OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Customized New Rootfs, with lxp-icewm and many applications
Osage
post Jun 22 2008, 02:27 AM
Post #46





Group: Members
Posts: 11
Joined: 4-April 06
Member No.: 9,531



QUOTE(2or0 @ May 28 2008, 09:27 PM) *
I posted the details of this rootfs which is simple howto.
http://yonggun.tistory.com/77
[...]


I stated previously that I found andromeda very userful.
Easy install, very fitting customizations, and seems to be standard debian.

Ok, my philosophic questions are:
-is it "andromeda" possible or worth to applied for model c700?

-it is really a standard debian system?
Previously I've tried a lot of roms, and finally those died. Why? Simply 'cause
upon my extra needs I started to heavily modify them, but with each 'n every
update (eg. libc, x-devel environment, path-relocation due to storage issues, etc)
I got closer to the end. Finally there always were a barrier (outdating, inconsistency,
broken packages, etc).
Will "andromeda-debian" assure long time maintanance in standard debian way?

-if this "andromeda" is such succesful, as I find, why there are other "rom" experiments?
(well, why not) What do they know, what more do they offer what makes them vital
to be considered using a zaurus gadget? (in other words: what "andromeda" lacks?)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2or0
post Jun 22 2008, 01:02 PM
Post #47





Group: Members
Posts: 217
Joined: 6-June 04
Member No.: 3,590



QUOTE
-is it "andromeda" possible or worth to applied for model c700?

Now the main kernel of Andromeda is 2.6.24.4-yonggun which only works on Cxx00 but not Cxx0. If you want to use it, you need the kernel for c700 and should modify this rootfs. Following might be useful for you.
http://www.oesf.org/forum/index.php?showtopic=25663

QUOTE
-it is really a standard debian system?
Previously I've tried a lot of roms, and finally those died. Why? Simply 'cause
upon my extra needs I started to heavily modify them, but with each 'n every
update (eg. libc, x-devel environment, path-relocation due to storage issues, etc)
I got closer to the end. Finally there always were a barrier (outdating, inconsistency,
broken packages, etc).
Will "andromeda-debian" assure long time maintanance in standard debian way?

Yes, this is a standard debian system.

QUOTE
-if this "andromeda" is such succesful, as I find, why there are other "rom" experiments?
(well, why not) What do they know, what more do they offer what makes them vital
to be considered using a zaurus gadget? (in other words: what "andromeda" lacks?)

Since Debian eabi is ported from pc-based system, it has many dependencies which may not be used in zaurus. So the size of Debian system is much bigger and heavier than those of angstrom or pdaXrom which are targeted for the embedded system.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
fgp
post Jul 1 2008, 03:59 PM
Post #48





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 27-June 08
Member No.: 21,980



Hi 20r0,

First off , thanks for developing this rootfs. After a while I thought my zaurus is dead already. Anyway I am not sure if I am the only one experiencing this but the rootfs seems to be missing the old pccardctl command. So my first question is how can I eject my cf or wifi card? In serach of this and support for my Belkin blueetooth CF card I also found the pcmcia package in the deb distribution and installed it. It magically gave me the command and suprisingly the drivers for my card. The only problem is every time I run pccardctl eject get segmentation fault and the system freezes. Can you help me point out what I am doing wrong?

Thanks in advance unsure.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jul 2 2008, 12:36 PM
Post #49





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Been trying to get this installed on my 3200, but so far no go....not sure why, hope someone can please advise...

I currently have Debian EABI installed and working OK on my 3200...so, did the following:

Downloaded file and copied the 5 extracted files onto SD card. At first I left the 'zImage-debian.bin.hda1' file with this filename and tried flashing.

As I understand, if you want to install to hda1 (internal drive) then you need to have a CF card inserted. So I put a CF in the 3200.

When I did flashing, I see the following:

CODE
------ Universal Zaurus Updater r20-1 -------
MODEL:  SL-C3200 (c3x00)
Select the number of the partition to install Debian (1,2 or 3)
1.HDD1 2.HDD2 3.SD
1
Installing HDD root  file system
umount: /dev/hdc1: Invalid argument
* Now formatting
done
* Now extracting (this can take over 5m)....


Then after about 5 minutes, it's starts extracting lots of files.....then it reboots...

When I got to login prompt, I tried logging in as root, with no password as per instructions, but said incorrect password....so, when I tried the password for my current EABI install, it logged in OK....did startx and it went to IceWM desktop....so, realized that install did not work....

