OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

6 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Bochs (x86 emulator) on VGA Zaurus? Anyone?
Have you ever run Bochs on a VGA Zaurus machine before?
Have you ever run Bochs on a VGA Zaurus machine before?
Yes. It was easy [ 5 ] ** [10.42%]
Yes. It took a while to figure out and tweak. [ 7 ] ** [14.58%]
No. Tried, but couldn't get it to work [ 10 ] ** [20.83%]
No. Never Tried. [ 26 ] ** [54.17%]
Total Votes: 27
Guests cannot vote 
wmadan
post Jun 19 2004, 03:06 PM
Post #61





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 3,254



QUOTE
datajerk - Well, I checked the X/Qt Server Project pages. An over abundance of options & downloads there (G).

Could I possibly persuade you to give us a mini FAQ (here or in its own spin off thread) on which IPKs are needed for minimum xqt installation, some of the Tricks, Traps, Got'chas & such that you have learned from by your experiences and any other details to help us jump start the learning curve?

TIA!!


Bob,

These are the instructions I followed to install X/Qt.

Download and then install the following packages in this order:
1. xqt-fonts-misc
2. xqt-server
3. glic-locale
4. xbase-etc
5. xlibs
6. xqt-startup-script
8. xbase-client

Some of them should run from SD but I installed all to internal.You'll end up with two new icons:

X/QT Server: starts the X/QT server and enables a connection to an external X-server

Start X: starts a local X-server and enabled to run X-programs.

Bill
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Miami_Bob
post Jun 20 2004, 08:32 AM
Post #62





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 2,781



QUOTE
Bob,

These are the instructions I followed to install X/Qt.


Thanks, Bill. I'll start downloading packages (G). The previous threads on the topic all seemed to list what packages were loaded by folks having trouble getting their systems running well rather than the IPKs used by those who DID get fully operational installations. Its appears to be a complex subject, and I'll take instruction on how to do it right the first time from whom ever has the experience under their belt to share! (G)

THANKS, again!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Miami_Bob
post Jun 21 2004, 11:30 AM
Post #63





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 2,781



QUOTE
I built the latest version of bochs (2.1.1) and have it running on Xqt.


Have searched and not been able to find Bochs 2.1.1 as IPK for Z. Can you suggest where a copy might be downloaded?

THANKS!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Miami_Bob
post Jun 21 2004, 11:33 AM
Post #64





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 2,781



Yo, Bill. Just to check -

Is glic-locale same as glibc-locale-eucjp or a different package?

Is xbase-client same as xbase-clientS?

Which Bochs version are you running?


TIA!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wmadan
post Jun 21 2004, 12:21 PM
Post #65





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 3,254



Bob,

Yes, glibc-locale-eucjp is correct. The "eucjp" part made me wonder at first, but it works. When you get blackbox running on x/qt, you'll see some submenus are japanese.

Also affirmative on xbase-clients. Sorry I wasn't crystal clear.

I have not tried running bochs on x/qt yet. But, I would like seeing the project progress to the point of being able to use abiword and gnumeric.

Bill
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Miami_Bob
post Jun 21 2004, 05:17 PM
Post #66





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 2,781



QUOTE
Yes, glibc-locale-eucjp is correct. The "eucjp" part made me wonder at first, but it works. When you get blackbox running on x/qt, you'll see some submenus are japanese.


After installing the files, the local Xserver just got to the background with the "X" and aborted if a key was pressed or the screen tapped.

I have hardcopy of the earlier threads so started trying some of the suggestions from them. Used "xinit" & checked for zombie X processes. Still no joy. But the precise error messages from command prompt seemed to be changing.

Finally resorted to one suggestion. Uninstalled glibc-locale-eucjp & xqt-fonts-misc. NOW there were two particular lines immediately before the server shut itself down.

The process could not find either rxvt or blackbox! It seems the startup config does not look for any other window managers (such as fluxbox, which I HAD installed).

Installed blackbox & everything was perfectly copacetic. I'm sure that I'll be able to hunt down where the script looks for rxvt &/or blackbox to change it to fluxbox. BUT, one of the blackbox menu options is to launch other window managers. THAT script was easy to find & I just edited in a line to launch fluxbox FROM blackbox.

