OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> I guess I'm the first on ZUG to have a SL-6000L
jerbell
post Apr 2 2004, 07:12 PM
Post #31





Group: Members
Posts: 24
Joined: 28-January 04
Member No.: 1,586



>But when I 'su -' into root, root doesn't have command completion. This REALLY BUGS. >How do I add this functionality. I didn't see anything in the .profile file.


you can run bash at the root prompt or you can edit the root entry in /etc/passwd so that it starts bash instead of sh.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
markjval
post Apr 2 2004, 08:05 PM
Post #32





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 2-April 04
Member No.: 2,638



Lox -

I'm having problems downloading the zip file containing the Sl-6000 pictures you took. Any other way to get them?

Thanks,

Mark
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
v8esprit
post Apr 2 2004, 11:57 PM
Post #33





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 04
Member No.: 2,066



I'm sorry bud,

I had to kill that link because it quickly gobbled up my bandwidth allocation. If you e-mail me a ftp server with a u/p I'll gladly upload it for you.

Lox
v8esprit@yahoo.com
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
jerrybme
post Apr 3 2004, 06:05 AM
Post #34





Group: Members
Posts: 639
Joined: 4-September 03
From: Chicago
Member No.: 401



v8esprit: did you end up posting the contents of the 6000L CD somewhere?
thanks,
Jerry
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yosef88
post Apr 3 2004, 06:17 AM
Post #35





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 20-March 04
Member No.: 2,425



Lox, with the terminal application can you get 80 columns x 24 rows?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
v8esprit
post Apr 4 2004, 02:08 AM
Post #36





Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 1-March 04
Member No.: 2,066



Forgive me but tell me how to verify that setting. As far as options in the programs are concerned, there is no option to set.
-Lox
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
yosef88
post Apr 4 2004, 06:21 AM
Post #37





Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: 20-March 04
Member No.: 2,425



Re: 80x24 cols: one way to tell is from a terminal app prompt, enter: stty -a

The first part of the output should include rows and cols; the most I can get with my SL-5600 and included terminal app
using "micro" font is 59 cols and 39 rows.

It'd be a major impetus for me if 80x24 (standard vt100 dimensions) would work (and be readable)
with the SL-6000's new higher screen resolution. Then all of my vt100 apps would work perfectly.

Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
chapman
post Apr 4 2004, 10:22 AM
Post #38





Group: Members
Posts: 17
Joined: 12-February 04
Member No.: 1,842



I've been running some tests on my SL-6000 and one of them was to see just how many columns and rows (with a readable font) could be displayed:

Portrait (7 point fixed font): 88 cols by 74 rows
Portrait (12 point fixed font): 73 cols by 39 rows

Landscape (7 point fixed font): 120 cols by 51 rows
Landscape (12 point fixed font): 100 cols by 27 rows

I have pretty good eye-site, so some people might not be able to see the 7 point font. The screen on the SL-6000 is *superb*, so it's crystal clear if your eyes can handle it...

I use Qkonsole and these tests *included* the menu, command pull-down, scrollbar and QT menu bar. If I go fullscreen without the scrollbar in place, these numbers increase a bit.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
elvis
post Apr 5 2004, 04:27 PM
Post #39





Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 19-January 04
Member No.: 1,482



Can you hook up regularly USB devices to the 6000L? If you could hook up standard USB flash drives it would be great since it would make it easy for me to transfer data between the 6000 and my windows PC.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
cvmiller
post Apr 5 2004, 05:09 PM
Post #40





Group: Members
Posts: 242
Joined: 31-March 04
Member No.: 2,592



QUOTE
I've been running some tests on my SL-6000 and one of them was to see just how many columns and rows (with a readable font) could be displayed:

I have pretty good eye-site, so some people might not be able to see the 7 point font. The screen on the SL-6000 is *superb*, so it's crystal clear if your eyes can handle it...


Yes, the text is a tad on the small side for my old eyes. Anyone know where to find a larger (than 12 point) fixed font? 80 col is very nice but not when you can't read it |^P

Craig...
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
champ
post Apr 6 2004, 12:07 PM
Post #41





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 15-March 04
Member No.: 2,323



QUOTE
QUOTE
I've been running some tests on my SL-6000 and one of them was to see just how many columns and rows (with a readable font) could be displayed:

I have pretty good eye-site, so some people might not be able to see the 7 point font. The screen on the SL-6000 is *superb*, so it's crystal clear if your eyes can handle it...


Yes, the text is a tad on the small side for my old eyes. Anyone know where to find a larger (than 12 point) fixed font? 80 col is very nice but not when you can't read it |^P

Craig...


Try:

http://www.killefiz.de/zaurus/

and do a search for fonts. There a number of them. One in particular (fonts-bitstream-vera-sans-mono-50) says that it was useful on "early versions" of the SL-6000. I haven't tried it myself yet, so I can't vouch for how well it works. I plan to install it on my brand new SL-6000 tonight. I'll post if there are any catastrophes. There is also a bold version of that font, which might be useful, too.

I sure as heck can't read the fonts in the terminal without being two inches from the screen.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
champ
post Apr 6 2004, 08:08 PM
Post #42





Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: 15-March 04
Member No.: 2,323



QUOTE
Try:

http://www.killefiz.de/zaurus/

and do a search for fonts. There a number of them. One in particular (fonts-bitstream-vera-sans-mono-50) says that it was useful on "early versions" of the SL-6000. I haven't tried it myself yet, so I can't vouch for how well it works. I plan to install it on my brand new SL-6000 tonight. I'll post if there are any catastrophes. There is also a bold version of that font, which might be useful, too.

I sure as heck can't read the fonts in the terminal without being two inches from the screen.


Replying to my own post...

Well, the fonts-bitstream-vera-sans-mono fonts didn't work so well. They seem to have spacing problems with the standard qpe-terminal-vga, and tab settings seem messed up. Text seems to overwrite itself. I haven't tried it with qpe-embeddedkonsole yet. The results I get seem rather random. Once I got the 14 pt font to appear correctly in rotated mode, but that didn't persist. Is there a stty setting that would make them appear correctly?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

3 Pages V  < 1 2 3
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd July 2014 - 07:42 PM