So, after realizing that I think I should have renamed 'zImage-debian.bin.hda1' to just 'zImage', I did that and tried install again....

When I did flashing, I see the following:

CODE
------ Universal Zaurus Updater r20-1 -------
MODEL:  SL-C3200 (c3x00)
Select the number of the partition to install Debian (1,2 or 3)
1.HDD1 2.HDD2 3.SD
1
Installing HDD root  file system
umount: /dev/hdc1: Invalid argument
* Now formatting
done
* Now extracting (this can take over 5m)....


Then after about 5 minutes, it's starts extracting lots of files.....
also, on some items it says "Could not create directory: No such file or directory"....

then it reboots...

Should I have rename zImage file to 'zImage-debian' instead?

Decided to see if that would make a difference....and tried install again...

Same result, no install....

Can anyone please advise as to how to get this to install correctly?

Thanks!







Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fatty
post Jul 3 2008, 11:15 AM
Post #50





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 22-September 05
From: Hong Kong
Member No.: 8,168



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Jul 3 2008, 04:36 AM) *
...
Should I have rename zImage file to 'zImage-debian' instead?
...


Should be 'zImage-debian.bin' renamed from ...bin.hda1 or ...bin.sd depending on where you're going to install.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2or0
post Jul 3 2008, 02:57 PM
Post #51





Group: Members
Posts: 217
Joined: 6-June 04
Member No.: 3,590



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Jul 2 2008, 12:36 PM) *
Been trying to get this installed on my 3200, but so far no go....not sure why, hope someone can please advise...

I currently have Debian EABI installed and working OK on my 3200...so, did the following:

Downloaded file and copied the 5 extracted files onto SD card. At first I left the 'zImage-debian.bin.hda1' file with this filename and tried flashing.

As I understand, if you want to install to hda1 (internal drive) then you need to have a CF card inserted. So I put a CF in the 3200.

When I did flashing, I see the following:

CODE
------ Universal Zaurus Updater r20-1 -------
MODEL:  SL-C3200 (c3x00)
Select the number of the partition to install Debian (1,2 or 3)
1.HDD1 2.HDD2 3.SD
1
Installing HDD root  file system
umount: /dev/hdc1: Invalid argument
* Now formatting
done
* Now extracting (this can take over 5m)....


Then after about 5 minutes, it's starts extracting lots of files.....then it reboots...

When I got to login prompt, I tried logging in as root, with no password as per instructions, but said incorrect password....so, when I tried the password for my current EABI install, it logged in OK....did startx and it went to IceWM desktop....so, realized that install did not work....

So, after realizing that I think I should have renamed 'zImage-debian.bin.hda1' to just 'zImage', I did that and tried install again....

When I did flashing, I see the following:

CODE
------ Universal Zaurus Updater r20-1 -------
MODEL:  SL-C3200 (c3x00)
Select the number of the partition to install Debian (1,2 or 3)
1.HDD1 2.HDD2 3.SD
1
Installing HDD root  file system
umount: /dev/hdc1: Invalid argument
* Now formatting
done
* Now extracting (this can take over 5m)....


Then after about 5 minutes, it's starts extracting lots of files.....
also, on some items it says "Could not create directory: No such file or directory"....

then it reboots...

Should I have rename zImage file to 'zImage-debian' instead?

Decided to see if that would make a difference....and tried install again...

Same result, no install....

Can anyone please advise as to how to get this to install correctly?

Thanks!



The explanation in my blog is wrong. You need to follow ZDevil's post. or rename the files: zImage-debian.bin.hda1 ->zImage.bin, rootfs-debian.tgz->hdimage1.bin. Also take update.sh and gnu-tar from Angstrom webpage or ZDevil's post. If you finish this, then reflash it as you did for sharp rom. this is the easiest way, I think.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jul 3 2008, 04:48 PM
Post #52





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(2or0 @ Jul 3 2008, 03:57 PM) *
The explanation in my blog is wrong. You need to follow ZDevil's post. or rename the files: zImage-debian.bin.hda1 ->zImage.bin, rootfs-debian.tgz->hdimage1.bin. Also take update.sh and gnu-tar from Angstrom webpage or ZDevil's post. If you finish this, then reflash it as you did for sharp rom. this is the easiest way, I think.


Thanks, for your help, 2or0! (and you too, fatty!!)....

OK, followed your instructions, renamed files and took files from ZDevil's post....this time install seemed to go OK!

