OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Google Maps Clients With Gps Support: Pgmap And Qgmap
gojira
post May 2 2010, 05:54 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 124
Joined: 16-January 05
Member No.: 6,248



pgmap perl/tk http://rzzinv.web.fc2.com/pgmap/ http://petit-noise.net/blog/20100327/pc%E7...%E3%83%88-pgmap
qgmap qpe http://petit-noise.net/tag/qgmap http://petit-noise.net/download/qgmap
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post May 12 2010, 01:14 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



Cool idea. The program on the zaurus seems like it runs well. But the map downloader will only download maps of Japan. Were you able to get it to work?

zroadmap so far might be a better gps sollution even though it is a few years old.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
gojira
post May 12 2010, 08:28 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 124
Joined: 16-January 05
Member No.: 6,248



QUOTE(xamindar @ May 12 2010, 08:14 PM) *
Cool idea. The program on the zaurus seems like it runs well. But the map downloader will only download maps of Japan. Were you able to get it to work?

zroadmap so far might be a better gps sollution even though it is a few years old.


I'm using it in japan, and zroadmap is US-only

I've used pgmap on a debian zaurus, qgmap on a sharprom zaurus, and both on a debian laptop

you can download maps with pgmap on the desktop and rsync them to the zaurus for qgmap as the map dir is compatible

if you edit pgmap's DownImgs.pm and change hl=ja to hl=en you can get maps with english text

if you edit pgmap's pgmap.pl and change

CODE
if ($map->{backup} && !$map->{selected} ) {

to

CODE
if (!$map->{selected}) {

then you can shift-A anywhere to select all tiles on screen even without a backing map at the wider zoom level (works ok at level 14 but dies sometimes at 15 or 16, though you should be able to find the area you want ok at 14)

it would be nice if it was modified properly to provide a world keymap at the widest zoom as a starting point...


Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post May 14 2010, 02:52 AM
Post #4





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



Thanks for the attempt. This program needs more work than that though. It doesn't let me even go to my gps coordinates on the grid. It only goes as far as lat -90 for one thing. The modification you suggested doesn't seem to effect it at all. Thanks again for the info though but don't worry about this, I probably don't need it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th December 2014 - 05:55 PM