Now that its running well, I'm going to add back in the two uninstalled packages to see what happens. Will report from the front later (G).

QUOTE
Also affirmative on xbase-clients. Sorry I wasn't crystal clear.


Hey, you did great. Its not easy once we start loading a lot of libs & apps to know what is already installed and critical to a later success. (G) Without your help, it would have taken me a LOT longer to figure this puppy out.

QUOTE
I have not tried running bochs on x/qt yet. But, I would like seeing the project progress to the point of being able to use abiword and gnumeric.

Bill


I'm not going to try the old Bochs & DOS under XQt because I'm not sure that it can be shut down gracefully, like dataj's later version apparently can. I'll see if I can cop an IPK of the new ver somewhere.

Anyhow, folks, if you can't get XQt to run after installing all the packages, make SURE that either rxvt or blackbox are installed. Cause you are for dog gone certain NOT gonna get it going without one or the other (or a modified startup script for another of similar nature).

THANKS, again, Bill. You reduced my learning curve tremendously! Much appreciated, amigo!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
wmadan
post Jun 21 2004, 06:59 PM
Post #67





Group: Members
Posts: 164
Joined: 12-May 04
Member No.: 3,254



Bob,

Great that you got it working and that I was able to help. There's nothing better than to know you've helped out. smile.gif

I, too, want to run fluxbox, but don't know how. I had it installed, but like you said, x/qt looks for blackbox. Blackbox isn't all that bad. You can adjust the style a bit from the menus.

I did get gimp going though. It's amazing to see it load up, and it's not as slow as I thought it would be.

Bill
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datajerk
post Jun 21 2004, 07:12 PM
Post #68





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 14-February 04
Member No.: 1,861



QUOTE
Have searched and not been able to find Bochs 2.1.1 as IPK for Z. Can you suggest where a copy might be downloaded?


http://www.sense.net/zc/bochs/

Recommended settings for your bochsrc files:

CODE
romimage: file=/usr/local/share/bochs/BIOS-bochs-latest, address=0xf0000

vgaromimage: /usr/local/share/bochs/VGABIOS-lgpl-latest

megs: 1

log: /dev/null

display_library: x


Here are the configure settings I used:

CODE
./configure

       --host=arm-linux

       --build=i686-linux

       --x-includes=/opt/Embedix/tools/arm-linux/X11R6/include

       --x-libraries=/opt/Embedix/tools/arm-linux/X11R6/lib

       --prefix=$HOME/zaurus/bochs/usr/local

       --enable-config-interface

       --enable-new-pit

       --enable-cpu-level=5

       --enable-icache

       --enable-mmx

       --enable-sb16=linux

       --enable-repeat-speedups

       --enable-guest2host-tlb

       --enable-all-optimizations

       --enable-vbe

       --enable-fpu

       --with-rfb

       --enable-idle-hack

       --without-sdl

       --with-x11
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Miami_Bob
post Jun 24 2004, 02:44 PM
Post #69





Group: Members
Posts: 483
Joined: 10-April 04
From: Miami FL
Member No.: 2,781



QUOTE(wmadan @ Jun 21 2004, 10:59 PM)
Bob,

Great that you got it working and that I was able to help. There's nothing better than to know you've helped out. smile.gif

I, too, want to run fluxbox, but don't know how. I had it installed, but like you said, x/qt looks for blackbox. Blackbox isn't all that bad. You can adjust the style a bit from the menus.

Hummm - my last post here seems to have vanished in the conversion. Ah well..

You were a great help, indeed.

I have found 2 ways to run fluxbox in xqt.

You can add it to the blackbox menu at

/opt/QtPalmtop/share/blackbox/menu

by going to the section that launches other window managers, copy the top line & edit the copy line to "fluxbox". Then launch fluxbox from blackbox.

Or by editing

/home/zaurus/.xinitrc

changing the line at the end from blackbox to fluxbox.



THANKS, dataj - you are TOPS!

Not complaining, just bug reporting -

I *have* been able to get the HP-LX CPACK software to run in the newer xqt-bochs v2.1.1 but that version of Bochs has some major bugs that I haven't been able to resolve so far.

