OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

12 Pages V  « < 7 8 9 10 11 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Zubuntu 1.0 Rc1, Start your downloads now
macwiz
post Jan 19 2009, 02:02 AM
Post #121





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 15-March 04
From: UK
Member No.: 157



I would like to try Zubuntu on my c860. It has languished for a long time. But do I gather from the above that there are extra files I need to make it work? I have found the following:
http://www.zaurus.org.uk/cortez/ubuntu/dow...d/zubuntu/c7x0/
But is there anything else I need?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Jan 19 2009, 05:57 AM
Post #122





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(macwiz @ Jan 19 2009, 11:02 AM) *
I would like to try Zubuntu on my c860. It has languished for a long time. But do I gather from the above that there are extra files I need to make it work? I have found the following:
http://www.zaurus.org.uk/cortez/ubuntu/dow...d/zubuntu/c7x0/
But is there anything else I need?

Thanks

All you need can be found here, including full installation instructions.
Good luck!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
undrwater
post Jan 19 2009, 08:42 AM
Post #123





Group: Members
Posts: 232
Joined: 26-September 03
Member No.: 500



Any reason to hope for development on Tosa? I know you mentioned it earlier...just hoping for an update.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cortez
post Jan 19 2009, 10:50 PM
Post #124





Group: Members
Posts: 376
Joined: 18-March 04
From: The Netherlands
Member No.: 2,380



QUOTE(undrwater @ Jan 19 2009, 05:42 PM) *
Any reason to hope for development on Tosa? I know you mentioned it earlier...just hoping for an update.

My wishlist is tend to get longer and longer, and yes, on that list is support for theTosa. It's not currently something I'm working on though.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
klaxon
post Jan 20 2009, 11:37 AM
Post #125





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 19-July 08
Member No.: 22,080



QUOTE(cortez @ Jan 20 2009, 07:50 AM) *
QUOTE(undrwater @ Jan 19 2009, 05:42 PM) *
Any reason to hope for development on Tosa? I know you mentioned it earlier...just hoping for an update.

My wishlist is tend to get longer and longer, and yes, on that list is support for theTosa. It's not currently something I'm working on though.

And what is in top of this list ? wink.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
macwiz
post Jan 20 2009, 05:07 PM
Post #126





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 15-March 04
From: UK
Member No.: 157



QUOTE(zmike @ Jan 13 2009, 04:15 AM) *
Some progress - I edited .xinitrc and it helped but the mouse is way off. Is there a way to calibrate it?
Thanks!
mike

I do get an error "Extended Input Devices not yet supported. when I abort startx

ts_calibrate does the trick. Now I have to figure out how to configure networking with a symbol technologies card I guess.


Hi. Can you elaborate on what you did to get beyond the rotated screen. I am stuck there.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zmike
post Jan 20 2009, 06:27 PM
Post #127





Group: Members
Posts: 77
Joined: 15-January 04
Member No.: 1,206



Sure thng..
In .xinitrc remove the line that has xrandr in it.
To calibrate your mouse -
In terminal before you do a startx run ts_calibrate as root.
Then when you do a startx everything should be ok.

Good luck!
- Mike
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
macwiz
post Jan 21 2009, 05:46 AM
Post #128





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 15-March 04
From: UK
Member No.: 157



OK, thanks.

Screen now looks good but ts_calibrate returns an error:
CODE
determinent is too small -- 0.000000
Calibration failed



This was run as root before X started. On starting X cursor is 1/2 screen out.

Any ideas?

Also, will there be sound (seeing errors about alsa)?

Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jeana
post Jan 21 2009, 05:53 AM
Post #129





Group: Members
Posts: 34
Joined: 6-September 05
Member No.: 8,047



QUOTE(macwiz @ Jan 21 2009, 02:46 PM) *
OK, thanks. I'll have a go. Where do I find .xinitrc?


In your home directory :
CODE
cd
vi .xinitrc
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
macwiz
post Jan 21 2009, 05:56 AM
Post #130





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 15-March 04
From: UK
Member No.: 157



QUOTE(jeana @ Jan 21 2009, 01:53 PM) *
QUOTE(macwiz @ Jan 21 2009, 02:46 PM) *
OK, thanks. I'll have a go. Where do I find .xinitrc?


In your home directory :
CODE
cd
vi .xinitrc


Cheers, had found it, but now have calibration error (see above)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
macwiz
post Jan 22 2009, 04:35 PM
Post #131





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 15-March 04
From: UK
Member No.: 157



I sorted my screen and cursor on my c860 thanks to this and other threads. Thanks everyone. Zubuntu looks good!

Now I wonder what next? I need to sort out my wifi and would like to know if there is a feed to install applications from if I ever do get networking.

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
speculatrix
post Jan 22 2009, 08:58 PM
Post #132





Group: Admin
Posts: 3,281
Joined: 29-July 04
From: Cambridge, England
Member No.: 4,149



QUOTE(macwiz @ Jan 23 2009, 12:35 AM) *
Now I wonder what next? I need to sort out my wifi and would like to know if there is a feed to install applications from if I ever do get networking.


yes, but instead of ipkg and other things specific to sharp and angstrom, it's the regular debian package repository arrangement, so type "apt-cache search fred" to search for a package with "fred" in the name, and "apt-get install fred" when you'd found one. "dpkg -l" will list installed packages.

note if you're behind a proxy, do "setenv http_proxy http://myproxy:myport" and then you can use the apt- commands no problem.

Paul
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
macwiz
post Jan 22 2009, 10:26 PM
Post #133





Group: Members
Posts: 151
Joined: 15-March 04
From: UK
Member No.: 157



Thanks. That's an incentive to get my wifi sorted.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zthird
post Jan 25 2009, 01:47 PM
Post #134





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 13-May 06
Member No.: 9,851



CL860 suspend issues:

issue 1: suspend happens after no user interaction EVEN if the power suppy IS plugged in.
Is there any way to set the machine to suspend if the unit is battery only powered ?

issue 2: using the metal power button on the side of the unit to resume from suspend wakes the Z for half a second and then resuspends repeatable ad infinitum.
Using the keyboard "home" power button is the only way to wake the zaurus completely.

Otherwise great work! I will be donating as soon as I get some money !
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zthird
post Feb 2 2009, 01:41 PM
Post #135





Group: Members
Posts: 22
Joined: 13-May 06
Member No.: 9,851



QUOTE(zthird @ Jan 25 2009, 10:47 PM) *
issue 1: suspend happens after no user interaction EVEN if the power suppy IS plugged in.
Is there any way to set the machine to suspend if the unit is battery only powered ?
issue 2: using the metal power button on the side of the unit to resume from suspend wakes the Z for half a second and then resuspends repeatable ad infinitum.
Using the keyboard "home" power button is the only way to wake the zaurus completely.

doh ! stupid stupid stupid, of course the Z was not going into suspend mode but simple terminal blanking (screensaver) !
to disable just use
CODE
setterm -powersave off -blank 0

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

12 Pages V  « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th October 2014 - 04:39 PM