OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> About To Set Up Oe... Maybe, Dev environment set up for Intel Mac
koan
post Apr 21 2009, 07:28 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 25-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 2,025



Hi

I want to set up a Zaurus dev environment on my Intel Mac (10.5, Leopard).
I need to target the Sharp ROM and would prefer to be able to target any distribution.

OE seems like a good solution but the instructions on the OE website say that
few people (if any) have set it up for Mac. I am new to Mac and I am not a Linux wizard;
I can't afford to spend a long time fixing problems but I'm willing to give it a go if
the problems are small.

Is OE the way or should I be looking at another method ?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
Capn_Fish
post Apr 28 2009, 09:48 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 2,350
Joined: 30-July 06
Member No.: 10,575



Unless you're trying to build them for the Mac, they SHOULD be ARM libraries/binaries, since that's the architecture that's going to link to them.

I might be way off, though, as I haven't looked at the link or anything.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koan
post Apr 28 2009, 03:59 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 25-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 2,025



QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Apr 29 2009, 02:48 AM) *
Unless you're trying to build them for the Mac, they SHOULD be ARM libraries/binaries, since that's the architecture that's going to link to them.

I might be way off, though, as I haven't looked at the link or anything.


If you want to build QT/Qtopia apps, you need the moc (meta object compiler) to be a Mac binary.

If you want to emulate, you need qvfb and qpe to be Mac binaries. It's also nice to have all the other Qtopia apps as Mac binaries so you can see a full Qtopia environment. Qtopia is supplied with QuantumStep tools but the files are compiled
for Linux, which seems to be a mistake to me:

CODE
$ file Qtopia/bin/qpe
bin/qpe: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), for GNU/Linux 2.0.0, dynamically linked (uses shared libs), for GNU/Linux 2.0.0, not stripped


You don't need ARM binaries - they are already on the Zaurus and can be produced by the cross compiler.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post Apr 29 2009, 07:38 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(koan @ Apr 29 2009, 01:59 AM) *
QUOTE(Capn_Fish @ Apr 29 2009, 02:48 AM) *
Unless you're trying to build them for the Mac, they SHOULD be ARM libraries/binaries, since that's the architecture that's going to link to them.

I might be way off, though, as I haven't looked at the link or anything.


If you want to build QT/Qtopia apps, you need the moc (meta object compiler) to be a Mac binary.

If you want to emulate, you need qvfb and qpe to be Mac binaries. It's also nice to have all the other Qtopia apps as Mac binaries so you can see a full Qtopia environment. Qtopia is supplied with QuantumStep tools but the files are compiled
for Linux, which seems to be a mistake to me:

CODE
$ file Qtopia/bin/qpe
bin/qpe: ELF 32-bit LSB executable, Intel 80386, version 1 (SYSV), for GNU/Linux 2.0.0, dynamically linked (uses shared libs), for GNU/Linux 2.0.0, not stripped


You don't need ARM binaries - they are already on the Zaurus and can be produced by the cross compiler.

Well, yes and no.

You certainly need some tools to run on the Mac to develop Qt applications. These are gcc and the tools you mention.

And, some libraries/tools need to be available in ARM-ELF version on the Mac so that gcc can properly link against them. To do that, it reads the symbol table of the ELF objects.

Maybe, you also need to install the native Qt development tools and then take whichever part you need.

One more hint for cross-compiling Linux packages: sometimes, they build their own host-tools. In that case make sure that the makefiles can distinguish between (darwin-)gcc and arm-linux-gcc. This can usually be done by setting $PATH and/or some flags to ./configure or the makefile

Maybe, this page also helps (I am not at all a Qt expert):
http://www.lucid-cake.net/osx_qpe/index_en.html
http://www.lucid-cake.net/osx_qpe_tutorial/index_en.html

-- hns
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
koan
post Apr 29 2009, 06:43 PM
Post #5





Group: Members
Posts: 328
Joined: 25-February 04
From: UK
Member No.: 2,025



Hi Nikolaus,

I am assuming that you are the person who has kindly provided the Quantum Step tool chain. Please let me know if I am wrong. I want to use QS to develop Zaurus apps but there are a few things missing.