- will not recognise HD img files, even when made fresh from bximage

- maps both the ";" & ":" Zaurus keys as ";" so it is impossible to change drives

(ie B: is seen as B;)

terminals in both blackbox & fluxbox see the keys correctly so bochs is the problem

- once the bochs VGABIOS image takes over, bochs becomes larger than the physical screen size.

- a couple others that I don't recall right off the top.

I'm going to have to put this project on hold in order to send my test bed C860 back for repair before the backlight fails entirely. No longer willing to risk putting my mission critical Z at risk of downtime (after that last scare).

But ... "Ah'll be bach!"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
datajerk
post Jun 24 2004, 04:37 PM
Post #70





Group: Members
Posts: 219
Joined: 14-February 04
Member No.: 1,861



QUOTE
- will not recognise HD img files, even when made fresh from bximage


I am using the freedos C: HD img without issue.

QUOTE
- maps both the ";" & ":" Zaurus keys as ";" so it is impossible to change drives


This is a problem with other applications as well. Xqt keymaps are wrong (they match standard PCs it appears, I plan to fix some day). You can remap any keys with xmodmap. Also bochs supports its own keymaps. (Read bochs docs).

QUOTE
terminals in both blackbox & fluxbox see the keys correctly so bochs is the problem


Yep. Look at bochs docs for keymaps.

QUOTE
- once the bochs VGABIOS image takes over, bochs becomes larger than the physical screen size.


VGA text mode is 720x400 resolution. VGA fonts are 8x16, however an extra pixel is added to the 8 for the space between fonts, except the special line drawing fonts. It is strange how it work. (8+1)*80 = 720.

If you run dosemu you will notice that the X VGA fonts are truely 8 pixels (7 for the char and include the space). So I need to take the X VGA font and convert to bochs format and redo some code to fix that. I am dumping the X version and working on the SDL version. With the SDL version I should have more control over the keys as well. Don't expect anytime soon.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
scoutme
post Jul 3 2004, 05:31 PM
Post #71





Group: Members
Posts: 579
Joined: 19-April 04
Member No.: 2,912



ehm... and what about trying to run Sensible Soccer? it's small, light and really addictive wink.gif

Anyone did it?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
TonyOlsen
post Jul 8 2004, 08:40 AM
Post #72





Group: Members
Posts: 554
Joined: 19-April 04
From: Keokuk, Iowa
Member No.: 2,897



QUOTE
QUOTE 
I need some DOS code to test.  I will builld a PC DOS 7 image later as well.


What type DOS stuff you want? I still have tons of old shareware - freeware CDs stacked up (G).


How about my DOS application.. which is the main reason why I'm trying to get Bochs working. (I've attached the program and the e-book manual to this message.)

Thanks for all of this great information. (Sorry I haven't been here to test this stuff, but we just had a baby 2 weeks ago and I haven't had any time... hopefully I will soon)

By the way... the recent change in the ZaurusUserGroup page code really messed me up. None of the links in my notification e-mails worked and the "Last 15 posts" no longer appears...
Attached File(s)
Attached File  OldDOSEReader.zip ( 153.63K ) Number of downloads: 57
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
sigmaX
post Nov 8 2004, 06:15 PM
Post #73





Group: Members
Posts: 110
Joined: 4-August 03
Member No.: 328



This thread has been on full stop for some time ...

I am looking forward on emulating an i386 System and try to get DOS or even windows 98 over my Zaurus C860, maybe as a cool prank to the local guys, or even to awe myself wink.gif

I've seen those pictures of an SL 5500 running the win98 boot screen ... It cannot be that difficult smile.gif

Anyone got any new hint ?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
nyar
post Nov 10 2004, 01:08 AM
Post #74





Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 4-October 04
From: Australia
Member No.: 4,861



I cannot imagine Bochs on a processor as slow as the Z's running any faster than say a 286 or even an aging 386, and even that'd be pushing it.

Or can people report better results?

I think this would be a novelty rather than actually usable.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
SNi
post Nov 25 2004, 01:30 PM
Post #75





Group: Members
Posts: 53
Joined: 14-June 04
From: Cincinnati, OH, USA
Member No.: 3,682



Miami Bob,
If you can't get the CPACK running, are you able to run programs such as PE, MM/LX, VR, etc using palrun?
SNi
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

6 Pages V  « < 3 4 5 6 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 27th November 2014 - 10:32 AM