OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can't Open 240x320 Apps As 640x480 Any More, Please help!
xamindar
post Oct 12 2008, 03:11 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



I was installing some packages on my c3100 and after installing one the screen went all funky. I fixed that by restoring my qpe.conf file (HReverse=1 was missing). But now any of my older applications such as qkonsole will not open at 640x480. And holding the stylus on the icon to get the options to change that don't even show the option any more. \it completely disapeared.

I hope someone knows how to get that back, I suspect a config file somewhere, maybe even qpe.conf. How can I get that option back?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Oct 13 2008, 01:09 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



Wow, this is worse than I thought. Looks like lots of files in the /home directory are missing now. Most of my programs are all back on defaults and missing all their data. How could this happen? I just installed and uninstalled some opera packages and all this happened. Any ideas of a way to recover all these files or where they went? It doesn't look like free space on the home partition has changed but I could be wrong.

Guess I may just be stuck with reflashing the zaurus all over again?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sdjf
post Oct 13 2008, 03:11 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 454
Joined: 17-November 05
Member No.: 8,551



You didn't make any backup? That's always a good idea to do before you install stuff, as you never know when all your files could do what they've done. We all learn that one the hard way at least once. If you like what you've got, back it up before trying new stuff.

Did you run a df command? Post the results here so people can study them who know your ROM.

Sometimes it may be a matter of permissions. Make sure you're running as root when you look for missing files.

You do have a console, don't you?

Links to some libraries may have gotten removed when you uninstalled those packages, the uninstaller doesn't check to see if other app need things it removes, I'm always worried when I uninstall something.

sdjf
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Oct 14 2008, 01:15 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



QUOTE(sdjf @ Oct 13 2008, 04:11 PM) *
You didn't make any backup? That's always a good idea to do before you install stuff, as you never know when all your files could do what they've done. We all learn that one the hard way at least once. If you like what you've got, back it up before trying new stuff.

Haha, very true. I figure's I would do a NAND backup as soon as I got everything perfect. As that never happens I kept putting it off. Oh well, this time I will make incremental backups.

QUOTE
Did you run a df command? Post the results here so people can study them who know your ROM.

Eh, that wont do any good as the home partition also stores installed programs so there is no way of anyone knowing how much space it should have free.

QUOTE
Sometimes it may be a matter of permissions. Make sure you're running as root when you look for missing files.

You do have a console, don't you?

Yeah, but like I mentioned in the first post it gets rotated to 230x320 so it is very annoying to use now.

QUOTE
Links to some libraries may have gotten removed when you uninstalled those packages, the uninstaller doesn't check to see if other app need things it removes, I'm always worried when I uninstall something.

sdjf


Fixing is also not that easy because I modified it to not require
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 28th December 2014 - 02:16 AM