As you suggest, I think I have to compile my own QT/embedded and Qtopia for emulation.

QUOTE(dhns @ Apr 30 2009, 12:38 AM) *
QUOTE(koan @ Apr 29 2009, 01:59 AM) *

You don't need ARM binaries - they are already on the Zaurus and can be produced by the cross compiler.

Well, yes and no.

You certainly need some tools to run on the Mac to develop Qt applications. These are gcc and the tools you mention.

And, some libraries/tools need to be available in ARM-ELF version on the Mac so that gcc can properly link against them. To do that, it reads the symbol table of the ELF objects.

Maybe, you also need to install the native Qt development tools and then take whichever part you need.


To develop apps I need:
  1. Cross compiler toolchain (Mac)
  2. OS libraries (ARM)
  3. QT embedded libraries (ARM)
  4. Qtopia libraries (ARM)
  5. Sharp support library: libsl (ARM)
  6. QT build tools, such as moc and maybe others (Mac)
  7. Include files for above (system, QT, Qtopia, Sharp)
  8. tmake (Perl script with configuration for Zaurus)
  9. dev-arm-qpe.sh (Shell script to set paths)

QS only has the toolchain, OS libraries and system include files. I have found a suitable tmake configuration, written a dev-arm-qpe.sh script and found some of the Sharp specific includes.

Qtopia is supplied by QS, but as you can see from my post above, it is compiled for Linux i386. I can't use this to emulate on Mac and I can't use it for linking when cross compiling because it is not ARM. To be honest, I'm a bit confused about why it is included in the archive because I can't see how I can use it.

I think you should either offer the toolchain plus system includes only, or package everything in the list above plus QT embedded (Mac) and Qtopia (Mac) for emulation. If you package everything then that would be a very nice set up.

A final point: the layout of QS is confusing! Especially arm-quantumstep-linux-gnu/arm-quantumstep-linux-gnu

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dhns
post May 1 2009, 02:42 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 699
Joined: 26-February 04
From: near Munich, Germany
Member No.: 2,043



QUOTE(koan @ Apr 30 2009, 04:43 AM) *
Hi Nikolaus,

I am assuming that you are the person who has kindly provided the Quantum Step tool chain. Please let me know if I am wrong. I want to use QS to develop Zaurus apps but there are a few things missing.

Yes... Approx. 3 or 4 years ago since gcc 2.95.3 is really old technology.
QUOTE
As you suggest, I think I have to compile my own QT/embedded and Qtopia for emulation.

To develop apps I need:
  1. Cross compiler toolchain (Mac)
  2. OS libraries (ARM)
  3. QT embedded libraries (ARM)
  4. Qtopia libraries (ARM)
  5. Sharp support library: libsl (ARM)
  6. QT build tools, such as moc and maybe others (Mac)
  7. Include files for above (system, QT, Qtopia, Sharp)
  8. tmake (Perl script with configuration for Zaurus)
  9. dev-arm-qpe.sh (Shell script to set paths)
QS only has the toolchain, OS libraries and system include files. I have found a suitable tmake configuration, written a dev-arm-qpe.sh script and found some of the Sharp specific includes.

Qtopia is supplied by QS, but as you can see from my post above, it is compiled for Linux i386. I can't use this to emulate on Mac and I can't use it for linking when cross compiling because it is not ARM. To be honest, I'm a bit confused about why it is included in the archive because I can't see how I can use it.

I have just incuded that as recommended by lucid-cake.net but never used it...

So I can't help you there with any experience.

QUOTE
I think you should either offer the toolchain plus system includes only, or package everything in the list above plus QT embedded (Mac) and Qtopia (Mac) for emulation. If you package everything then that would be a very nice set up.

A final point: the layout of QS is confusing! Especially arm-quantumstep-linux-gnu/arm-quantumstep-linux-gnu

That is quite normal for gcc to have such strange looking subdirectory structures. The main reason is to provide to install several toolchains in parallel. If you write a script that defines a "TOOCHAIN=..." shell variable it becomes quite easy to use $TOOLCHAIN/bin.

Nikolaus
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th August 2014 - 12:31 PM