Rebooted and now I want to extract modules as per instructions. However, now, I can't seem to get my SD card to mount, please advise....have tried different mount points, but always get the same error message as below:

CODE
#mount -t vfat /dev/mmcblk0p1 /mnt/card
mount point /mnt/card is a symbolic link to nowhere...


Any suggestions????

Thanks!

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jul 3 2008, 05:51 PM
Post #53





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



CODE
rm -rf /mnt/card
mkdir /mnt/card
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jul 3 2008, 06:03 PM
Post #54





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jul 3 2008, 06:51 PM) *
CODE
rm -rf /mnt/card
mkdir /mnt/card


Thanks, Capn!

Just tried that but still no go....get message no room...

blink.gif

Starting to think something is funky with the last install.... updater started but did not ask me to select which partition to install to like before....just did it automatically, realize now that it didn't install to hda1...

huh.gif


Think I'll try installing again....

rolleyes.gif



Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jul 3 2008, 06:05 PM
Post #55





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Maybe either manually format the drive beforehand or shred it for good measure. There may be FS/partition issues, and if you're nuking your current setup anyway...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jul 3 2008, 06:26 PM
Post #56





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jul 3 2008, 07:05 PM) *
Maybe either manually format the drive beforehand or shred it for good measure. There may be FS/partition issues, and if you're nuking your current setup anyway...


Good idea, Capn!

Will try and start fresh....

smile.gif

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
2or0
post Jul 4 2008, 02:12 AM
Post #57





Group: Members
Posts: 217
Joined: 6-June 04
Member No.: 3,590



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Jul 3 2008, 06:26 PM) *
QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jul 3 2008, 07:05 PM) *
Maybe either manually format the drive beforehand or shred it for good measure. There may be FS/partition issues, and if you're nuking your current setup anyway...


Good idea, Capn!

Will try and start fresh....

smile.gif


This system automounts CF or SD using autofs modules. If it doesn't work, just remove it as following.
apt-get remove autofs
After rebooting the system, you can mount SD manually.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
ArchiMark
post Jul 4 2008, 07:00 AM
Post #58





Group: Members
Posts: 1,026
Joined: 25-June 03
From: Silicon Valley
Member No.: 208



Thanks again for your help and for this Rootfs, 2or0!!!!!!!!!

I started fresh install, redownloaded your zip file, extracted the files and this time Voila! it worked!!!!!

Just got to your beautiful desktop!

T H A N K S !

FWIW, I just renamed your 'zImage-debian.bin.hda1' file to 'zImage.bin'. The other files I did not change at all.

tongue.gif

Mark

PS. I did notice some error messages:

When it shutdown for reboot:

Something like:
CODE
cannot open /vmlinuz...stream error"


Also, during boot up, it said:
CODE
can't start Hardware abstraction layer - please ensure that dbus is running
....
Swapon: can't stat /dev/hda3: No such file or directory


My internal drive, hda1 is where I installed files to and hda2 is my swap partition. I do not have a hda3 partition...

Think there were a few other error messages but this is what I was able to write down so far....

But, so far, everything seems to be working good!




Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fatty
post Jul 4 2008, 07:05 AM
Post #59





Group: Members
Posts: 94
Joined: 22-September 05
From: Hong Kong
Member No.: 8,168



QUOTE(ArchiMark @ Jul 4 2008, 08:48 AM) *
CODE
#mount -t vfat /dev/mmcblk0p1 /mnt/card
mount point /mnt/card is a symbolic link to nowhere...


Any suggestions????

Thanks!


Mine (auto) goes to /media/card, which is a link from /var/auto blah blah blah.

Also I had all 1G SD working, but one 2G SD having the same issue (Not tried another 4G SDHC). Well, maybe you can use CF instead for extracting the modules?

EDIT1 :
- dbus error can be referred back to post #16, which works for me also.
- for the swapon issue, obviously the init script assumed us to have a swap partition at /dev/hdc3. I just ignore it and adjust /etc/fstab to mount mine (also at /dev/hda2).

EDIT 2:
2or0, forget to thank you for your excellent work!

One stupid question. How can I make a rootfs like yours? I had pretty much utilities installed and would like to do a backup. Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
bunkford
post Jul 8 2008, 04:52 PM
Post #60





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 28-August 06
Member No.: 11,024



Thank you for the great work you have done! Could you please patch the orinoco wireless driver for injection?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

6 Pages V  « < 2 3 4 5 6 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th October 2014 - 04:40 AM