OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Sim Cards
ScottD
post Jul 8 2008, 05:25 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 8-July 08
Member No.: 22,026



I'm expecting my Freerunner soon and am wondering if the sim card issue has been fixed?

Can I expect any AT&T sim card to work like it would in any other commercial phone?

Scott
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies (1 - 5)
stupkid
post Jul 8 2008, 07:54 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 578
Joined: 2-January 04
From: Texas USA
Member No.: 1,324



According to this thread on the mailling list it has been fixed with a firmware update:

http://lists.openmoko.org/pipermail/commun...une/019881.html

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Jul 10 2008, 09:33 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



How do you get the freerunner in the states?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
mars
post Jul 10 2008, 12:53 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 146
Joined: 5-October 04
Member No.: 4,881



QUOTE(xamindar @ Jul 10 2008, 05:33 PM) *
How do you get the freerunner in the states?


You go to the openmoko store (US page): http://us.direct.openmoko.com/

and order the 850 Mhz tri-band version.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stupkid
post Jul 14 2008, 08:43 AM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 578
Joined: 2-January 04
From: Texas USA
Member No.: 1,324



In the interest of keeping people informed before they get a phone and get upset if there are problems. It looks like there are some issues with some SIM cards:

http://lists.openmoko.org/pipermail/commun...uly/021544.html

They haven't tracked it down yet, but it looks like it is not carrier specific.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Jul 15 2008, 01:59 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



I've gone in on a group purchase for the Los Angeles area...picking it up tonight.

[edit]
My Cingular (ATT) SIM card is working in the Freerunner. Note that I have had the same SIM since Cingular. Several of the folks with ATT 3g SIM cards could not get a registered signal.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 07:53 AM