OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Firefox 3
speculatrix
post Jun 13 2008, 04:42 AM
Post #1





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



I'm using ff3 rc2 on linux, and it really does seem quicker than ff2, so far been very robust.

is anyone else an early adopter?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jun 13 2008, 06:22 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



I used it on my friend's new Ubuntu box when I was configuring it. It seems to be much faster than FF2, and the new URL bar is VERY nice. I would have been using it on Gentoo, but I was too lazy to remerge FF (building FF takes FOREVER) tongue.gif

On a side note: Everybody here's going to download FF3 on the day ot comes out, right (Tuesday, FWIW)? Help Mozilla set their world record!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
InSearchOf
post Jun 13 2008, 06:27 AM
Post #3





Group: Admin
Posts: 1,210
Joined: 20-January 06
From: York, Pennsylvania
Member No.: 8,961



I love FF3... using it now... but the weird thing is... I just did an package update on my laptop (ubuntu 8.04) and I now have Firefox 3 (no RC)
I guess ubuntu is deploying it early :-)

Late
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
adf
post Jun 13 2008, 05:10 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 2,821
Joined: 13-September 04
From: Wasilla Ak.
Member No.: 4,572



QUOTE(InSearchOf @ Jun 13 2008, 06:27 AM) *
I love FF3... using it now... but the weird thing is... I just did an package update on my laptop (ubuntu 8.04) and I now have Firefox 3 (no RC)
I guess ubuntu is deploying it early :-)

Late

yeah it came outta the box with hardy. I run it on my laptop too. A serious upgrade smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jun 13 2008, 06:13 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Funny, it didn't show up in my update. Oh, well. It will eventually.

Iceweasel 3 apparently runs on the n8x0/Debian, as well, with Gnash and Java. I borked my install (and can't get it to connect to the internet), so I haven't tried it yet, but it sounds neat.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Jon_J
post Jun 18 2008, 09:32 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 1,843
Joined: 31-December 05
From: Illinois USA
Member No.: 8,821



Just installed FF3 on my desktop.
They changed the bookmarks export!
Now my bookmarks export as this: "Bookmarks 2008-06-18.json"
the json extension is unusable in any of my browsers on both of my Zauri and desktop PCs.
The old method exported to html.
I tried renaming the above to "Bookmarks 2008-06-18.html"
but all it shows is code when opened in a browser.
I'll have to visit the Firefox forums to see if there is a solution...
Edit
I "jumped the gun". There is an additional option to export as html.
I just overlooked it. dry.gif

This post has been edited by Jon_J: Jun 18 2008, 09:41 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
corky
post Jun 18 2008, 11:21 AM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 47
Joined: 24-May 03
Member No.: 38



QUOTE(Jon_J @ Jun 18 2008, 01:32 PM) *
Just installed FF3 on my desktop.
They changed the bookmarks export!
Now my bookmarks export as this: "Bookmarks 2008-06-18.json"
the json extension is unusable in any of my browsers on both of my Zauri and desktop PCs.
The old method exported to html.
I tried renaming the above to "Bookmarks 2008-06-18.html"
but all it shows is code when opened in a browser.
I'll have to visit the Firefox forums to see if there is a solution...
Edit
I "jumped the gun". There is an additional option to export as html.
I just overlooked it. dry.gif


Export HTML two options down from backup wink.gif

corky
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jfv
post Jun 18 2008, 04:23 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 438
Joined: 24-June 03
Member No.: 202



I got it as part of the ubuntu updates but it doesn't seem to like my usercontent.css file and, for example, instead of the gray boxes saying "click to play" which replace the flash animations, it shows nothing, so I can't go to any site that uses flash in a essential way, such as youtube. If I can't fix it, I'll have to downgrade. I tried FF3 in beta and had the same issue and decided to downgrade and wait for the official release but no luck. Any suggestions are welcome.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jun 19 2008, 01:04 AM
Post #9





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(jfv @ Jun 19 2008, 01:23 AM) *
I got it as part of the ubuntu updates but it doesn't seem to like my usercontent.css file and, for example, instead of the gray boxes saying "click to play" which replace the flash animations, it shows nothing, so I can't go to any site that uses flash in a essential way, such as youtube. If I can't fix it, I'll have to downgrade. I tried FF3 in beta and had the same issue and decided to downgrade and wait for the official release but no luck. Any suggestions are welcome.


the extension flashblock would solve that, or noscript would be better.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
desertrat
post Jun 19 2008, 09:34 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 742
Joined: 15-October 05
From: Gulag, Siberia
Member No.: 8,322



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Jun 13 2008, 02:22 PM) *
Help Mozilla set their world record!
I would rather Mozilla concentrate on making Firefox better (secure/standards compatibility) instead of them spending time coming up with these gimmicks. It seems that they have lost sight of their mission and Firefox seems to have as many vulnerabilities as IE.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Capn_Fish
post Jun 19 2008, 02:13 PM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



How much time could it really take to put an update on a web page and count downloads?

I agree, though, that they DO have better things to do.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Snappy
post Aug 12 2008, 02:15 AM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 793
Joined: 28-November 04
From: NM, US, sometimes Asia
Member No.: 5,633



I dropped IE and used FF since pre 1.0 but with FF3.0 I find myself switching to Opera. Somehow, compared to Opera, FF3.0 was slower. My machine is on Ubuntu Hardy. Also when I did the Zooming feature, Opera would zoom smoothly and quickly, but FF3.0 would freeze and take a looong time to zoom and redraw. sad.gif

I might try FF again later, but also, FF3.0 broke one too many extensions for it to be meaningful. sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
clubJWP
post Nov 20 2009, 01:16 AM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 3
Joined: 3-July 08
Member No.: 22,006



yes, it is true, FF3 has been working like magic on linux, i used to be very dissapointed with ff2 earlier
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th December 2014 - 02:48 PM