OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Kismet
elremx
post Oct 16 2003, 11:17 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 6-October 03
From: Fayetteville, NC
Member No.: 577



I installed kismet and it tells me "cant connect to the server" when I hit restart under the config page.
Amy ideas on how to make this work?

Zaurus 5500
rom 3.1
Amcicom wireless cf card


According to the kismet web site this card is supported.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
harbinger1080
post Oct 17 2003, 06:26 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 4-October 03
Member No.: 566



i've had that problem too... it seems to be kismet's one and only complaint, and is not really indicative of what the problem is. if you've changed the location of the log file, for instance, and the location you specified is not valid, you will get the "can't connect to server" problem.

also, i'm not sure what kind of card you're using (prism2 or other) but have you tried setting the card type to either of those? at one point, i had to tell kismet i was running OpenZaurus, hit restart, and then switch back to SharpROM for it to work correctly. try running kismet_server from the command line (su to root first)... if that works, set the properties for kismet to "execute with root privilege." you can also try overwriting all the files with a new install of kismet "ipkg install -force-overwrite <package>" and then run it with a virgin kismet.conf file to see if it works.

and, you have installed both kismet and kismet_qt, right?

i have done all of these things, and one of them always works, while none of them always works... follow? :shock:
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
elremx
post Oct 17 2003, 10:40 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 6-October 03
From: Fayetteville, NC
Member No.: 577



Thanks for the reply. using Ambicoim WL1100C-CF . It's supposed to be prism2.

tried runnig from the command like. It says access denied.
I have both kismet and kismet_qt installed
tried running with it set to openzaurus to and switched it bacl. No luck
also tried a reinstall. still no luck. I dont know how to tell it to execute with root privilege. I'm new to zaurus and Linux.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
harbinger1080
post Oct 17 2003, 01:48 PM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 4-October 03
Member No.: 566



QUOTE
I dont know how to tell it to execute with root privilege.


just hold the stylus on the icon for kismet for a few seconds to bring up the properties, and check the box to run with root privilege. also, if you go into the console and type "su" and then your zaurus passcode as your password you can try running "kismet_server" and see if that works.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Oct 18 2003, 06:52 AM
Post #5





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



Works great Thanks tongue.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
elremx
post Oct 18 2003, 06:53 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 6-October 03
From: Fayetteville, NC
Member No.: 577



sorry, forgot to sign in first

Thanks, works great
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pointydog
post Feb 23 2004, 01:57 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-February 04
From: New York
Member No.: 1,855



Hi.
I've followed the above, and I was getting the same 'can't connect to server error.
I then ran kismet_server from the # prompt, and now it *looks* like something is happeneing, but it still doesn't find anything. I have an access point right here.
I have the laterst Sharp ROM (3.1) and a Symbol spectrum 24 wireless ethernet card.
I have tried mounting and unmounting the card, and also tried all the setting for different cards in the config menu of the kismet GIU.

Below is what printed to the console after I started kismet from the prompt, and below that is what happened when i entered the command kismet_server from root:
bash-2.05$ kismet
Server options: none
Client options: none
Starting server...
Suid priv-dropping disabled. This may not be secure.
No enable sources specified, all sources will be enabled.
Source 0 (Kismet): Using prism2 to capture packets.
FATAL: Source 0 (Kismet): Prism2 open bind() failed. (Operation not permitted)
Starting UI...
NOTICE: configdir '/home/root/.kismet/' does not exist, making it.
FATAL: Could not make configdir: Permission denied
Killing server...
kill: 11743: No such process
wait: No such job: %-
Terminating...
Done. Run kismet_unmonitor or eject and re-insert your card (or restart your
pcmcia services) to return your card to normal operation.
bash-2.05$ kismet
Server options: none
Client options: none
Starting server...
Suid priv-dropping disabled. This may not be secure.
No enable sources specified, all sources will be enabled.
Source 0 (Kismet): Using prism2 to capture packets.
FATAL: Source 0 (Kismet): Prism2 open bind() failed. (Operation not permitted)
Starting UI...
NOTICE: configdir '/home/root/.kismet/' does not exist, making it.
FATAL: Could not make configdir: Permission denied
Killing server...
kill: 11792: No such process
wait: No such job: %-
Terminating...
Done. Run kismet_unmonitor or eject and re-insert your card (or restart your
pcmcia services) to return your card to normal operation.
bash-2.05$ kismet_unmonitor
Using /usr/etc/kismet.conf sources...
Disabling monitor mode for a prism2 card on eth0
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Permission denied
SIOCSIFFLAGS: Permission denied
wlanctl-ng: No such device
You will likely need to restart your PCMCIA services to reconfigure your card
for the correct channel and SSID.
bash-2.05$ kismet
Server options: none
Client options: none
Starting server...
Suid priv-dropping disabled. This may not be secure.
No enable sources specified, all sources will be enabled.
Source 0 (Kismet): Using prism2 to capture packets.
FATAL: Source 0 (Kismet): Prism2 open bind() failed. (Operation not permitted)
Starting UI...
NOTICE: configdir '/home/root/.kismet/' does not exist, making it.
FATAL: Could not make configdir: Permission denied
Killing server...
kill: 12077: No such process
wait: No such job: %-
Terminating...
Done. Run kismet_unmonitor or eject and re-insert your card (or restart your
pcmcia services) to return your card to normal operation.
bash-2.05$




