OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> No Angstrom Loopback For Ipaq H5400 But, Techy Installl..
iTux
post May 2 2010, 10:05 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 23-April 10
Member No.: 69,196



I have been looking at some webposts about installing Angstrom on my old iPAq H5400. But, there is no loopback install for amateurs like me. I have used some linux distros in the past on my PC, & even used the command line often. I still don't see myself as skilled as i have required web support in this area. Anyway, since I don't have a loopback install, I am interested in doing a more techy install. I found a couple of pages that are somewhat instructive in this area: This one & this one . I have downloaded BootBlaster & bootloader but, I am only using Windows ATM. I have bought a CF card on eBay, & am waiting for it to arrive. I already have the jacket for it... My main concern is for using ymodem. My understsanding is I use ymodem through a command prompt to connect to my iPAQ hardware, & I am thinking it would be done through Linux. I have a serial port connection to my iPAQ but, I am thinking I will need to use a linux distro. I am thinking I will use a live disc, such as Knoppix or Ubuntu. Is there any advice I need on my plan?

Thanks in advance :-)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
iTux
post May 3 2010, 10:22 PM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 23-April 10
Member No.: 69,196



QUOTE(iTux @ May 3 2010, 04:05 AM) *
I have been looking at some webposts about installing Angstrom on my old iPAq H5400. But, there is no loopback install for amateurs like me. I have used some linux distros in the past on my PC, & even used the command line often. I still don't see myself as skilled as i have required web support in this area. Anyway, since I don't have a loopback install, I am interested in doing a more techy install. I found a couple of pages that are somewhat instructive in this area: This one & this one . I have downloaded BootBlaster & bootloader but, I am only using Windows ATM. I have bought a CF card on eBay, & am waiting for it to arrive. I already have the jacket for it... My main concern is for using ymodem. My understsanding is I use ymodem through a command prompt to connect to my iPAQ hardware, & I am thinking it would be done through Linux. I have a serial port connection to my iPAQ but, I am thinking I will need to use a linux distro. I am thinking I will use a live disc, such as Knoppix or Ubuntu. Is there any advice I need on my plan?

Thanks in advance :-)


I have googled some more & I think I know a bit more about ymodem. I understand it as a protocol used in the Linux shell commend line - A way of connecting to another device and giving commands. I think it can be done through windows but, I think with this method I should do it through a Linux PC. So, through this installation process I will speak to Linux on my iPaq from a Linux PC via my serial port, & give the relevant commands & uploading I need. Does this sound correct?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
merlin1
post May 3 2010, 10:36 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 82
Joined: 15-December 09
From: Germany
Member No.: 56,976



QUOTE(iTux @ May 4 2010, 08:22 AM) *
I have googled some more & I think I know a bit more about ymodem. I understand it as a protocol used in the Linux shell commend line - A way of connecting to another device and giving commands. I think it can be done through windows but, I think with this method I should do it through a Linux PC. So, through this installation process I will speak to Linux on my iPaq from a Linux PC via my serial port, & give the relevant commands & uploading I need. Does this sound correct?

Ymodem is a file transfer protocol. You use it to transfer the Linux root file system to your iPAQ over the serial connection. But first you have to install the new bootloader. BootBlaster (a WinCE app, will be run on the iPAQ itself) will take care of this. You can do this using Windows as well, you only need a terminal emulator. I have used HyperTerminal to install Linux on my old iPAQ but there are other options as well.

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 30th October 2014 - 07:52 AM