens boot loader...

Greetings

Silvester


Hi Silvester,

direct help is only with http://opensimpad.org/index.php/Get_in_contact -> #opensimpad.org possible.
I will be there today (16.05.2008 / from 06:00 pm -> Berlin/Timezone).

If you join, i will try help to solve your problem.

Regards,
mrdata
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th September 2014 - 07:59 PM