# kismet-server
kismet-server: not found
# kismet_server
Suid priv-dropping disabled. This may not be secure.
No enable sources specified, all sources will be enabled.
Source 0 (Kismet): Using prism2 to capture packets.
Allowing clients to fetch WEP keys.
configdir '/home/root/.kismet/' does not exist, making it.
SSID cloak file did not exist, it will be created.
IP track file did not exist, it will be created.
Logging networks to Kismet-Feb-23-2004-1.network
Logging networks in CSV format to Kismet-Feb-23-2004-1.csv
Logging networks in XML format to Kismet-Feb-23-2004-1.xml
Logging cryptographically weak packets to Kismet-Feb-23-2004-1.weak
Logging cisco product information to Kismet-Feb-23-2004-1.cisco
Logging gps coordinates to Kismet-Feb-23-2004-1.gps
Logging data to Kismet-Feb-23-2004-1.dump
Writing data files to disk every 300 seconds.
Filtering beacon packets.
Filtering PHY layer packets.
Reading AP manufacturer data and defaults from
/usr/etc/ap_manuf
Reading client manufacturer data and defaults from /usr/etc/client_manuf
Dump file format: wiretap (local code) dump
Crypt file format: airsnort (weak packet) dump
Kismet 2.8.1 (Kismet)
Source 0 (Kismet): Capturing packets from Prism/2 (DEPRECATED)
Logging data networks CSV XML weak cisco
Listening on port 2501.
Allowing connections from 127.0.0.1/255.255.255.255
Registering builtin client/server protocols...
Accepted interface connection from 127.0.0.1



I tried allowing my access point to broadcase the SSID, but no change. I get email and card lights flashing, but no networks are detected. Any ideas?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
dino
post Feb 24 2004, 12:40 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 65
Joined: 5-January 04
Member No.: 1,362



Are you running as root?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
stormer
post Feb 24 2004, 04:14 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 30-January 04
Member No.: 1,614



make sure that your loopback device is up.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pointydog
post Feb 24 2004, 05:05 PM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-February 04
From: New York
Member No.: 1,855



Yes, I was running it as root.

I don't know what loopback device you mean...is it software?

THanks!

C
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Feb 24 2004, 08:45 PM
Post #11





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



I hold down over the icon and the properties pop up. I then select run as root and click "ok". When I reopen the properties I no longer have run as root selected. Is there something I'm missing?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Feb 25 2004, 11:42 AM
Post #12





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



Fixed the problem by upgrading to 3.13
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pointydog
post Feb 25 2004, 01:19 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-February 04
From: New York
Member No.: 1,855



where do you find 3.13, and did your other stuff still work OK?
how about all your PIMs?

I'm trying to decide what i should do, maybe upgrade too.

C
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Feb 25 2004, 10:04 PM
Post #14





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



I upgraded from 3.1 to 3.13 with no problems at all with any apps. Just did a backup, upgraded ROM and then restored. Now I just set the "run with root" option on all my apps I was having problems running after upgrading to 3.1. The link below should get you to the 3.13 Sharp ROM

http://www.zaurususergroup.com/modules. ... it&lid=120
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
pointydog
post Feb 26 2004, 01:06 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 13-February 04
From: New York
Member No.: 1,855



Cool, thanks.
Maybe I'll try that too.
Link didn't work, but if the page is called 'modules', I'll find it!

C
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th October 2014 - 10:15 AM