OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Fbvncserver On The C3100, is this the right package?
xamindar
post Sep 8 2010, 12:57 AM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



I finally got fbvncserver working on my c3100. I had the package on my machine, but not installed, for years. I don't remember if I ever tried it or if it ever worked before. But it didn't work this time. After fiddling around I finally got it to work, for the most part. Here are my steps in case anyone else ever tries it and has the same issues.

Getting fbvncserver-c3000_0.9.4-0.2_arm.ipk working on the C3100

Install the package.
Then, as root:

1) "ln -sf /usr/local/bin/fbvncinput /etc/rc.d/init.d/fbvncinput"
because the link from the package is broken (note: if you start this service without rebooting you will be able to start a vnc server and connect to it but you will not be able to send input to the vnc server. Do not run it.)

2) edit all "vncserver_*" files under /usr/local/bin/ and remove the "-r0" from their vnc server launch commands (last line). That option causes vncserver to segfault for some reason. I suspect it is a screen rotation command (0 meaning no rotation) but I was unable to find any info on that command on the web.

3) reboot and then do the screen calibration by taping the very top left and then the very bottom right (including the quick icon area). If you check your running processes you should now have a "tssimd" service running and the kernel module "kbdsim" loaded. If not, then something is still not working.

4) launch the server utility and choose double or normal. I don't think the rotate one works and for me both choices launch a double size server. Oh well. But at least it works now on the c3100 and probably the c3200 as well.
ph34r.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
 
Start new topic
Replies
MaBo
post Sep 10 2010, 02:14 AM
Post #2





Group: Members
Posts: 13
Joined: 18-December 08
Member No.: 26,537



Thanks for the instructions. I followed them precisely, and indeed, it appears to be working this way.

However, there are things going wrong:
Applications won't start (the icon gets the flames around it, the hourglass appears, but then nothing happens).
VNC server cannot be stopped (possibly an effect of the point above)
As a result I have to restart the device the hard way. Losing KO/Pi information (KO/Pi cannot save, apparantly).

Hmm, it appears I should not use vnc. Pity.

Or are there ways to solve these issues?

See you,
MaBo

sl-c3100/cacko 1.23
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
xamindar
post Sep 10 2010, 10:59 AM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 803
Joined: 30-March 04
From: California
Member No.: 2,368



QUOTE(MaBo @ Sep 10 2010, 03:14 AM) *
Applications won't start (the icon gets the flames around it, the hourglass appears, but then nothing happens).
VNC server cannot be stopped (possibly an effect of the point above)

I'm not having those issues here. Maybe a cacko thing.

Try running a program from the konsole and see what happens. Any error messages?
So when you choose "halt server" from the vnc config you still see the fbvncserver process running? It should be gone.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 31st October 2014 - 07:29 PM