OESF | ELSI | pdaXrom | OpenZaurus | Zaurus Themes | Community Links | Ibiblio

IPB

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Installing ipks
b2bpro
post Dec 7 2003, 03:41 PM
Post #1





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,042



I've installed a bunch of stuff using the Settings->Packages app and stuff seems to install somewhat. I get an error though during install

"file_move: ERROR: failed to rename /usr/lib/ipkg/status.tmp to /usr/lib/ipkg/status. No such file or directory"

I look in the directory and there is no status.tmp but there is a status file. Afterwards there is an icon for the app installed, but when I try to run it, it just puts a picture in the bottom status bar and then that disappears. So it looks like the app tries to launch but then fails. This has happened with about a dozen apps i've tried to install (mostly games from the OZ site)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Foxdie
post Dec 7 2003, 03:45 PM
Post #2





Group: Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 8-November 03
From: Birmingham, United Kingdom
Member No.: 875



Is this just one ipk problem or for all ipk installs you're trying to do?

I think the best way to install ipk's is to do it via the terminal as you can see any errors that occur.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
b2bpro
post Dec 7 2003, 03:50 PM
Post #3





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,042



it happens for all ipk's - at least about a dozon that I did

How do you install them using the terminal?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Foxdie
post Dec 7 2003, 04:02 PM
Post #4





Group: Admin
Posts: 465
Joined: 8-November 03
From: Birmingham, United Kingdom
Member No.: 875



Save the ipk into the home folder of the main user (I'm not sure if OZ uses the "zaurus" or "root" username.

Then type in ipkg install filename.ipk
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
post Dec 7 2003, 05:43 PM
Post #5





Group:
Posts: 0
Joined: --
Member No.: 0



I have the same problem,
SL-C760/OZ 3.3.5
I installed via the command line, trying first I tried to install it of the CF card, then internal, then over the network install feature of ipk. All methods yeald verry simmilear errors.

Thank you for your time,
Arrummzen
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
b2bpro
post Dec 7 2003, 06:52 PM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,042



I've now tried it from the command line as well. Maybe a bug in OZ 3.3.5

I was thinking it might have been due to using an 860, but since you've got the same problem on your 760 it must be generic.

I've tried chmod'ing the status file in question and also su'ing first but the problem persists. Mind you, the error points to a problem recording status which shouldn't have affected the install. I wonder if doing a manual install would work. Unfortunately, I'm too new to this world to know how to take the ipk apart and manually do it.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Arrummzen
post Dec 7 2003, 07:04 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,054



Im guessing its a problem with the ipkg system. Does anyone with a non-JP model have the same problem?

./configure ; make ; make install

works for programs that install that way.

By the way, you said you have an SL-C860, yes? Does your "home" button work?

Thank you for your time,
Arrummzen
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
b2bpro
post Dec 7 2003, 08:06 PM
Post #8





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,042



Yes the home button works. Still having problems. Over on the externe.net there was apparently a solution. Some people have had success, but I still have the problem

Anyway, the solution is to edit /etc/ipkg.conf and delete the line "dest / /"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Arrummzen
post Dec 7 2003, 09:32 PM
Post #9





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,054



So, if you are say in Konqueror, and you push the home button you go back to the desktop?

If the SL-C760 and SL-C860 are so simmiler, why doesn't my home button but his does?

Thank you for your time,
Arrummzen
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
zenyatta
post Dec 8 2003, 01:43 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 366
Joined: 4-November 03
From: Slovakia
Member No.: 850



@b2bpro: manual install is a breeze as long as you install to the root and not to a SD/CF card. Just open the terminal, make sure you are running as root and do

cd /
tar zxf /path/to/whatever.ipk
tar ztf data.tar.gz > install.log
tar zxvf data.tar.gz
rm -f debian-binary
rm -f control.tar.gz

Of course, the major drawback is that the package won't be listed in Settings > Packages hence you have to uninstall by hand as well (which is where the install.log comes in very handy).

z.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
b2bpro
post Dec 8 2003, 07:41 AM
Post #11





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,042



Thanks z, I'll try it tonight (I wish I didn't have to work)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
b2bpro
post Dec 8 2003, 12:27 PM
Post #12





Group: Members
Posts: 218
Joined: 3-December 03
Member No.: 1,042



What are the chances of getting this install problem fixed? Without this, I'll have to go back to the Sharp ROM. Unless there is a previous version of OZ available for the 760?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Arrummzen
post Dec 8 2003, 10:45 PM
Post #13





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,054



Maybe .... you could manualy install ... a working version of ipkg?

Thank you for your time,
Arrummzen
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Arrummzen
post Dec 8 2003, 11:11 PM
Post #14





Group: Members
Posts: 15
Joined: 7-December 03
Member No.: 1,054



Yep, I was right, the solution is as follows

1: go to
http://ipkgfind.handhelds.org/details.phtm...ficial=&format=
As you can tell there is a new version. Great, but how are we going to install it without ipkg working. Step two solves that...
2: Download the BINARYS You will see something like this on the page -
Files:
./usr/bin/ipkg
./usr/bin/update-alternatives

Download ipkg, and update-alternatives and copy them to /usr/bin.
3: It works now, enjoy.

NOTE: I don't know if this will fix the GUI install (I didn't check) but now you can install via the command line... thats good enough for me....

Thank you for your time,
Arrummzen
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Richjn
post Dec 9 2003, 12:15 AM
Post #15





Group: Members
Posts: 121
Joined: 21-October 03
Member No.: 696



Arrummzen

Tried that still no difference for me. I have deleted the line dest// from /etc/ipkg.conf posted elsewhere which allows the packages to install without errors from both the terminal and the gui but I still get the same error when I try to run the app "Opie-Ftp was terminated due to signal code SIGSEGV" (Obviously I was trying to install opie ftp with ftb-lib both from the 3.3.5 feed) any ideas. BTW I have installed the latest kernel posted today, perhaps theres a new image about to appear as well.

Richard
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 20th April 2014 - 04:17 PM